We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,500)
Filter reviews
2,500 results
Traveller rating
1,271
816
277
95
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,271
816
277
95
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team creta panorama main pool salt water superior bungalow calypso bar tony macaroni evening shows reception staff faethon pool sea view lobby bar the main hotel pool games on tap teeny club banana boat
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,500 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Firstly have to praise the staff at the hotel, they ALL go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable and are very helpful. The location is very hilly, lots of steps and slopes, disappointed with the two coves which are the only access to the beach, limited bed space and facilities and a trek of you are not able bodied. The grounds are kept immaculate and huge, we found there is a lack of signs around the grounds to tell you where things are which would have been helpful. Although advertised as lots of bars these are in the main pool bars and unless you want coffee/beer or wine you will not be able to get any spirits until the lobby bar opens at 5.00 pm which we found unusual for a lobby bar given there are people there all day coming and going!. Food was plentiful and good with a wide choice. We have been to Crete several times but would not choose this location again as there is limited things to do around it and have to travel to nearby locations for bars / shops.

Room Tip: Most rooms in the hotel have limited sea views, if you are in a bungalow you may be in for a trek
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peanutNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,

It has been very helpful to read your review concerning your recent holiday at our hotel. We regret that our tranquil location was not to your liking. On a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact our dedicated call-centre where they will gladly assist you on reserving a tailor-made holiday that suits all of your requirements perfectly.

However, we are delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay at our beautiful, four-star hotel in Crete and appreciated our excellent gastronomy, well-kept gardens and of course, our lovely team of professional and helpful staff. Once again, we would like to say how grateful we are for your opinion, and hope that Iberostar continues to remain in your holiday plans in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

A lovely clean hotel. Staff are all lovely and very helpful.
Food was amazing! Good choice of drinks for all inclusive. Rooms quite basic but have all you need and very clean.
Good location - but to save money take the bus into town, the taxis are very expensive!
Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireP2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Claire,

We would like first of all for you to know that we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at our hotel. Every area and every service of our hotel is designed to provide a quality holiday experience, and whenever we receive confirmation this has been achieved we consider it a success story.

We would like to thank you once again for your appreciation and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Couldn't fault this hotel. Very well kept, clean, maid service every day, choice of pool bars and pools, great shows at night, variety of food choices. The only thing I would say is; if you are considering this hotel, go All Inclusive. There is nothing else near, the nearest town is lovely and worth a visit, but it is a 20 minute taxi ride away, or an hour on a local bus. It will cost you a fortune if you pay half board, then your only option is to buy food and drinks from the hotel. We stayed in a bungalow room with sea view, it was basic but comfortable and had air conditioning and a safe, you couldn't ask for any more. Loved this relaxing break and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank kellyc8802018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kelly,

Firstly we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and for sharing your experience with us. We are really happy to read your enthusiastic comments about our prime pillars we set in place to ensure splendid vacations for our guests.

Once more we thank you for this complimentary review of our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I have just returned from a week at the Iberostar Creta Panaorama & Mare with 2 friends, and we had a very mixed experience!

We booked a double room and a twin room on a half board basis. When we arrived, we were greeted with flowers, chocolates and champagne and couldn't believe our luck when we were told that since we were in Crete to celebrate my friend's 30th birthday we would be receiving an upgrade to a "water front bungalow" and all inclusive dining for the week. We were absolutely over the moon and the receptionist sent us off to catch the end of lunch where we sat (foolishly in hindsight) gushing about what an amazing welcome we'd had.

We returned to reception around 20 minutes later and the receptionist was nowhere to be seen. We asked a different staff member for our key and the porter collected our bags and took us to our bungalow. When we arrived, we couldn't hide our disappointment. We were met with a double bed and a tiny sofa style bed which was basically 2 (rock hard!) cushions shoved together. It was basically a family room rather than this grand bungalow we'd been offered. The tiny bed one of us would have to sleep in was right next to the bathroom door so there would be disruptions through the night and none of us would have any real privacy. It was worlds apart from the luxury bungalow that had been described to us.

We apologised to the porter and returned to reception to thank them for the offer but to let them know we'd decided we would prefer our original rooms. The receptionist had no idea what we were talking about so contacted the manager on our behalf.

We were met with the only rude staff member in the building. We explained the situation to him and he instantly shut down the notion that we were upgraded due to our friend's birthday. He informed us that they had simply overbooked the hotel so only put us in the bungalow because the rooms we booked were not available. We explained why it was not suitable for us and he told us, and I quote, "Well if you were good enough friends, it would be fine!" I'm not quite sure what the quality of our friendship has to do with not wanting a family room! On our one awful night staying there, we didn't see a single other group of friends in the bungalows. It was all couples and families with young children. He would not accept in any way, shape or form that this was not an upgrade for us.

I have attached pictures of the original tiny bed I had to sleep on compared to the room I later got which I'd paid for. I don't understand why not a single staff member would accept that it was a downgrade. They kept saying the bungalows are more expensive but it actually works out cheaper than both the rooms together. The only upgrade was the all inclusive dining but they told us the all inclusive offer was nothing to do with my friend's birthday either and we could only keep this if we agreed to stay in the bungalow. Since we'd rather not sacrifice a good night's sleep for the sake of more food, we insisted we wanted our original booking honoured by the next day.

We called our rep to make sure they were aware. They spoke to the manager on our behalf to ensure we received the rooms we'd paid for the next day, were able to "persuade" the manager to give us an additional 2 days all inclusive, and they gave us some compensation. I must stress this was all down to the travel company not the hotel itself. The manager and reception staff were still in a complete state of confusion as to why we weren't happy with their "upgrade".

I took a look at some of the negative reviews on here and saw many of those were related to these falsified "upgrades" so please think very carefully before accepting anything from this hotel that seems too good to be true because it probably is! If I'd gone with my partner, we'd have loved it but it simply wasn't suitable for 3 adults.

All of the initial unpleasantness aside, overall it was a good hotel. The food was varied and nice, the vast majority of staff were pleasant and friendly and the choice of swimming pools is incredible. We were rather disgruntled to find out they charge 4 euros per sunbed on the private little beaches (but not the pools?!) but it was a calmer environment down there away from the entertainment team, who were perfectly nice but very eager to get people involved every 5 minutes for a new activity they were running.

The only other negative for me was that air conditioning unit was ridiculously loud, but I couldn't open the balcony door without hearing music and other guests until 2 - 3am so didn't have much choice other than to endure it.

I can see why there are many positive reviews, as if we hadn't have had the initial unpleasantness I'd have given the hotel a 4, but the rude and insensitive way it was all handled gave us a very sour start on what was a very special birthday for my friend. Luckily the rest of the week for the most part made up for that dodgy start!

TL; DR - Do NOT accept their upgrades before inspecting the offered accommodation thoroughly. They have a bad habit of overbooking the hotel and shoving people in inferior rooms under the guise of an "upgrade". Other than that, we were happy enough with our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Lou,

Thank you for writing to us. We sincerely regret that the upgrade that we offered you was not to your personal liking, however, we are pleased to read that a solution was found and that you and your friends were able to enjoy the rest of your stay at our beautiful, four-star hotel in Crete.

We would like to express our appreciation to you for your compliments regarding our exquisite gastronomy, wonderful pool areas and of course our team of kind and professional staff. We would be very happy to see you again at one of our many hotels in the future. Until then we wish you and your friends all the best.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We, my husband his cousin and wife arrived very late around 0100hrs on the night of 27th september. Food was available including a hot soup and salads. We were taken by buggy car to our respective bungalows. My sister in law being upgraded to be nearer to our bungalow, without us asking for this priviledge. We found all staff courteous and helpful. The restaurant food was first class, the Chefs in attendance at evening dinner to ask about ingredients etc. The dining room is spacious and well laid out. We enjoyed the variation at breakfast and dinner of food. The entertainment on an wvening wasnt as goid as other years but the Abba night and Lion King night were amazing. The canapes and cocktail night for returning patrins was a nice touch. Gave us a chance to meet with Management. We thoroughly enjoyed our week. Thank you everyone from housekeepers to Chefs for making it a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank caztse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. Our staff will be delighted with your praise, the entire team is not only particularly hospitable but is also given continuous training in terms of service and general working practice.

Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews