We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
85
16
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ironing board great holiday few minutes walk free wifi sea view village greek tavernas manolo raki studio harbour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We returned to Kastro for a third time in early September to spend a week enjoying the excellent hospitality and Greek cuisine courtesy of Manolis and his family and team. One or two changes since our last visit with new front of house staff and the guys were brilliant. Attentive, efficient and so friendly, just like Manolis. We had the upstairs apartment which is our favourite due to the sea views and sunny terrace. We had several meals in the taverna over the week and the food was better than ever. It was always really enjoyable but it's gone up several notches which we complimented Manolis on. Is most certainly the best in the village and there is some stiff competition. Kastro is in a great location just a few minutes walk down to the centre of the village and also to the beach. Regarding the beach, sadly this has been eroded by the sea a great deal since our first visit back in 2014 so is a bit too cramped for my enjoyment now. However, as we had hired a car at the start of our holiday (had a week in Kissamos before Panormo) we drove around and tried out quite a few of the local beaches. There's some lovely spots just short drives (or a bus ride) along the coast. Spilies was our favourite even though it is a pebble beach and we generally like the sandy ones. Great taverna there, quiet and such clear sea, well worth a ride out. As ever, nothing was too much trouble for Manolis and his staff and was great to see his sons home from work and Uni during our visit, they are such a credit to him and Tonya. The rooms were full and the taverna was busy most nights which was great to see. We came home with gifts of home made cinnamon raki and almond raki (the latest addition!) and had consumed rather a lot of it over the week as Manolis likes to give us a decanter of it to take up to bed! Had a fantastic and relaxed visit and will most definitely be returning again. Greek hospitality at its best. Thanks Manolis, much love.

Room Tip: Upstairs apartment has the sea view and a sunny terrace but is the smallest, great for couples.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xenaandbobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We have just returned from a second stay at Kastro Apartments. We spent 2 weeks in the sea view studio and took advantage of the excellent "half board" option provided.

As usual, the food was of a very high standard. The breakfast provided was large and extremely varied, and included a number of local delicacies. We were able to choose from the full menu for dinner, and as usual the food and wine provided were excellent.

As importantly, the welcome, generosity and hospitality provided by the owner, Manolis, his son and all of his staff were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, and we were regularly provided with gifts of wine and raki (flavoured with either cinnamon or almond).

The sea view from the studio is excellent, covering most of the bay.The room was cleaned daily, and clean linen and towels were provided every three days. The studio is well equipped with satellite TV; hair dryer; electric iron and ironing board; coffee maker, and sandwich toaster, as well as the usual facilities.The free wifi was excellent.

We had an extremely relaxing and restful holiday, and look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: The sea view studio is best for couples
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richardinbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Thanks Manolos for a lovely 1 night stay on Sunday night, and the food in the attached taverna was beautiful. Lovely atmosphere, huge apartment and very clean, we were made to feel very welcome. The honey flavoured raki was delicious and no headache the following morning . We shall come and eat with you when we are back, next week, at the Royal Blue just up the road. Please thank your wife for the delicious breakfast too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bumpy_up_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We booked kastro apartments for one night to visit panormo!
These apartments are lovely, very homely and they have a nice relaxing feeling about them. They are very clean and well equipped. Kastro restaurant is a must to go and eat the best in panormo! Minolie who runs kastro is lovely and very friendly aswell as all his staff! I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lauranicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Just returned from 7 nights at the Kastro Apartments. We booked this apartment after visiting the Taverna the previous year. We've stayed in all inclusive hotels nearby twice before and wanted to try something different (and less expensive!). We're so glad that we made that decision.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well equipped - free wifi, plenty of towels and excellent air-con. The bed was huge and comfortable. The bedroom and kitchen have plenty of storage space. The spacious veranda outside was pleasant and well shaded and although next to road, that wasn't obtrusive and the road wasn't busy - was an ideal place to watch the world go by. Manolos the owner was so friendly and he and his team very helpful and always greeted us guests with a smile and a handshake. The apartment is next to the Kastro Taverna - which serves the best food and wine in Panormos. Make sure that you eat there at least once, we found it to be there best in the area. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and the harbour and restaurants of Panormos just 10 minute walk. An ideal location. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KJB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews