We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

2nd time at this divine place. The staff are just as friendly as they were 3 1/2 years ago. We stayed in a seaview unit. It was clean and tidy and the view from your veranda looked out to Muri Beach. I would not hesitate to choose this place again. It is close Lagoon tours, restaurants and other resorts. Rental companies for Scooters or cars within walking distance. Cafes and restaurants within walking distance as well and for a quick easy meal it is right next door to the Muri Market where you can get a meal 4x a week at around $15.00 a meal. Kayaks, paddle boards and snorkeling gear all supplied.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room for views looking out to Muri Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at the Beachcomber and it was grand. The staff are all amazing and went out of their way to accomodate us. Great amenities, loved the pool and the snorkeling. Roosters drove us nuts but that's a Raro thing. The Beachcomber is in a fab location right next to the night markets and opposite the best burger place in Raro. We're just about to book for another trip next year and we'll definitely be staying at the Beachcomber.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wellybint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

It's hard to review Muri Beachcomber as there are mixed blessings. Its a great central spot for a number of activities and the ladies managing the place could not have been more helpful. The 'bungalows' themselves are adequate but tired. If you're used to flash hotels this isn't the place for you. Our sea view room was not quite what I was expecting with an expanse of lawn and other rooms more our view. The pool was not near the beach and very small. However, the services were great. Having stayed in other places in Rarotonga it we loved being able to take paddle boards, kayaks, reef shoes and snorkel gear without a time limit and having to sign for them. A huge plus in our books. Theres a lovely kind of deck overlooking the narrow beach and outer islands which I was so looking forward to sitting there with a wine in the evenings HOWEVER BEWARE THE TRADEWINDS!!!! We were there in July and, having since googled it, I believe they blow from about May to October. We couldn't even sit outside out room it was so windy, usually picking up more in the afternoon. Actually lying in the sun on the beach was a no no, far too cold. If you, however, kayaked over to the island where the tour boats stop, it was like a different climate. No wind at all and really hot! This we did every afternoon! But with no amenities over there it wasn't ideal to stay for long. The best snorkelling at Muri was around the other smaller island, we didn't find it as good as further along towards the Rarotonga AND watching every step to make sure you didn't stand, and squash, on one of the disgusting sea slugs (cucumbers?) made it all a bit unpleasant for me! Definitely don't try without reef shoes!
All in all we enjoyed our stay but definitely wouldn't stay again during the Tradewinds!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Muri Beachcomber is lovely. You can't beat the location, right in the middle of Muri Beach, next to the night market and shops and cafes, and adjacent to the stunning Muri Lagoon.
The staff are lovely and were so helpful to us when our flight was cancelled in the middle of the night - they let me use their office computer and phone to sort it all out which they didn't have to do.
We had the big apartment above the office which is great for a family. I would just say though that it's pretty noisy with the market and the road so if you have children that are light sleepers maybe go for one of the garden rooms.
The pool was over the heads of our kids which was a bit disappointing. Muri Beachcomber provides free life-jackets which was great but it just meant that we couldn't relax fully when the kids were in the pool. Our kids are 5 and 7 and pretty confident in the water but I would say that the pool is not suitable for younger children or children who aren't good swimmers.
My only other criticism is the WIFI is pretty bad and very expensive. But that's Rarotonga and if you are looking for a holiday where you can access your WIFI all the time then you are going to the wrong place. We love being offline for a week or so!
Oh, also the chickens/roosters are bloody noisy (and crow at all hours), but again that's Rarotonga and no criticism of Beachcomber. If you can't sleep through roosters crowing then take some earplugs!
The beach at Muri is beautiful, and Muri Beachcomber provide good quality snorkelling gear, kayaks, and SUP boards.
We LOVE Muri Beachcomber and Rarotonga and will be back next year!

Room Tip: Garden rooms round by the pond are quietest. Poolside rooms for the kids to use the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank monicat330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed four nights at Muri Beachcomber as part of a ten day trip to the Cook Islands and we loved our stay. The management clearly have spent sometime working to understand their guests needs and we felt they had tried to think of everything that would make our stay as perfect as possible. Location is fantastic - located at the heart of Muri Lagoon and all its attractions including Capt Tama's and Koka lagoon tours and the Muri night markets and many other Muri-based attractions. The rooms are comfortable in great condition and feature wonderful extras like your own new Weber barbecues, patio dining suite and sun loungers. The deck situated at the end of a smooth lawn from your unit's front door is brilliant! It features bean bags, 6 seater outdoor dining suites, swing hammocks and the most spectacular views across Muri lagoon - we watched humpback whales jumping on the other side of the reef on our last evening! I'd totally recommend you to consider Muri Beachcomber for future accommodation - you certainly won't regret it!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank BBercic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
6.2 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
0.2 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.3 km away
Muri Beach Resort
Muri Beach Resort
#5 of 17 in Muri
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: €166 - €263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing