We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaarma Church of Saints Peter and Paul
Save
Review Highlights
great for Christmas

One of the biggest and oldest churces in Saaremaa. In spite estonians are ot religious people, this... read more

Reviewed 16 June 2019
Uku S
,
Saaremaa, Estonia
Magnificent church in the middle of nowhere

Visitors are welcome to this church in the otherwise nondescript village of Kaarma, and it's... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2018
phutty
,
Tallinn, Estonia
Read all 10 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
4
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2019

One of the biggest and oldest churces in Saaremaa. In spite estonians are ot religious people, this place is popular in Christmas time.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Uku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Visitors are welcome to this church in the otherwise nondescript village of Kaarma, and it's certainly worth visiting. An interesting range of 'three-legged-man' souvenirs is sold here, including some lovely glass handicraft ones.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank phutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were very supprised about so huge church in so small vilage! It seems that earlier there lived much more people and it was very rich place :)

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Martins V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We saw a lot of churches on Saaremaa, but this was one of the best. We were surprised, how the churches looked inside.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Marek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Christianity came late to Estonia, so a lot of the earliest churches date only to around the 1200s and contain pagan symbols inside. One of the coolest of these is the Kaarma Kirik. I have actually visited it twice, the first time because on the outside of the church is the oldest written example of the Estonian language. A plaque on the outside wall reads basically "In this year was this church completed. Peter and Paul in the year 1407." I went back to go inside the church to get a picture of one of the largest pentacles I have ever seen, and certainly one of the only ones I have seen in a church!

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank Noostie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews