We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
77
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning fresh fruit swimming pool julie hosts tropical kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed at Galvin's Edge Hill B&B for 4 nights in late Nov. The accomodations were comfortable, lots of room, free Wifi, delicious fresh fruit each morning, beautiful pool. Although the weather was not great (it rained a lot and was hot & humid), Julie Low, the owner and hostess could not have been more gracious or helpful. She took us to the train station for the trip to Katoomba, drove me to the port for me to go on a scuba diving expedition and drove us to the airport when we left. She was also one of the nicest and friendly individuals I have met. If we were to return to Cairns, we would definitely return to her place. It is also one of the closest places to the airport although we heard very few planes. A wonderful place and hostess.

Franke Paulett, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpaulett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

It's all been said in the other reviews. This place is just lovely, it's like having a two bedroom apartment, not just a room. Open, airy modern rooms, beautifully appointed and presented. We could have moved in!
Edgehill is a lovely area with convenient shopping and restaurants, and easy walking distance to the Botanic Gardens.
It is about an $18 taxi ride from town, but there are local buses ($2.50). Julie kindly drove us to the wharf to catch our ship north. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This beautiful B&B is simply lovely. The two bedroom B&B is run by Jesse and Julie Low, which is the lower part of their home and very private. Beautiful gardens, pool and BBQ are available for your use. Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and conveniently located a short taxi drive from the airport. Within walking distance to the Botanic Gardens, restaurants and shops. A platter of fresh fruit is available every morning along with other breakfast items and condiments.

Day trips can be booked through Jesse and Julie and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. Truly a great place to stay and I will definitely return to Galvin's Edge Hill B&B if ever I'm in Cairns again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Cairns, Australia is a beautiful place to visit and you can forget about hotels when you can book into this Bed and Breakfast, a short taxi drive from the airport.

Your hosts Jesse and Julie Low run a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in their own home but the accomodation is seperate from the owners giving total privacy. You have all mod cons and barbecue area with a wonderful secluded pool. Totally tropical!

Edgehill is a lovely suburb and the Botanic Gardens are ashort walk from the house. There are many and varied restaurants locally with a vraiety of take aways.

Local attractions can be booked via Julie and you are picked up at the door. We do recommend the Rain Forest Day!

Although we only had a few days the next time, and there will be a next time, it will be for much longer.

Absolute bliss!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strapworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

If you prefer a homely atmosphere instead of hotelrooms, this B & B is the place. Julie and Jesse are wonderful hosts, doing there outmost to make you feel at home. Beautiful house and garden with swimming pool, two bedrooms, all rooms are nicely decorated. Lovely breakfast with a tasty fruit plate every morning. On top of this, Galvin's B&B is located in a peaceful and quiet area, near to the botanic garden. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlinpeter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews