We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$422/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$368
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Tongsai Bay(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$657
US$380
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
136
160
40
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
160
40
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisherman's villagelovely buffet breakfastclean swimming poolshort walk along the beacheggs cookedkoh phanganbig bathroombusy roadlush gardensthai foodbo phut beachfresh fruitnight marketjet skistayed here for nightsbeach frontthe main road
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We were transferred to this Resort after we stayed in the other hotel belonging to this one (Tradewinds by Lawana, Chaweng Beach). The manager of the two hotels invited us to stay here after we decided to stay a few more days on Koh Samui. The location is good, directly at the Beach and near Fisherman's village, which offers a big variety of Restaurants and Bars.The rooms are tenderly furnished and provide everything you need. The breakfast is balanced and offers a variety of fruits and freshly cooked meals suich as omelettes. The best part of the hotel was the staff, the atmosphere was very familiar and warm. Thank you for the very pleasant stay on Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

November 14, 2015 Dear Rolf, Thank you very much for your happy review of your last stay with us. Lawana Boput has a perfect location, very quiet, on the beach, 10 minutes walk on the beach to local areas for more than 50 local restaurants for our guests to enjoy in the evening, We are a 3 star bungalow but we actually have everything you will need for the holidays as you would get from a 5 star property. We charge you 3 star rates. On the main street, there are 24 hours supermarkets to the left and to the right, banks and ATM, pharmacies and also local Thai restaurants. And yet we are at a very quiet location to not feel or see these possibilities. We offer you still a welcoming service at the best value for your money. I hope you will return to us in the future and remember to bring friends with you. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This place looks like a museum , open en indoor amazing items , from chang dynastie ,
to Thai treasures, If you want to see a Silk tissue above your head from 200 years old ,or a chest in real teak with inside teacups from 300 years old, THE ower is amazing he can tell hours about this , also temple items from wood handcarff with mozaïek stone imazing, ,also art deco furniture each bungalow is different also THE bathrooms are in different colours
and a wonderfull garden , Thai Antique resort is a better name , Patrick and friends from Belgium

Room Tip: Every room is Unique so go for a suprise
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patriclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2015

November 7, 2015. Patrick, Thank you very much for your very unique comments on your holidays with us at Lawana Resort. Also I must thank you for giving us a new name as Thai Antique Resort. We have other guests who have suggested we change name to Samui Museum Center Resort. Many of our guests who could see what we have in each room from my collection of Thai and Chinese antiques of more than 1,000 pieces hidden all over the resort who would like to see a new name. We would rather stay as we are and keep our concept of 'welcoming beach resort'. We are small but we offer all the services you will need for a holiday on the beach. We offer two bed room bungalows which are perfect for many families with children. We offer the perfect location for a peaceful holiday. We do not take mass tourism and groups. All our rooms now have brand new airconditioners to ensure that our guests from Europe can sleep very well. Please return to Lawana and email us directly for free airport pick up. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Bungalows are great the resort is small and sits on a strip on beach. I cannot complain at all about the hotel it was clean and the staff were lovely. Koh Samui itself is full of package holiday makers mostly German.

If you enjoy beach life it's OK. Although the beach is a very small strip of sand. It looks over the mountains and a pretty resort.

We did a round trip around Thailand and this is not Thailand it could be any seaside resort anywhere in the world. There are no traditional customs anywhere compared to other parts of Thailand we travelled to. However at the end of a stressful round trip it's great to relax a few days. For those of you who want a chill on the beach why travel all this way? Go to Spain it's nicer

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank katereto897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

September 28, 2015. Dear Karetero, Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us at Lawana. Samui has always been a quiet and community for even the last 100 years without any clear local administration.. The developments of local culture are nothing outstanding where the simplicity of rural life prevails. It had been a society that could do without cash until the last 30 years when tourists started coming and spoiled it. This is a destination that you will come a relax on the nice beach under non-commercial pressure. Outstanding Thai cultures are abound all over the country in major cities that all have been, and had been at one time in history, the capitals of independent states in the long past. Such cities are Bangkok, Thonburi, Ayuthaya, Lopburi, Nakorn Sawan,Prae, nan, Lampang, Tak, Chiangmai and Chiangrai for examples.
Lawana is a quiet beach resort located five minutes on foot to everything a tourist will ever need for a holiday. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2weeks
Great place and so relaxing
The bungalows are fab
The staff always smile and are very welcoming.
Beach towels are provided
Only bug bear is that the bath towels are like loin cloths
Would highly recommend the lawana
Resort

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

September 19, 2015. Dear Gary, Thank you so much for the support you have promised for Lawana Resort. It is also very nice to hear that you enjoyed your two week stay with us. We use blue towels for the sun beds on the beach and the swimming pool to sort of hide the daily stain during the uses by the guests. These are changed anew everyday and guests are always welcome for additional ones whenever they need after they get smeared for some reason during use. The standard towels for your shower are clean white for your private use in the room. Thanks to our staff who have been able to create a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests, specially those who travel with children; our staff is trained to watch for the moment you will need our assistance. I do not have anything to add because you have been able to paint the correct picture to help our other guests who will consider us for their holiday in Samui. Please remember to contact us directly when you plan your return. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The service at this property was the worst I have experienced in Thailand. In particular the front desk staff had little or no English language skills and really didn't seem to care that I was a guest of the hotel. They would not call a taxi for me and could not give me directions to nearby attractions. Breakfast was OK but very uninspired by Thai standards. The wifi connection was intermittent at best and then they changed the password and the front desk staff didn't know what it was! The worst was the choice to fumigate the rooms while there were guests staying in them...seriously!

I would have checked out after the first if I hadn't prepaid for 4 days of Hades.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TualatinChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

September 2, 2015. Dear Chris, Thank you very much for your frank comments of your stay with us for 4 days. I am reading your points with serious concern. I will definitely personally investigate the few points you have mentioned while I have talked to the manager on the phone today about the problems you had had. There had been definitely a language problem because it is our policy to guide our guests to the various local attractions. I also do not quite understand why we failed to assist you to get a taxi. Many public taxi park exactly in front of our resort ready to serve you and all our guests. I really fail to understand why there had been a problem. I will find out. I sinerely apologize that our breakfast was up to your expectations. We always look to improve our breakfast. Now we offer fresh cooked eggs to your order, 4 selections of bread, 3 fruit juices plus fresh milk and unlimited coffee and tea, 4 selections of fresh tropical fruits, salads and yogurt, two Thai hot dishes and 4 European hot dishes, all set near the pool overlooking the sea and Ko Phangan in full view. We are a 3 star beach property and we will always try to improve our services. The termite spray services are once a month and we normally put a notice in all guest rooms to notify the time they are coming. I apologize if you were not informed. What can we do to offer you mend this feeling?Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews