We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Tongsai Bay(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$410/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$161
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
136
160
40
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
160
40
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisherman's villagelovely buffet breakfastclean swimming poolshort walk along the beacheggs cookedkoh phanganbig bathroombusy roadlush gardensthai foodbo phut beachfresh fruitnight marketjet skistayed here for nightsbeach frontthe main road
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Bungalows are great the resort is small and sits on a strip on beach. I cannot complain at all about the hotel it was clean and the staff were lovely. Koh Samui itself is full of package holiday makers mostly German.

If you enjoy beach life it's OK. Although the beach is a very small strip of sand. It looks over the mountains and a pretty resort.

We did a round trip around Thailand and this is not Thailand it could be any seaside resort anywhere in the world. There are no traditional customs anywhere compared to other parts of Thailand we travelled to. However at the end of a stressful round trip it's great to relax a few days. For those of you who want a chill on the beach why travel all this way? Go to Spain it's nicer

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank katereto897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

September 28, 2015. Dear Karetero, Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us at Lawana. Samui has always been a quiet and community for even the last 100 years without any clear local administration.. The developments of local culture are nothing outstanding where the simplicity of rural life prevails. It had been a society that could do without cash until the last 30 years when tourists started coming and spoiled it. This is a destination that you will come a relax on the nice beach under non-commercial pressure. Outstanding Thai cultures are abound all over the country in major cities that all have been, and had been at one time in history, the capitals of independent states in the long past. Such cities are Bangkok, Thonburi, Ayuthaya, Lopburi, Nakorn Sawan,Prae, nan, Lampang, Tak, Chiangmai and Chiangrai for examples.
Lawana is a quiet beach resort located five minutes on foot to everything a tourist will ever need for a holiday. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2weeks
Great place and so relaxing
The bungalows are fab
The staff always smile and are very welcoming.
Beach towels are provided
Only bug bear is that the bath towels are like loin cloths
Would highly recommend the lawana
Resort

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

September 19, 2015. Dear Gary, Thank you so much for the support you have promised for Lawana Resort. It is also very nice to hear that you enjoyed your two week stay with us. We use blue towels for the sun beds on the beach and the swimming pool to sort of hide the daily stain during the uses by the guests. These are changed anew everyday and guests are always welcome for additional ones whenever they need after they get smeared for some reason during use. The standard towels for your shower are clean white for your private use in the room. Thanks to our staff who have been able to create a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests, specially those who travel with children; our staff is trained to watch for the moment you will need our assistance. I do not have anything to add because you have been able to paint the correct picture to help our other guests who will consider us for their holiday in Samui. Please remember to contact us directly when you plan your return. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The service at this property was the worst I have experienced in Thailand. In particular the front desk staff had little or no English language skills and really didn't seem to care that I was a guest of the hotel. They would not call a taxi for me and could not give me directions to nearby attractions. Breakfast was OK but very uninspired by Thai standards. The wifi connection was intermittent at best and then they changed the password and the front desk staff didn't know what it was! The worst was the choice to fumigate the rooms while there were guests staying in them...seriously!

I would have checked out after the first if I hadn't prepaid for 4 days of Hades.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TualatinChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

September 2, 2015. Dear Chris, Thank you very much for your frank comments of your stay with us for 4 days. I am reading your points with serious concern. I will definitely personally investigate the few points you have mentioned while I have talked to the manager on the phone today about the problems you had had. There had been definitely a language problem because it is our policy to guide our guests to the various local attractions. I also do not quite understand why we failed to assist you to get a taxi. Many public taxi park exactly in front of our resort ready to serve you and all our guests. I really fail to understand why there had been a problem. I will find out. I sinerely apologize that our breakfast was up to your expectations. We always look to improve our breakfast. Now we offer fresh cooked eggs to your order, 4 selections of bread, 3 fruit juices plus fresh milk and unlimited coffee and tea, 4 selections of fresh tropical fruits, salads and yogurt, two Thai hot dishes and 4 European hot dishes, all set near the pool overlooking the sea and Ko Phangan in full view. We are a 3 star beach property and we will always try to improve our services. The termite spray services are once a month and we normally put a notice in all guest rooms to notify the time they are coming. I apologize if you were not informed. What can we do to offer you mend this feeling?Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I travel a lot. My partner and I arrived in Koh Samui on the 15th of June. We stayed at the Lawana Resort for eight days. We met Mrs. Samniang the General Manager on the first day of our arrival at the reception. She struck me to be a friendly and welcoming person. I appreciated her ability to communicate with me in English and her staff were also proficient in English. The receptionist was most helpful in attending to our needs. She and the manager escorted us to our room and explained some matters for us. A porter came and helped with our bags and took our bags to the room. I was quite impressed by the way we were treated on arrival. The room was comfortable and it had all the amenities we needed. It had a big refrigerator and a good flat screen TV and a new air condition. The bed was comfortable and the linen was fresh. We had plenty of towels. There was a kettle and some coffee and sugar sachets on the bench. The bathroom was clean and the toilet and shower in perfect order. There was nothing to complain about and the room was well serviced. The resort facilities were up to par with other resorts I had visited. The pool is large enough to perform some laps and is situated next to the bar and restaurant where there were always staff on hand to serve you. There were plenty of long chairs to sun bay on the beach. The beach is beautiful and the water a perfect temperature for relaxing in the ocean. There is on the beach a massage thatched house for those requiring this service. The staff there were friendly and accommodating. In conclusion I would return there in the future particularly because of the way we were welcomed.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want or need they have the right room.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

September 4, 2015. Dear M, Thank you so much for taking so much time to write a very comprehensive review of your 10 days holidays with us. We do not have an agent in New Zealand but we still get guests from there through the internet. We will love to entertain more guests from New Zealand and Australia. Your promise to return is an honour. It is a pride to read your review and my staff deserves an extra bonus from this evidence of guest satisfaction. We have a lot of return guests, it is equal to confirmation that we must be doing something right. I must thank everybody, all the guests and alll the staff for helping to create this welcome atmostphere for guests who come from different countries. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We recently stayed at Lawana from 19th to the 29th of July. We had a private pool villa as did our friends who accompanied us to Samui.
The staff from reception to the restaurant were so friendly as well as the housekeeping team. Nothing we asked for was denied and they even went out of their way to move a vehicle so we could park our hire car in the car park.
The breakfast included was great with Western and Thai dishes freshly made.
The General manager Samniang joined us for lunch one day, she was great company and made us feel at home. I enjoyed helping her daughter and niece use the resorts kayak and made sure they were safe.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a softer mattress if you don't enjoy a firm one
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robski1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

August 19, 2015. Dear Robski, Thank you very much for your very kind reviewmof your holiday with us at Lawana Resort. We are very happy that you and your groul enjoyed your stay. We have softer mattresses on request at no extra charge for those who will prefer them. We can also add toppers at no extra charge either upon request. We definitely wqnt to make sure you will have the best sleep. Your promise to return is a real honour to us. We do not have agents in Australia but we still have some guests all the time from the internet. I might mentikn thqt it will be cheaper to book direct with us. And for return guests, we offer free airport transfer, two ways. We definitely will take care of all our guests very well. We are small so the manger, and also myself, will have time to spend with the guests if and when they need us. We need to ensure that our guests feel closest to home. Suwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews