We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaarma Church of Saints Peter and Paul
Save
Review Highlights
Good stop to walk around the outside even if it is not open

Very large church in small village/farm. Though it was locked up tight it was an interesting stop... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2020
PBTravelstheWorld
,
Lynden, Washington
great for Christmas

One of the biggest and oldest churces in Saaremaa. In spite estonians are ot religious people, this... read more

Reviewed 16 June 2019
Uku S
,
Saaremaa, Estonia
Read all 10 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
4
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were very supprised about so huge church in so small vilage! It seems that earlier there lived much more people and it was very rich place :)

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Martins V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We saw a lot of churches on Saaremaa, but this was one of the best. We were surprised, how the churches looked inside.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Marek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Christianity came late to Estonia, so a lot of the earliest churches date only to around the 1200s and contain pagan symbols inside. One of the coolest of these is the Kaarma Kirik. I have actually visited it twice, the first time because on the outside of the church is the oldest written example of the Estonian language. A plaque on the outside wall reads basically "In this year was this church completed. Peter and Paul in the year 1407." I went back to go inside the church to get a picture of one of the largest pentacles I have ever seen, and certainly one of the only ones I have seen in a church!

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank Noostie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 December 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 December 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews