We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally OK”
Review of Lawana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lawana Resort
Ranked #74 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

You get what you pay for - a medium priced hotel gives you a medium priced accommodation. Everything is fine, nothing more and nothing less.The location is really nice; one of the more quieter parts of the beach and not completely packed like the bigger resorts. An easy walk into Bophut 'center' as well. We stayed 3 people in a garden premier bungalow which was nice and spacious enough. A minus was the lack of mosquito nets. It was about one minute walk to the sea, close enough. Breakfast was also totally fine, however for lunch and dinners I recommend to eat somewhere else. If you have a problem with Germans this might not be the place for you - they are overrepresented here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us.
In Thailand, wherever you travel to, it is our recommendation that you protect yourselves against mosquitoes because this is a tropical garden country, especially in the early evening when you venture out for dinner. It is always wise to wear long pants and tops. It is therefore important that you close the door of the room behind you wherever you go in Thailand otherwise mosquitoes will get in. We did not provide mosquito net. We spray the room everyday when we service it and it should be enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We flew to koh samui for our wedding. We had a wedding party of 30 people and most people stayed at either LAWANA or peace resort down the road. My husband and I stayed at peace but spent 99% of our time at LAWANA. We saw ball sorts of rooms. From cheapest to most expensive. The hotel food was heaps better and we paid 50% less for food and dinks at LAWANA. The atmosphere was heaps more up beat. They kept the pool bar open for us till 12am with cheap drinks and music. My brother actually left his belongings on the beach chair including a large envelope with a lot of cash. The hotel staff returned us all our belongings the next day. You could deffinatly see the price different between the 3 hotels and as much as we loved peace you defiantly get more for your money at LAWANA. And free wifi. If we had to go back it would deffinatly be to LAWANA where everyone is honest, friendly, the rooms looked great, and deffinatly wearth it. Great hotel with great beach. It says a lot when we paid twice as much for our rooms at peace resort and spent all our time at LAWANA.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenka0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your very valuable review of your experiences at Lawana. We have a policy that we will give a free stay for as long as the guests like for their 11th stay with us. You are probably a young couple so you have time to make this reward. We have many families from England, Germany and Denmark and Austria that are quite close to this reward.

By this time you must have a baby. We are jealous. If the baby was made at LAWANA we could invite him/her over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at lawana with a toddler, with an overall good experience. Friendly restaurant staff, nice pool, and pretty gardens at the resort. If you want a peacefully quiet stay then this is the place to go. However an unfortunate incident that happened a few days into our stay almost ruined it. Service staff did their daily clean and changed our sheets, when we checked our room we noticed very obvious stains on the bed sheets. It looked like they had made our bed up with used dirty bed sheets. Although upsetting, reception acted promptly to fix the issue. We would probably not stay here again because of this incident, although the rooms were generally clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier Bungalow. Spacious room, close to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

September 25, 2014. Thank you very much for your kind comments of your stay with us at Lawana. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our resort. We are just a simple small, nice place for guests to relax. Our breakfast and dinner are set right on the beach front with 180 degrees seaview and the Kopangan is in full view, unobstructed, in front of our guests. We have nothing much to boast about although we can claim that we have the majority of our guests who are return guests, many of them are back for more than ten visits. Our gardenis one of the most beautiful on Samui island. Our rooms are decorated with original Thai and Chinese antiques so all the rooms are different with the antiques. We are samll but that only means we can look after our guests very well. Please return toLawana and contact us directly for free pick up from the airport for all our return guests. By the way, September and October are nice months with mild temperature and the full sun and the low season room rates and not too many people wherever you go on the island. I think is more relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I would tell people not to visit this place as it is a nice location beside the beach although the beach is not as nice as the beach at Lamai or Chaweng.

Some decent restaurants nearby. Main resort about 1 mins walk. Check out weekly street market. Think its on a friday good experience cocktails for about a Euro although they use same buckets to sccop the ice so might not be most hygenic.

When you get used to baht bus system it is pretty cool and much cheaper than taxis who seem to sit about all day with little business as they are trying to rip off all the tourists that dont know any different . I would also recommend motor cycle taxis negotiate a price before you get on the bike. Hire a scooter for about 5 euro a day great fun and allows flexibility. Again if possible you should rent only from non Thai's were possible as they usually will try to say you damaged the bike when you come back. Thats something that Thailand really have to sort out but when you have local police in on the scams you have no hope.

Tip: If you ask the baht bus to bring you somewhere they will overcharge you big time across Thailand. If they bring you a decent distance you should give them 40 or 50 baht especially if you have bags with you and for short trips say half a mile you should give at least 20 baht. Its not unusal for them to look for 100 to 200 baht and rip you off so beware.

Food in Thailand is really good and relatively inexpensive especially local Thai food. Try Phad Thai it is awesom lovely noodles dish and you can get chicken or seafood etc with it.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with own swimming pool and jacuzzi if you want to treat yourself for about 50 euro for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013
Further to my earlier notes, I would like to add that apart from safety in riding a motorbike in Thailand, you will also have to risk fighting with the bike shops in a few beach locations that they try to rip you off for any scratches or small damages done to the vehicle which will take your holiday feeling away. Why would you want to do it to kill your holiday?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked a premium bungalow for 4 nights. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Well decorated and 2 minutes walking from seaside. Very good buffet breakfast, food at the restaurant is good but a bit too expensive compares to restaurant on the street but you pay for the amazing location on the beach! Staff is very helpful both at the reception and restaurant.
Boputh is not the best beach in Samui but it is peaceful and not too crowdy. Good massage facilities on the beach . Lawana reaort is just 10 minutes walking from the Fisherman village.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

March 7

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We offer excellent location for a quiet holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.3 km away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#60 of 184 in Bophut
328 reviews
0.3 km away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#47 of 184 in Bophut
1,684 reviews
15.7 km away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
3.9 km away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#69 of 184 in Bophut
334 reviews
4.1 km away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 184 in Bophut
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Address: 180/11 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#31 Family Hotel in Bophut
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: €46 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing