We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, great conservation project!”

Ebony Forest Reserve
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Chamarel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Imagine one of the last remaining places on Mauritius where majestic black ebony trees stand tall and paradise flycatchers and Mauritius Black Bulbul chase each other through the trees. Once home to the Dodo, Ebony Forest, remains a refuge for threatened native flora and fauna. Visitors will be treated to open-air safari jeep rides, breathtaking views from Sublime Point and mid-canopy walkways. Our Tickets include Safari jeep ride and guided visit as per availability. Our Reserve is on the same way as the Seven Coloured Earth. However it is not necessary to purchase a ticket for both the Seven Coloured Earth and Ebony Forest. It is possible to buy a ticket only for Ebony Forest.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Given full information at the visitor Centre and took a walk through the museum wagon st waiting for the next tour... Took the jeep drive to the raised walkway for the guided tour which was excellent and informative, then continued in the jeep to Sublime Point, as walking was out of the question due to the excessive rains (making it too slippery to walk safely). Fabulous view with the mist on the mountains... Very friendly and helpful staff all along the way. The forest is amazing - so dense! Surprising how far up the mountain you travel. Great couple of hours spent here. Our teenage boys enjoyed it too! Would’ve loved to take the walk to the peak, but the rain just didn’t subside:)

1  Thank Mum23B0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebonyforest, Tourist guide at Ebony Forest Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our reserve despite the rain. Thank you for your review and contribution to the restoration of restoration of our forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sublime point"
in 12 reviews
"raised walkway"
in 7 reviews
"guided tour"
in 9 reviews
"nature lovers"
in 6 reviews
"jeep ride"
in 4 reviews
"conservation work"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic area"
in 3 reviews
"ecology centre"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful walk"
in 2 reviews
"their efforts"
in 2 reviews
"paradise flycatcher"
in 2 reviews
"summit point"
in 2 reviews
"tour visits"
in 2 reviews
"young team"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyed our lunch"
in 2 reviews
"coloured earth"
in 7 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

A definite must for when you visit Mauritius! My morning started off with a fantastic guided tour of the forest. Guide was extremely informative and very nice. An amazing place if you want to see what's left of the island's native flora. Love the conservation work the owners and staff do! The viewpoint is spectacular and probably my favourite in Mauritius. There is also a track which fitter visitors can take to get a higher view of Mauritius. They provide truck rides up and down the forest if you prefer not to walk (which is worth it!) And also have a great informative exhibition on the natural history of the island. A very serene and beautiful place to be.

1  Thank BrandonBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebonyforest, Tour guide at Ebony Forest Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our reserve. Thank you for your review and contribution to the restoration of the forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We were guided through the raised walk by Avie; who was the best guide. His knowledge and passion for the conservation effort being undertaken at Ebony Forest was very heartwarming. I was thoroughly impressed.

After the raised walk we hiked through the forest to the top of the mountain. The views were astounding.
Come with comfy light clothing and bring your hiking shoes.

1  Thank Tiaan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebonyforest, Tourist guide at Ebony Forest Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our reserve. Thank you for your review and contribution to the restoration of our forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Visited as part of a trip to the south of Mauritius. Beautiful natural landscape with stunning scenery and great to see Ebony trees where they belong....growing in a forest. Don't miss this lovely area as part of your next visit.

2  Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebonyforest, Tourist guide at Ebony Forest Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our reserve. Thank you for your review and contribution to the restoration of our forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

What can I say. Do not leave Mauritius without paying a visit to the Ebony forest. A sanctuary for indigenous plants and rare birds. Thank you Owen for sharing this magnificent experience. Enjoyed the walk, and the mesmerising view of the west coast.

1  Thank Safinaz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebonyforest, Tourist guide at Ebony Forest Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our reserve. Thank you for the review and contribution to the restoration of our forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebony Forest Reserve also viewed

 
Bel Ombre, Savanne District
Chamarel, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Ebony Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing