We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muri Beach Hideaway
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay in the hillside apartment, if you are a family looking for sensible affordable accommodation then this is pretty good it has everything you need. Vina is so nice and really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. Overall I would recommend. Thanks vina

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa_Damon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

If you are staying in the Muri area, this is a good place to stay! There are two cafes within very short walking distance, and other eateries just a little further. The night market (Seems to be food only) runs on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday nights and is pretty nice. Vina is very nice and accommodating, but there were a few things that turned us off. First off, our room was ready when our flight arrived (7:00 A.M. arrival from Los Angeles) but she wanted us to pay a $50 early check-in fee, which we declined. Second, the recommended transport (Tiare Transport) is very, very overpriced at $20 per person and if we would have known better, we would have taken the Cook's Island Bus and just awaited pickup outside the airport near Main Road. She did provide milk, juice, and a large water, which was helpful since goods in the nearby market were pretty expensive. If we had to do it all over again, we would have stayed in Aitutaki. Aitutaki is absolutely heaven on earth! Their lagoon is in wonderful shape, and the Muri lagoon is in pretty rough shape with the algae. There are sea cucumbers everywhere and the beach area needed to be swept every day because of the bad algae bloom. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, you can stay on Aitutaki for a better rate and enjoy more of a serene atmosphere. The roosters and dogs will wake you up every day. We brought earplugs along, and they didn't seem to help much. However, as other people have stated, this is part of the island experience and doesn't take away from the overall experience too much. Again though, Aitutaki one-ups this, as there are zero dogs allowed on the island of Aitutaki, as we learned on the Aitutaki Day Tour.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tsessions2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuriBeachHideaway, Owner at Muri Beach Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Kia Orana Tyler!
Again my congratulations to both yourself and Kate on your marriage.
Many thanks for your review as it is very important to our growth as an 100% locally owned and operated accommodation. Please note an early check-in will normally cost NZ$120.00 as per policy. This option is entirely your decision to accept this or wait until the standard check-in time of 2.00pm - this is a normal procedure at all accommodation.
I am so glad you enjoyed your Aitutaki holiday as not everyone has been able to visit this beautiful island and stunning lagoon with lovely friendly people and your wonderful endorsement confirms this.
Henry Hoff (Tiare Transport) and his team of drivers are just one of a few reliable transfer companies that ensure our passengers arrive safely to their accommodation and their rates are pretty much
the normal price on the island. They also know the key location and individual unit location (very handy for horrible late night/early morning arrivals) which is important as our office is not open for these flights.
While an island experience includes the normal rooster crowing and dogs barking I totally agree with you that they can go 'overboard' in their efforts to be heard. As much as we have 'relocated' chickens and chased stray dogs (who actually have owners) from our property in the past and
even now, we unfortunately have no control of the noise concern they pose surrounding around our location. Many of our houseguests tend to feed the dogs, hens and their chicks during their stay with us (with only good intentions) which in turn influences these friendly but loud animals to revisit our area.
Our Muri Beach Lagoon is indeed recovering from an algae bloom which has thankfully has not deterred the high number of visiting holiday makers from exploring not only the lovely small motu (islands) bordering Muri Beach Lagoon but a little further south (approximately 5 - 10 minute drive) at the very popular Fruits of Rarotonga snorkeling area. Local residents and various environmental organizations on the island have been working hard to rectify this concern while preserving the existing marine life presence. This also includes Hoteliers and accommodators along this popular coastline. We hope to have a permanent solution in the near future. The local newspaper website provided to you prior to your arrival
will keep you up to date on any progress.
Hopefully your flight home went smoothly,without incident and you are both settled back into the swing of things.
Once again your review is very much appreciated and it was lovely to have met you both during such a special time in your lives!
Kia Manuia!
Vina Macfarlane



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the beachfront bungalow for about a week while on our first visit to the Cook Islands. The bungalow was amazing and the proximity to restaurants and a small shop was great. It also had a little kitchen and the fridge was stocked up with the basics on arrival which was really nice.
We especially enjoyed the view of the lagoon and the kayaks that you could use for free. The bungalow was also kept super clean by the staff.

A special thanks to Vina for her hospitality during our stay!

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a self-catering accomodation with a great location.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anniina_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed two nights at Muri Beach Hideway.
We had a villa just set back from Muri beach, opposite the pool, in a beautiful garden setting. And, as indicated, it is hidden away. The view over the fence is not great but can be ignored.
The villa was spacious, good lay out with its own kitchenette. The king size bed was comfortable, just right.
Another upside is its location. Everything is within walking distance of the villas; cafes, bars, restaurants and shops. LBV, across the road, does great coffee and breakfast.
The host, Veena, is fantastic. She really made the stay memorable.
Why not 5 stars. Simple and luxurious don't go together. Something is either simple or luxurious.
Muri Beach Hideway is trying to be luxurious and goes some way but the villas are somewhat simple.
Would I stay again? Absolutely.
P.S. if you are a light sleeper, bring your ear plugs to Raratonga. The roosters are up and away from 4 am in the morning.


Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ieme d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and found it exactly to be what it said it was. Offered free snorkelling and kayaking stuff, free mil and fruit on arrival. Vina was lovely and her whole family including the cat and dog were so friendly! Looks out onto muri beach and has a lovely little pool. Recommend it highly if you are staying in muri. The only pitfall i found(which has nothing to do with the accommodation) was that muri beach is a really unpleasant beach as it is covered in algae and u can't swim there so we used drive down to another beach,p. But this shouldn't stop u staying there! Thanks vina for a lovely holiday.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EmmaNyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
5.7 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
0.5 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.8 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
525 reviews
0.3 km away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
0.4 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Hideaway

Address: PO Box 3092, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: €187 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple yet luxurious accommodation in the Cook Islands, our traditional Polynesian Style Bungalows are set on one of Rarotonga's most beautiful beaches Muri Beach. With soft white sand and magnificent views of Muri Lagoon we offer everything that traveller’s hope for in a tropical escape to the Cook Islands: views of the morning sun above, and the finest restaurants and experiences in Rarotonga right at your doorstep. This little retreat known as the Hideaway, is truly hidden away and a place to kick back and relax while you indulge yourself in Cook Islands culture. Spoil yourself with a swim in the outdoor swimming pool, take a stroll along Muri beach, stretch out on your patio and inhale the scents of your garden’s tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hideaway Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Hideaway Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing