We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect- we don't want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edge Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Galvins is a really special place to stay. We have been here a week and have wanted for nothing! We have a hire car, so the 10 minute drive to the centre of Cairns is no problem. The area is really peaceful and, although I worried a little about the noise of the airport, it's nothing but the occassional low rumble as a plane takes off and we didn't notice it at all. There are plenty of shops and places to eat in Edge Hill, which is just a 10 minute walk away.
There are so many thoughtful touches, as many clean beach towels as you need, sun hats, eskies, loads of books (including guides for the reef and Australian wildlife), BBQ, candles & mozzie repellant burners (if you want to sit out by the pool or swim in the evening). Breakfast is delicious fresh fruit along with any bread/muffins/cereal/juice/yogurts you would like. The pool and garden is truly beautiful and the apartment is a real home from home. The laundry facilities are excellent- as is the wi-fi access. There is excellent air con in the bedrooms. There's an outside toilet and pretty 'garden' shower too- if the inside one is in use!
Julie and Jessie are perfect hosts, respectful of privacy yet really friendly and helpful. We will definately come back if we get a chance!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollygamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed at Galvin's Edge Hill B&B for 4 nights in late Nov. The accomodations were comfortable, lots of room, free Wifi, delicious fresh fruit each morning, beautiful pool. Although the weather was not great (it rained a lot and was hot & humid), Julie Low, the owner and hostess could not have been more gracious or helpful. She took us to the train station for the trip to Katoomba, drove me to the port for me to go on a scuba diving expedition and drove us to the airport when we left. She was also one of the nicest and friendly individuals I have met. If we were to return to Cairns, we would definitely return to her place. It is also one of the closest places to the airport although we heard very few planes. A wonderful place and hostess.

Franke Paulett, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpaulett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

It's all been said in the other reviews. This place is just lovely, it's like having a two bedroom apartment, not just a room. Open, airy modern rooms, beautifully appointed and presented. We could have moved in!
Edgehill is a lovely area with convenient shopping and restaurants, and easy walking distance to the Botanic Gardens.
It is about an $18 taxi ride from town, but there are local buses ($2.50). Julie kindly drove us to the wharf to catch our ship north. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This beautiful B&B is simply lovely. The two bedroom B&B is run by Jesse and Julie Low, which is the lower part of their home and very private. Beautiful gardens, pool and BBQ are available for your use. Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and conveniently located a short taxi drive from the airport. Within walking distance to the Botanic Gardens, restaurants and shops. A platter of fresh fruit is available every morning along with other breakfast items and condiments.

Day trips can be booked through Jesse and Julie and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. Truly a great place to stay and I will definitely return to Galvin's Edge Hill B&B if ever I'm in Cairns again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Cairns, Australia is a beautiful place to visit and you can forget about hotels when you can book into this Bed and Breakfast, a short taxi drive from the airport.

Your hosts Jesse and Julie Low run a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in their own home but the accomodation is seperate from the owners giving total privacy. You have all mod cons and barbecue area with a wonderful secluded pool. Totally tropical!

Edgehill is a lovely suburb and the Botanic Gardens are ashort walk from the house. There are many and varied restaurants locally with a vraiety of take aways.

Local attractions can be booked via Julie and you are picked up at the door. We do recommend the Rain Forest Day!

Although we only had a few days the next time, and there will be a next time, it will be for much longer.

Absolute bliss!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strapworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Walsh St, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: €65 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cairns’ oldest & finest Queenslanders, located in quiet, leafy Edge Hill, five minutes drive from downtown and the airport. Relax in your own private two-bedroom apartment (we only take one booking at a time so there’s no need to share). Enjoy our magnificent swimming pool and gardens. Three minutes walk and you’re in the village of Edge Hill with restaurants, local shops, the Botanic Gardens, rain forest walks, and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing