We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique furniture resort”
Review of Lawana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lawana Resort
Ranked #79 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This place looks like a museum , open en indoor amazing items , from chang dynastie ,
to Thai treasures, If you want to see a Silk tissue above your head from 200 years old ,or a chest in real teak with inside teacups from 300 years old, THE ower is amazing he can tell hours about this , also temple items from wood handcarff with mozaïek stone imazing, ,also art deco furniture each bungalow is different also THE bathrooms are in different colours
and a wonderfull garden , Thai Antique resort is a better name , Patrick and friends from Belgium

Room Tip: Every room is Unique so go for a suprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patriclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2015

November 7, 2015. Patrick, Thank you very much for your very unique comments on your holidays with us at Lawana Resort. Also I must thank you for giving us a new name as Thai Antique Resort. We have other guests who have suggested we change name to Samui Museum Center Resort. Many of our guests who could see what we have in each room from my collection of Thai and Chinese antiques of more than 1,000 pieces hidden all over the resort who would like to see a new name. We would rather stay as we are and keep our concept of 'welcoming beach resort'. We are small but we offer all the services you will need for a holiday on the beach. We offer two bed room bungalows which are perfect for many families with children. We offer the perfect location for a peaceful holiday. We do not take mass tourism and groups. All our rooms now have brand new airconditioners to ensure that our guests from Europe can sleep very well. Please return to Lawana and email us directly for free airport pick up. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Bungalows are great the resort is small and sits on a strip on beach. I cannot complain at all about the hotel it was clean and the staff were lovely. Koh Samui itself is full of package holiday makers mostly German.

If you enjoy beach life it's OK. Although the beach is a very small strip of sand. It looks over the mountains and a pretty resort.

We did a round trip around Thailand and this is not Thailand it could be any seaside resort anywhere in the world. There are no traditional customs anywhere compared to other parts of Thailand we travelled to. However at the end of a stressful round trip it's great to relax a few days. For those of you who want a chill on the beach why travel all this way? Go to Spain it's nicer

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank katereto897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

September 28, 2015. Dear Karetero, Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us at Lawana. Samui has always been a quiet and community for even the last 100 years without any clear local administration.. The developments of local culture are nothing outstanding where the simplicity of rural life prevails. It had been a society that could do without cash until the last 30 years when tourists started coming and spoiled it. This is a destination that you will come a relax on the nice beach under non-commercial pressure. Outstanding Thai cultures are abound all over the country in major cities that all have been, and had been at one time in history, the capitals of independent states in the long past. Such cities are Bangkok, Thonburi, Ayuthaya, Lopburi, Nakorn Sawan,Prae, nan, Lampang, Tak, Chiangmai and Chiangrai for examples.
Lawana is a quiet beach resort located five minutes on foot to everything a tourist will ever need for a holiday. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2weeks
Great place and so relaxing
The bungalows are fab
The staff always smile and are very welcoming.
Beach towels are provided
Only bug bear is that the bath towels are like loin cloths
Would highly recommend the lawana
Resort

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

September 19, 2015. Dear Gary, Thank you so much for the support you have promised for Lawana Resort. It is also very nice to hear that you enjoyed your two week stay with us. We use blue towels for the sun beds on the beach and the swimming pool to sort of hide the daily stain during the uses by the guests. These are changed anew everyday and guests are always welcome for additional ones whenever they need after they get smeared for some reason during use. The standard towels for your shower are clean white for your private use in the room. Thanks to our staff who have been able to create a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests, specially those who travel with children; our staff is trained to watch for the moment you will need our assistance. I do not have anything to add because you have been able to paint the correct picture to help our other guests who will consider us for their holiday in Samui. Please remember to contact us directly when you plan your return. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The service at this property was the worst I have experienced in Thailand. In particular the front desk staff had little or no English language skills and really didn't seem to care that I was a guest of the hotel. They would not call a taxi for me and could not give me directions to nearby attractions. Breakfast was OK but very uninspired by Thai standards. The wifi connection was intermittent at best and then they changed the password and the front desk staff didn't know what it was! The worst was the choice to fumigate the rooms while there were guests staying in them...seriously!

I would have checked out after the first if I hadn't prepaid for 4 days of Hades.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TualatinChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

September 2, 2015. Dear Chris, Thank you very much for your frank comments of your stay with us for 4 days. I am reading your points with serious concern. I will definitely personally investigate the few points you have mentioned while I have talked to the manager on the phone today about the problems you had had. There had been definitely a language problem because it is our policy to guide our guests to the various local attractions. I also do not quite understand why we failed to assist you to get a taxi. Many public taxi park exactly in front of our resort ready to serve you and all our guests. I really fail to understand why there had been a problem. I will find out. I sinerely apologize that our breakfast was up to your expectations. We always look to improve our breakfast. Now we offer fresh cooked eggs to your order, 4 selections of bread, 3 fruit juices plus fresh milk and unlimited coffee and tea, 4 selections of fresh tropical fruits, salads and yogurt, two Thai hot dishes and 4 European hot dishes, all set near the pool overlooking the sea and Ko Phangan in full view. We are a 3 star beach property and we will always try to improve our services. The termite spray services are once a month and we normally put a notice in all guest rooms to notify the time they are coming. I apologize if you were not informed. What can we do to offer you mend this feeling?Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I travel a lot. My partner and I arrived in Koh Samui on the 15th of June. We stayed at the Lawana Resort for eight days. We met Mrs. Samniang the General Manager on the first day of our arrival at the reception. She struck me to be a friendly and welcoming person. I appreciated her ability to communicate with me in English and her staff were also proficient in English. The receptionist was most helpful in attending to our needs. She and the manager escorted us to our room and explained some matters for us. A porter came and helped with our bags and took our bags to the room. I was quite impressed by the way we were treated on arrival. The room was comfortable and it had all the amenities we needed. It had a big refrigerator and a good flat screen TV and a new air condition. The bed was comfortable and the linen was fresh. We had plenty of towels. There was a kettle and some coffee and sugar sachets on the bench. The bathroom was clean and the toilet and shower in perfect order. There was nothing to complain about and the room was well serviced. The resort facilities were up to par with other resorts I had visited. The pool is large enough to perform some laps and is situated next to the bar and restaurant where there were always staff on hand to serve you. There were plenty of long chairs to sun bay on the beach. The beach is beautiful and the water a perfect temperature for relaxing in the ocean. There is on the beach a massage thatched house for those requiring this service. The staff there were friendly and accommodating. In conclusion I would return there in the future particularly because of the way we were welcomed.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want or need they have the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

September 4, 2015. Dear M, Thank you so much for taking so much time to write a very comprehensive review of your 10 days holidays with us. We do not have an agent in New Zealand but we still get guests from there through the internet. We will love to entertain more guests from New Zealand and Australia. Your promise to return is an honour. It is a pride to read your review and my staff deserves an extra bonus from this evidence of guest satisfaction. We have a lot of return guests, it is equal to confirmation that we must be doing something right. I must thank everybody, all the guests and alll the staff for helping to create this welcome atmostphere for guests who come from different countries. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.3 km away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#44 of 185 in Bophut
1,667 reviews
1.4 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 185 in Bophut
1,002 reviews
1.3 km away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#58 of 185 in Bophut
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
3.9 km away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#76 of 185 in Bophut
330 reviews
0.1 km away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#8 of 230 in Bophut
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Address: 180/11 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Bophut
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: €42 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing