We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
399
136
35
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
136
35
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaview unitnight marketpaddle boardsright next doorwatergarden villaguest loungebus stop rightwhite breadwater gardenmuri beachcook islandsbreakfast providedfood marketoffice staffsnorkel gearpush bikesbreakfast pack
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at the Beachcomber and it was grand. The staff are all amazing and went out of their way to accomodate us. Great amenities, loved the pool and the snorkeling. Roosters drove us nuts but that's a Raro thing. The Beachcomber is in a fab location right next to the night markets and opposite the best burger place in Raro. We're just about to book for another trip next year and we'll definitely be staying at the Beachcomber.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wellybint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

It's hard to review Muri Beachcomber as there are mixed blessings. Its a great central spot for a number of activities and the ladies managing the place could not have been more helpful. The 'bungalows' themselves are adequate but tired. If you're used to flash hotels this isn't the place for you. Our sea view room was not quite what I was expecting with an expanse of lawn and other rooms more our view. The pool was not near the beach and very small. However, the services were great. Having stayed in other places in Rarotonga it we loved being able to take paddle boards, kayaks, reef shoes and snorkel gear without a time limit and having to sign for them. A huge plus in our books. Theres a lovely kind of deck overlooking the narrow beach and outer islands which I was so looking forward to sitting there with a wine in the evenings HOWEVER BEWARE THE TRADEWINDS!!!! We were there in July and, having since googled it, I believe they blow from about May to October. We couldn't even sit outside out room it was so windy, usually picking up more in the afternoon. Actually lying in the sun on the beach was a no no, far too cold. If you, however, kayaked over to the island where the tour boats stop, it was like a different climate. No wind at all and really hot! This we did every afternoon! But with no amenities over there it wasn't ideal to stay for long. The best snorkelling at Muri was around the other smaller island, we didn't find it as good as further along towards the Rarotonga AND watching every step to make sure you didn't stand, and squash, on one of the disgusting sea slugs (cucumbers?) made it all a bit unpleasant for me! Definitely don't try without reef shoes!
All in all we enjoyed our stay but definitely wouldn't stay again during the Tradewinds!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Muri Beachcomber is lovely. You can't beat the location, right in the middle of Muri Beach, next to the night market and shops and cafes, and adjacent to the stunning Muri Lagoon.
The staff are lovely and were so helpful to us when our flight was cancelled in the middle of the night - they let me use their office computer and phone to sort it all out which they didn't have to do.
We had the big apartment above the office which is great for a family. I would just say though that it's pretty noisy with the market and the road so if you have children that are light sleepers maybe go for one of the garden rooms.
The pool was over the heads of our kids which was a bit disappointing. Muri Beachcomber provides free life-jackets which was great but it just meant that we couldn't relax fully when the kids were in the pool. Our kids are 5 and 7 and pretty confident in the water but I would say that the pool is not suitable for younger children or children who aren't good swimmers.
My only other criticism is the WIFI is pretty bad and very expensive. But that's Rarotonga and if you are looking for a holiday where you can access your WIFI all the time then you are going to the wrong place. We love being offline for a week or so!
Oh, also the chickens/roosters are bloody noisy (and crow at all hours), but again that's Rarotonga and no criticism of Beachcomber. If you can't sleep through roosters crowing then take some earplugs!
The beach at Muri is beautiful, and Muri Beachcomber provide good quality snorkelling gear, kayaks, and SUP boards.
We LOVE Muri Beachcomber and Rarotonga and will be back next year!

Room Tip: Garden rooms round by the pond are quietest. Poolside rooms for the kids to use the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank monicat330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed four nights at Muri Beachcomber as part of a ten day trip to the Cook Islands and we loved our stay. The management clearly have spent sometime working to understand their guests needs and we felt they had tried to think of everything that would make our stay as perfect as possible. Location is fantastic - located at the heart of Muri Lagoon and all its attractions including Capt Tama's and Koka lagoon tours and the Muri night markets and many other Muri-based attractions. The rooms are comfortable in great condition and feature wonderful extras like your own new Weber barbecues, patio dining suite and sun loungers. The deck situated at the end of a smooth lawn from your unit's front door is brilliant! It features bean bags, 6 seater outdoor dining suites, swing hammocks and the most spectacular views across Muri lagoon - we watched humpback whales jumping on the other side of the reef on our last evening! I'd totally recommend you to consider Muri Beachcomber for future accommodation - you certainly won't regret it!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank BBercic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A great place for 'R n R', both in location and amenities to stay, along with fabulous staff across all tiers who go the extra mile to make your holiday, one to remember. We have stayed in other holiday spots at Muri, however we have been to Beachcomber twice now and going forward, that is where we will stay again and again. It really is the place to stay in Muri. Dont take our word for it though, book and experience it for yourself, you will not be disappointed. :):)

The Fowlers

Room Tip: Garden units are more private than the seafront units of a seaview is not important to you.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fowlerchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews