We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
78
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanic gardens every morning swimming pool fresh fruit gracious hosts breakfast platter stunning pool their beautiful home home from home large living area within walking distance bottle shop enjoyed our stay restaurants and shops first floor living room french pressed
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This beautiful B&B is simply lovely. The two bedroom B&B is run by Jesse and Julie Low, which is the lower part of their home and very private. Beautiful gardens, pool and BBQ are available for your use. Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and conveniently located a short taxi drive from the airport. Within walking distance to the Botanic Gardens, restaurants and shops. A platter of fresh fruit is available every morning along with other breakfast items and condiments.

Day trips can be booked through Jesse and Julie and go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. Truly a great place to stay and I will definitely return to Galvin's Edge Hill B&B if ever I'm in Cairns again.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Cairns, Australia is a beautiful place to visit and you can forget about hotels when you can book into this Bed and Breakfast, a short taxi drive from the airport.

Your hosts Jesse and Julie Low run a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in their own home but the accomodation is seperate from the owners giving total privacy. You have all mod cons and barbecue area with a wonderful secluded pool. Totally tropical!

Edgehill is a lovely suburb and the Botanic Gardens are ashort walk from the house. There are many and varied restaurants locally with a vraiety of take aways.

Local attractions can be booked via Julie and you are picked up at the door. We do recommend the Rain Forest Day!

Although we only had a few days the next time, and there will be a next time, it will be for much longer.

Absolute bliss!

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strapworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

If you prefer a homely atmosphere instead of hotelrooms, this B & B is the place. Julie and Jesse are wonderful hosts, doing there outmost to make you feel at home. Beautiful house and garden with swimming pool, two bedrooms, all rooms are nicely decorated. Lovely breakfast with a tasty fruit plate every morning. On top of this, Galvin's B&B is located in a peaceful and quiet area, near to the botanic garden. We loved it.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlinpeter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We had almost three weeks in this lovely bed and breakfast location in Edge Hill, Cairns. The accommodation was a small flat with bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchen area, plus access to the garden and lovely rock pool. After weeks of travelling it was lovely to relax somewhere which felt a bit like home. Our hosts Jesse and Julie were very welcoming (as were their three lovely daughters) and very helpful in booking local trips and advising on places to visit. Julie went out of her way to ensure that we had everything we needed for a good holiday (and she makes some fantastic scones! ) Would thoroughly recommend Galvins Edge for a luxurious stay.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My husband and I used Cairns as our gateway for a snorkeling trip on the Great Barrier Reef. Galvin's Edge was a wonderful B&B ... super spacious (you have the entire "apartment" to yourself), clean, and nicely appointed. (And I must mention the amazing backyard and pool area!) Hosts Jesse and Julie were friendly and accomodating - eager to help with reservations for excursions and kind enough to offer rides when they were available.

This was especially helpful, as the one sort-of drawback of this B&B is its distance from downtown Cairns. While not super far, about 10 or so minutes drive, cab rides to and from the B&B could quickly add up. (~$15 - $20 AUD for each one way trip) That said, if money is not an issue, it's well worth the expense to be away from the tacky / touristy downtown area.

That said, we would highly recommend this B&B!

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews