We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
143
164
41
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
164
41
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fisherman's village baht cocktails happy hour eggs cooked lush gardens bo phut beach western food the general manager jet ski yogurt wonderful stay lovely beach the main road sun loungers pool
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We flew to koh samui for our wedding. We had a wedding party of 30 people and most people stayed at either LAWANA or peace resort down the road. My husband and I stayed at peace but spent 99% of our time at LAWANA. We saw ball sorts of rooms. From cheapest to most expensive. The hotel food was heaps better and we paid 50% less for food and dinks at LAWANA. The atmosphere was heaps more up beat. They kept the pool bar open for us till 12am with cheap drinks and music. My brother actually left his belongings on the beach chair including a large envelope with a lot of cash. The hotel staff returned us all our belongings the next day. You could deffinatly see the price different between the 3 hotels and as much as we loved peace you defiantly get more for your money at LAWANA. And free wifi. If we had to go back it would deffinatly be to LAWANA where everyone is honest, friendly, the rooms looked great, and deffinatly wearth it. Great hotel with great beach. It says a lot when we paid twice as much for our rooms at peace resort and spent all our time at LAWANA.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenka0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your very valuable review of your experiences at Lawana. We have a policy that we will give a free stay for as long as the guests like for their 11th stay with us. You are probably a young couple so you have time to make this reward. We have many families from England, Germany and Denmark and Austria that are quite close to this reward.

By this time you must have a baby. We are jealous. If the baby was made at LAWANA we could invite him/her over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at lawana with a toddler, with an overall good experience. Friendly restaurant staff, nice pool, and pretty gardens at the resort. If you want a peacefully quiet stay then this is the place to go. However an unfortunate incident that happened a few days into our stay almost ruined it. Service staff did their daily clean and changed our sheets, when we checked our room we noticed very obvious stains on the bed sheets. It looked like they had made our bed up with used dirty bed sheets. Although upsetting, reception acted promptly to fix the issue. We would probably not stay here again because of this incident, although the rooms were generally clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier Bungalow. Spacious room, close to the pool and beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

September 25, 2014. Thank you very much for your kind comments of your stay with us at Lawana. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our resort. We are just a simple small, nice place for guests to relax. Our breakfast and dinner are set right on the beach front with 180 degrees seaview and the Kopangan is in full view, unobstructed, in front of our guests. We have nothing much to boast about although we can claim that we have the majority of our guests who are return guests, many of them are back for more than ten visits. Our gardenis one of the most beautiful on Samui island. Our rooms are decorated with original Thai and Chinese antiques so all the rooms are different with the antiques. We are samll but that only means we can look after our guests very well. Please return toLawana and contact us directly for free pick up from the airport for all our return guests. By the way, September and October are nice months with mild temperature and the full sun and the low season room rates and not too many people wherever you go on the island. I think is more relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I would tell people not to visit this place as it is a nice location beside the beach although the beach is not as nice as the beach at Lamai or Chaweng.

Some decent restaurants nearby. Main resort about 1 mins walk. Check out weekly street market. Think its on a friday good experience cocktails for about a Euro although they use same buckets to sccop the ice so might not be most hygenic.

When you get used to baht bus system it is pretty cool and much cheaper than taxis who seem to sit about all day with little business as they are trying to rip off all the tourists that dont know any different . I would also recommend motor cycle taxis negotiate a price before you get on the bike. Hire a scooter for about 5 euro a day great fun and allows flexibility. Again if possible you should rent only from non Thai's were possible as they usually will try to say you damaged the bike when you come back. Thats something that Thailand really have to sort out but when you have local police in on the scams you have no hope.

Tip: If you ask the baht bus to bring you somewhere they will overcharge you big time across Thailand. If they bring you a decent distance you should give them 40 or 50 baht especially if you have bags with you and for short trips say half a mile you should give at least 20 baht. Its not unusal for them to look for 100 to 200 baht and rip you off so beware.

Food in Thailand is really good and relatively inexpensive especially local Thai food. Try Phad Thai it is awesom lovely noodles dish and you can get chicken or seafood etc with it.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with own swimming pool and jacuzzi if you want to treat yourself for about 50 euro for the room with breakfast during low season.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013
Further to my earlier notes, I would like to add that apart from safety in riding a motorbike in Thailand, you will also have to risk fighting with the bike shops in a few beach locations that they try to rip you off for any scratches or small damages done to the vehicle which will take your holiday feeling away. Why would you want to do it to kill your holiday?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked a premium bungalow for 4 nights. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Well decorated and 2 minutes walking from seaside. Very good buffet breakfast, food at the restaurant is good but a bit too expensive compares to restaurant on the street but you pay for the amazing location on the beach! Staff is very helpful both at the reception and restaurant.
Boputh is not the best beach in Samui but it is peaceful and not too crowdy. Good massage facilities on the beach . Lawana reaort is just 10 minutes walking from the Fisherman village.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

March 7

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We offer excellent location for a quiet holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great little resort away from the hustle and bustle of chewang. Stayed here twice on overnight stop overs and great both times.

Breakfast was yummy and had plenty of choice, there is plenty of choice with food, I would recommend caticus next door, great value for money.

Don't book anything through the tour lady at the resort go next door and you will get it 50-100 b cheaper

Overall a very good resort

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

March 7
Thank you very much for your short and clear comments of your stay with us. We are small but we are not second to any of the resorts around us that cost even much higher.
We do not own the our desk at the front office., but of course, there are many tour desks nearby that you can try to check prices with. We will help you decide whenever you need our help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews