We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
26
11
2
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
11
2
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplit levelfacing the seafirst floorgreat locationbedroomtavernsupermarketbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We loved this quiet hotel! Comfortable beds, very kind staff and a restaurant next door that was nice. We were here in April, and after the craziness of Rome this felt like such a tranquil break! There is a fun little hike nearby to a lighthouse, and the beach next to the hotel is good for a quick jump in the Mediterranean Sea. It’s still a bit chilly in April, but we swam laps out to the bouys and back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank LopezHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Captain’s House sits right on the seafront, facing the sea, flanked by two beaches, one ten minutes walk, the other 30 seconds walk. You can rent a ground floor junior suite, a mezzanine suite or the first floor flat with superb views, total peace and quiet. This flat has full kitchen facilities, three large double bedrooms, two bathrooms, one with bath and shower, the other walk in shower. There is a large dining area and sitting room with tv and music centre. But the jewel in the crown is the large covered terrace overlooking the sea and beaches. This has a large table, chairs, loungers. The sun comes in there about 4 pm, perfect for breakfasts and lunches. But the best time is the drinks watching the sun go down. Just wonderful. In the price, electricity is included for the air conditioning, washing machine etc. Georgia the housekeeper, is there nearly every day, most helpful and efficient, keeping the flats very tidy. This is a very well run faintly organisation, who also run the taverna right outside the front door. What we found, we were only two people renting this large flat, was the peace and quiet, the total absence of discos and music. You definitely get a rest here amid beautiful scenery from this lovely flat. Nothing is too much trouble for Georgia and Maria from advice over trips, taxis etc. A supermarket is only 30 yards away. We stayed ten days and will be back next year, with bookings already in her master diary, from happy regulars who have found, like us, just how wonderful is this house.
M

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank blondie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The Captains House stands almost at the edge of the sea but fairly central to the seaside village of Panormos with it's small harbour, nice beach and great variety of tavernas. Panormos caters to it's tourists but retains much of it's traditional Greek charm with friendly locals and narrow streets. We had a lovely relaxing week staying at the Captains House in one of the split level apartments (room 5) which was very clean and comfortable with maid service most days by the delightful Georgiana. However we were slightly disappointed to find our room did not have it's own balcony or outside space - although there is a shared terrace just outside the room. We did have good views out to sea from the windows in the lounge and bedroom though. The split level aspect of the room would not suit everyone as there are steps from the lounge to the kitchen and stairs up to the bedroom with only a handrail wall side. Overall we enjoyed our week there and can recommend the Captains House for somewhere to stay which is slightly quirky. We have to agree with some travellers though and say it's probably best to use the restaurant for breakfast only!

Room Tip: Room 5 doesn't have it's own balcony or terrace.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Best location available
Stayed for 4 nights
Spacious enough for a 4 person family ( 13yo.16yo)
3 level well organized apartment
Well equipped kitchen
Parking space available
Really fast wifi ()
Very Clean
Totally recommended for families

Stayed: July 2017
Thank manos_nl_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The small apartment is on 3 levels with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and a view of the sea.

The bedroom is on the top floor with a comfortable bed and bedside tables, but we didn't bother to take our luggage up the narrow stairs.

The middle level is a sort of bed-settee opening out to the balcony and sea view. We kept our suitcases here and hence did not sit on the settee! The balcony has a table and chairs which we actually took indoors some of the time as it got cold when the sun went down.

The kitchen and bathroom are down a few more stairs, and a bit dark. The shower was the best we found in Crete, with nice shampoos and body wash. The kitchen was adequate to prepare breakfast but I wouldn't want to cook a full meal. Complimentary fruits and wine were a nice touch.

Two sets of stairs was a bit inconvenient for going to the bathroom during the night!!

As others have said, the restaurant is well located but the food and service disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews