We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation for a special vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We visited Rarotonga as part of a 25th anniversary vacation (also spent time on Aitutaki). We stayed in the "non-beachfront" villa, which still has a peek of the sea through a short private walkway to the beach. The villa has its own private garden with waterfall swimming pool and patio with dining table and loungers. Inside, the accommodation is clean, bright and spacious with two ensuite bedrooms, a living room and fully equipped kitchen with washing machine. The decor is modern and inviting, with travertine floors and nice bathrooms with large indoor/outdoor shower. You choose your breakfast from a range of options, and it is delivered to your villa. Muri beach is the archetypal tropical beach with blue sky, turquoise waters and white sand fringed with coconut palms. We enjoyed long walks on the beach, and were able to rent a small sailboat to zip about the lagoon (watch out for coral). Lots of nice restaurants nearby: We enjoyed Nautilus, Sails and a little further away, Vaima. Try the Ika Mata (tropical ceviche). Also recommended: the night market just down the road for great food at reasonable prices. Owners Andrew and Belinda were very helpful, finding us a good deal on a rental car, although we had to wait a day because cars were in short supply as someone had backed one into a coconut palm (note: don't park under a coconut tree).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debij58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Rarotonga was wonderful, but our stay at at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa was what made it perfect. Manager/Owner(s) Belinda and Andrew took great care of us, not to mention that they are both very kind and knowledgeable, The staff is friendly and accommodating. The property is just lovely, situated in a great spot on Muri Beach. Villa has an open floor plan, private pool in the front yard, beach front with kayaks ready to go in the "back yard". Bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen all well appointed. Clean. Quiet. Comfortable beds. Beautiful view. Easy and pretty walk down the beach to restaurants and bars. Spa is calming and and masseuses were great. Cannot wait to go back! Thank you Belinda and Andrew, we won't forget you!

Room Tip: No bad room at the accommodation, they're all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheWhitakersinHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

A truly magical and private place with own access to lagoon. Villas are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Close to restaurants and activities. Belinda and Andrew make you feel at home and offer great dinner and activity options. Nothing was too much trouble from booking trips to hiring a bike. Welcome basket a lovely touch, thank you. Breakfast is provided each morning and it was always fresh and tasty. Now addicted to paw paw!! We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnitaandAinslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Love, love, loved it! These villa's are beyond stunning. Belinda & Andrew are such lovely people, and will go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay with them. The villa's are private, with stunning views and in walking distance to a lot of great restaurants and bars. Breakfast is delivered to your door, you can cook at leisure. The spa there is also so beautiful, and offer a great service and pretty reasonable prices. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinmolinaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Just loved our villa - couldn't fault it for amenities or comfort. Very spacious for us and our 2 teenagers. ( our daughter got the 2nd bedroom and our son slept on the day bed in the living room which was totally comfortable )
Biggest bonus was the totally secluded private pool area which was very sheltered for when the beach was too windy.
Breakfasts were amazing and generous - nice to be able to cook your own at your leisure. Our villa was beach front and in a lovely part of the beach, with easy walking to lots of restaurants. Hosts Belinda and Andrew were very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend the whole experience of Rumours.

Room Tip: Beach front on the main site. Some villas are located at the spa site which is not so handy to resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robal2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.1 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.7 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.3 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
1.3 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range: €505 - €1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has a private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Our premium Villa also has it's own media room with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds, all villas have two bathrooms. Rumours guests also enjoy a 20% in house discount on treatments at our Waterfall Day Spa, which has won many World Travel Awards and Luxury Spa awards each year since 2011 to date. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing