We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel on the beach”
Review of Lawana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lawana Resort
Ranked #80 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I recently stayed at Lawana Resort in Bophut during a friends wedding (they got married at the Peace Resort which is only a few hotels further down the beach from Lawana, so in a perfect, quiet location in Bophut). Due to my limited budget as a student, I found Lawana Resort to be within my price range compared to the Peace Resort, thus the reason I chose to stay there. It was a great decision as my overall experience at Lawana was excellent. The staff are exceptionally friendly and really go above and beyond to please their guests. I found it to be extremely good value as we stayed on the Stay 8, Pay 6 promotion that was running which was of particular good value and it included a lovely buffet breakfast daily. We loved our beautiful little room and would have no hesitations in recommending this resort. The only downfall about the resort is, unfortunately, we would avoid the restaurant food ordered in the future (not the included breakfast - that was great!) We tried to have a couple of meals there and found them to be less than average, especially considering the prices there are not cheap compared to other restaurants in the area. Overall though, I would recommend the Lawana Resort for all types of travellers - a family had come to stay at the end of our stay and were having a great time.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the beach - Room 111 was great as it private but also only a minutes walk fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

Dear 24. Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us at Lawana Resort to attned to your friends' wedding at Peace resort which is less than 100 meters away on the beach. We are happy that you enjoyed your short holiday with us. Your open recommendation to other people who will be planning to visit Samui to stay with us is sincerely appreciated. We are a small beach resort and we completely live on words of mouth from guests who have had experienced with us tell the world how they have found us. Your kind words also will make my staff very proud of their commitments to ensuring guest satisfaction. Our restaurant is managed by a local cook. Your comments on him will be discussed with the management immediately. This is one way to improve our services even further when we have points like this from guests. I hope you will return to us the next time you visit Ko Samui. We will give you a free airport pick up. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2015

We were transferred to this Resort after we stayed in the other hotel belonging to this one (Tradewinds by Lawana, Chaweng Beach). The manager of the two hotels invited us to stay here after we decided to stay a few more days on Koh Samui. The location is good, directly at the Beach and near Fisherman's village, which offers a big variety of Restaurants and Bars.The rooms are tenderly furnished and provide everything you need. The breakfast is balanced and offers a variety of fruits and freshly cooked meals suich as omelettes. The best part of the hotel was the staff, the atmosphere was very familiar and warm. Thank you for the very pleasant stay on Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

November 14, 2015 Dear Rolf, Thank you very much for your happy review of your last stay with us. Lawana Boput has a perfect location, very quiet, on the beach, 10 minutes walk on the beach to local areas for more than 50 local restaurants for our guests to enjoy in the evening, We are a 3 star bungalow but we actually have everything you will need for the holidays as you would get from a 5 star property. We charge you 3 star rates. On the main street, there are 24 hours supermarkets to the left and to the right, banks and ATM, pharmacies and also local Thai restaurants. And yet we are at a very quiet location to not feel or see these possibilities. We offer you still a welcoming service at the best value for your money. I hope you will return to us in the future and remember to bring friends with you. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This place looks like a museum , open en indoor amazing items , from chang dynastie ,
to Thai treasures, If you want to see a Silk tissue above your head from 200 years old ,or a chest in real teak with inside teacups from 300 years old, THE ower is amazing he can tell hours about this , also temple items from wood handcarff with mozaïek stone imazing, ,also art deco furniture each bungalow is different also THE bathrooms are in different colours
and a wonderfull garden , Thai Antique resort is a better name , Patrick and friends from Belgium

Room Tip: Every room is Unique so go for a suprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patriclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2015

November 7, 2015. Patrick, Thank you very much for your very unique comments on your holidays with us at Lawana Resort. Also I must thank you for giving us a new name as Thai Antique Resort. We have other guests who have suggested we change name to Samui Museum Center Resort. Many of our guests who could see what we have in each room from my collection of Thai and Chinese antiques of more than 1,000 pieces hidden all over the resort who would like to see a new name. We would rather stay as we are and keep our concept of 'welcoming beach resort'. We are small but we offer all the services you will need for a holiday on the beach. We offer two bed room bungalows which are perfect for many families with children. We offer the perfect location for a peaceful holiday. We do not take mass tourism and groups. All our rooms now have brand new airconditioners to ensure that our guests from Europe can sleep very well. Please return to Lawana and email us directly for free airport pick up. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Bungalows are great the resort is small and sits on a strip on beach. I cannot complain at all about the hotel it was clean and the staff were lovely. Koh Samui itself is full of package holiday makers mostly German.

If you enjoy beach life it's OK. Although the beach is a very small strip of sand. It looks over the mountains and a pretty resort.

We did a round trip around Thailand and this is not Thailand it could be any seaside resort anywhere in the world. There are no traditional customs anywhere compared to other parts of Thailand we travelled to. However at the end of a stressful round trip it's great to relax a few days. For those of you who want a chill on the beach why travel all this way? Go to Spain it's nicer

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank katereto897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

September 28, 2015. Dear Karetero, Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us at Lawana. Samui has always been a quiet and community for even the last 100 years without any clear local administration.. The developments of local culture are nothing outstanding where the simplicity of rural life prevails. It had been a society that could do without cash until the last 30 years when tourists started coming and spoiled it. This is a destination that you will come a relax on the nice beach under non-commercial pressure. Outstanding Thai cultures are abound all over the country in major cities that all have been, and had been at one time in history, the capitals of independent states in the long past. Such cities are Bangkok, Thonburi, Ayuthaya, Lopburi, Nakorn Sawan,Prae, nan, Lampang, Tak, Chiangmai and Chiangrai for examples.
Lawana is a quiet beach resort located five minutes on foot to everything a tourist will ever need for a holiday. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2weeks
Great place and so relaxing
The bungalows are fab
The staff always smile and are very welcoming.
Beach towels are provided
Only bug bear is that the bath towels are like loin cloths
Would highly recommend the lawana
Resort

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

September 19, 2015. Dear Gary, Thank you so much for the support you have promised for Lawana Resort. It is also very nice to hear that you enjoyed your two week stay with us. We use blue towels for the sun beds on the beach and the swimming pool to sort of hide the daily stain during the uses by the guests. These are changed anew everyday and guests are always welcome for additional ones whenever they need after they get smeared for some reason during use. The standard towels for your shower are clean white for your private use in the room. Thanks to our staff who have been able to create a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests, specially those who travel with children; our staff is trained to watch for the moment you will need our assistance. I do not have anything to add because you have been able to paint the correct picture to help our other guests who will consider us for their holiday in Samui. Please remember to contact us directly when you plan your return. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.3 km away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,662 reviews
1.4 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 185 in Bophut
1,002 reviews
1.3 km away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#58 of 185 in Bophut
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
3.9 km away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#76 of 185 in Bophut
330 reviews
0.1 km away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#10 of 229 in Bophut
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Address: 180/11 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Bophut
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: €44 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing