We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
372
224
82
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
224
82
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua park greek restaurant kids club main restaurant a la carte restaurants family room all inclusive hotel german kids hotel management blonde lady interesting activities adult entertainment kids corner tropical pool wave breaker perfect hotel for families agreco farm
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We stayed in 946 room, as a couple with a beach view which was breathtaking, taking in the medittereann view, couldn't ask for a better location, we stayed for 7 days all inclusive, the food was nice and just what you would expect, but coming into the last 2 days, it got a bit too much, the same kind of variety, but credit to waiters they were exceptional, I found the waitresses to be abit abrupt, one in particular, barmen were brilliant, complex very clean, credit to Housekeeping. The complex was exceptional with a variety of activites and pools with a waterpark offering a variety for kids adults. For me we did make a mistake going to this part of Crete as we are a young couple and didn't research enough of the area to know there was not really a lot to do, but we made the most of everyday, you live and learn as they say.
this review is based on the hotel, and what it has to offer, otherwise Crete in general would have to be an 'Average' rating due to certain circumstances

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Member Louis C

We would like to thank you for choosing Grecotel Club Marine Palace & Suites for your holidays and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy that the facilities we provide met up with numerous of your expectations and especially that you have appreciated the view from your room overlooking the Cretan Sea as well as the unique architectural design and cleanliness of our Hotel and the professionalism and friendliness of our staff, who always give their best in providing an great holiday experience to our guests.

Even though our hotel is familly oriented, we always try to satisfy every guest, with our Aqua Park "Kingdom of Poseidon" , our daily entertainment programme, the different gastronomical experiences offered in our A la Cart restaurant as well as with the variety of evening shows.

Furthermore, the location of our hotel is concidered by many ideal, as it is close to the centre of Rethymnon, it is easy to reach by car or by bus, the city of Heraklion and the Minoan Knossos Palace, the south Rethymnon with its beautifull blue beaches and Chania, with the famous Venecian port and old town.

Once again thank you for your time to review our hotel and we will be more than happy to welcome you back in one of your future holidays.

Best Regards

GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Firstly, this hhotel is lovely, the staff go above what is expected. The cleaners never stop and the whole place is spotless.
When we arrived we were given a seat in reception, then a cool flannel to refresh ourselves and a lovely non-alcoholic drink. Check in was done very quickly and we were taken in a golf buggy with our cases to our bungalow.
We paid extra for a bungalow as we thought we deserved a treat, however it turned out to be a small room in a block with a tiny balcony overlooking a building site. My husband explained this was not acceptable so the pirter took us to another bungalow, this was only a few doors away and exactly the same!. We then asked to see the manager and explined again we didn't want to holiday next to a building site, they put us in a larger room with a lovely view.
The food was standard all inclusive with plenty of choice. The pizza at the Italian on a dinnertime was among the best I have had anywhere. The drinks are mostly good brands.
The water park is 2-3 minutes walk from the main complex and there was no queue for the slides.
As usual in Greece there are homeless cats around, they never bother you unless you go up to them, they are very friendly and the end of every night we went outside the hotel to stroke them, it's good to take a box of cat food with you, they will love you forever!.
The village is about 5 minutes walk away, it is bigger than it looks and has some lovely shops.
Overall, this is a lovely hotel, especially for people with children, it's not really for couples unless you don't mind children screaming and running around (sometimes up to midnight)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Member Angie B


We would like to thank you very much for our resort choosing Grecotel Club Marine Palace & Suites and for the time you spent reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences of your accommodation. We wish to inform you that our Bungalows are independend rooms from the main building and that the construction is not part of our complex.
Nevertheless, it was our pleasure being able to offer you another room that you have really appreciated its view.

We feel very happy that you and your family have enjoyed our Aqua Park "Kingdom of Poseidon" and that you have emphasized the quality of our pizza at the italian restaurant and it fulfills us with pride that "it was among the best you have had".

Furthermore, we are happy that you enjoyed your walks at the traditional fish village, Panormo


Once again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to weelcoming you again in one of your future holidays!

With our Best Regards


GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We stayed here in September for eleven nights fantastic hotel. The staff are excellent and very friendly. Our room was very clean and had tea & coffee there. There was plenty of room around the pool and the beach .there is a small village just a stroll along the road . The hotel is in a quiet place quite a way from rethymno .
I had a accident while I was there when I was out in the gorge. The hotel looked after me very well and made sure I had every thing to hand.

Room Tip: Sea view near end of hotel
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Member Denise C

We would like to thank you for the time you spent reviewing our hotel, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and that you have enjoyed the hospitality and professionalism of our staff, the cleanliness and the overall room facillities as well as the quitness of our resort.

Moreover,we are happy that you have appreciated the location of Club Marine Palace & Suites and the walks at the fishing village, Panormos.

Furthermore, it was our pleasure to being able to ease the rest of your holidays after your accident.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We wish you a quiet and productive winter and we will be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

So me and my partner flew to Heraklion airport with TUI to stay at this hotel...

We arrived at the airport at midnight or something on Friday 7th/Saturday morning, the transfer took ages, we were 3rd drop off and I think it took about an hour and 20 or so which is fine we were just really tired and hungry!

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed! It looked really nice, the staff were very welcoming. My partner had told the hotel that the trip was for my birthday, the receptionist mentioned that he knew it was for my birthday but never actually wished my happy birthday or did anything out the ordinary (no card etc) but again, that’s fine. We were extremely annoyed that we were not offered a drink or any food on arrival, we had been travelling for a very long time and had to go to bed very hungry and thirsty! I have never known an all inclusive to not give you a sandwich or anything when arriving at night time!

We were taken to our room via club car, (room 1566) we were helped with our luggage and into our room. The room was spectacular! So bright and clean, but we didn’t take a long time to look around as we were too tired.

The first day...

You are not given a wrist band for all inclusive but they do ask your room number! We went to breakfast at the restaurant near to the aqua park, the breakfast was amazing, I have nothing to complain about at all! We were given fresh orange juice on arrival every day and asked if we would like a coffee, this was brought to our table.

The breakfast food...

The omelette is just SO TASTY! There is an omelette chef, you just tell him what ingredients you’d like in it (cheese, ham, pepper, tomato) and he makes it in front of you! Then there’s the usual stuff, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, tomato, beans, toast, cereals, pastries, salmon etc...

Sun loungers...

I’ll say what everyone else says about people reserving loungers, yes they do! However we never struggled as a two to find somewhere decent to sunbathe for the day, the private beach is rammed though, we didn’t really venture onto it as the loungers are so close together it’s not very nice! But there are loungers near to the beach on a grass area that is equally as nice and you can walk down to the sea!

Lunch time...

Honestly we only ate lunch a handful of times, it was lovely again! We ate at the restaurant close to the beach. They offer you a bottle of wine when you sit at table (red, white, rosé) We had a bottle of rosé one day, it wasn’t the best, I’d probably get a soft drink or beer whilst having lunch. The lunch menu is like a typical all inclusive, chips, meat, gyros, salad, bread etc, all very tasty!

Snacks...

They advertise ‘a snack bar’ but it isn’t really a snack bar at all! You can get a crepe (savoury or sweet) between 2pm and 5pm in the main reception are, they’re really nice but you can queue for a while! They put out pastries, cold meats and some salad for you to pick at and at the aqua park you can get a hot dog which is alright but apart from that there are no actual snacks! I’m used to being able to order burgers etc...

Dinner time...

I can’t really fault dinner either, again food is lovely! There isn’t really a dress code anymore as it’s too hot to expect guests to wear long trousers and shoulders covered! Wine is served again if you ask for it.

The area...

The location is quite nice if you’re planning on staying at the all inclusive most of the time then you’ll be fine! Only 5 min walk away is a small village with a variety of shops, supermarkets, coffee shops and tavernas, it is quite quiet but cute! We never ventured in at night time but it is nice to look around in the day time. Rethymno centre is a long way away! I think it costs 30 euros in a taxi one way or you can get a bus (we did this several times) it cost just over 10 euros for two for a return. The bus is every half hour but it is an hour journey!!! It is worth it when you are there but it gets extremely busy on the bus so if you get claustrophobic it might not be for you! We were a little bit gutted that Rethymno centre was so far away! We did go one afternoon and stayed until evening to have drinks, there are a lot of trendy cocktail bars and plenty of places to eat! We had takeaway noodles for Wok Spot and they were absolutely amazing!!

All inclusive drinks...

Amazing!! Branded spirits, Havana club, tia Maria, disarrono, absolute vodka, sourz, Gordon gin! Never known anything like it! The cocktails were great, mojitos, strawberry daiquiris!

The entertainment...

I am really disappointed with the entertainment, it was really poor! It was aimed at children! Kids disco and then some other child friendly entertainment such as dance light shows, clowns! There was never anything on past 10:30pm and that was annoying since the bar was open until 1am and they don’t even play any music in the bar/chill areas which is a shame! They could do with a evening quiz or more adult friendly entertainment!

Car hire...

We hired a car one day from the car hire place on the way out from hotel, I think it is called happy holiday but I’m not entirely sure! We were going to hire a Kia picanto for 38 euros for the day but when we got back it had been hired! So we ended up with a Skoda for 50 euros I think! It was way worth it! Full insurance, you need passport and driving licence and drop it back at 9:30pm. The lady was really helpful she gave us a map and told us nice places to visit! It was probably our favourite day!

The shops...

The shop on site opposite the reception is so expensive! I broke my sunglasses on the first day and they were selling them at 20 euros I think and they were tacky ones you’d expect to pay 5 euros for them! It also rained one day and they were selling umbrellas for 30 euros, absolute rip off! There is another shop down the bottom which is a lot better, 5 euros for sunglasses.

The water park...

This is great! The slides are really good, there are some you can go on as a two but there are limited double rings as people hold onto them for an hour at a time! They play English music there which is nice but have limited drinks at the bar (I think just beer and soft drinks)

The staff ...

All staff were extremely friendly, the bar and restaurant staff were amazing, they’d do anything to make it a pleasant experience. Table service for drinks is great! The cleaner/maids are great, the room was always clean and if you’re in they come back later! The reception staff were really helpful! Any question you had they helped!

The TUI rep...

To be honest we didn’t go to the welcome meeting (we regret this) but we never did see the rep again and even on pick up there was no one there and the bus was late!

The other guests...

There was a mix of people, English, German, Russian and probably more...
Yes the hotel is more for the German and Russian guests but it really didn’t bother us, everyone was friendly enough! There are a lot of children but they were all well mannered and didn’t cause any problems at all!

Overall, I would probably stay here again! I wished we had a drink and sandwich on arrival, the entertainment needs improving and I wish the hotel was closer to Rethymno! But apart from that we had a fantastic week away here, thank you to all the lovely staff for making us feel so welcome!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Family holiday here in August 2018. Well laid out resort with plenty of space for all. Food typical of all-inclusive - some great, some good, some less so. We had our two elder teenagers (19, 14) with us and it probably caters more for younger kids but that did not stop us enjoying ourselves. The staff are superb and very friendly and the whole place is spotless too. We spent pretty much the whole week sunbathing, swimming, eating, drinking and sleeping...isn't that the point?! Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Member Greg k

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent holidays.
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests leave Club Marine Palace &Suites, being fully satisfied so they devoted some time to share their experience and recommend our resort to other visitors of Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that you and your family have really enjoyed your holidays in Crete and that you have appreciated the overall facilities offered in our premises.

Furthermore, the fact that you speak so highly about our colleagues’ professional behavior makes us very proud of our given efforts in providing the best possible hospitality service.

Once again thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in one of your future holidays.

With Kind Regards

GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews