We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret on Raro!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aito Apartments Muri
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We arrived at Aito Apartments an exhausted and bedraggled family of four after travelling for 8 months non-stop on a round-the-world ticket. Jean-Marc and Mere welcomed us with a completely spotless apartment, which had food in the fridge, was brilliantly equipped, and even has it's own washing machine! So you can wash clothes while you are there and I know that will be a huge bonus for many people staying there- especially with kids.

There is a fabulous terrace front and back which is covered so even when it rains you can relax outside. It is also just a very short walk to the most beautiful Muri Beach, literally across the road. And this is a real advantage because the trade winds can be strong and chilly, if you are on the beachfront it can be very blowy, but just slightly back in Aito Apartments and you just get a gentle breeze and all the hot sunshine. Glorious.

Jean-Marc and Mere also have a stall at the night market in Muri which sells delicious food, and which kept us well nourished for our entire stay there. They are a wonderfully kind and hospitable family and offer a fabulous home while you are in Raro at a very reasonable price.

Jean-Marc and Mere are incredibly generous with their time, and I am certain that the limited number of reviews on this website is purely because no one wants word of this place getting out! They have a visitors book full of accolades from a huge number of guests, and most guests return year after year after year; and they want to keep this secret to themselves so they can get a booking!

Jean-Marc and Mere have a wonderful family, and deserve all the accolades they get for this wonderful apartment and wonderful hospitality. It is by far the best place we have stayed in on our entire travels. Our friends recommended it and it surpassed our high expectations after the fantastic things we had heard about it. We stayed a month and would have stayed longer if we had been able! Thank you Jean-Marc and Mere, the kids and Pete and I miss you!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ragle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2015

We came to Rarotonga in search of peace and rest after 5-months solid travelling and we found it all here with Mere and Jean-Marc. They made our stay here so easy and relaxed that it felt more like staying with good friends. By the time you leave you will fully understand the meaning of Cook Island generosity and hospitality. The apartments are very well fitted out, spacious, immaculate, lovely big walk-in shower, terrace front and back, comfortable bed with soft linen. It all worked. The beach is a short hop across the road and good snorkelling (one of the best spots on the island) a mere 5-minute walk. Muri is 10-minutes walk away and it is better to be a bit away from it as it is quieter. We were very sorry to leave and felt truly rested and very spoilt - they are both very good cooks. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Both are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BristolCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Fantastic apartment to stay in while in Rarotonga. The place has been set up for you when you arrive and you can relax instantly. It is clean, spacious and your hosts Jean Marc and Mere have made sure you fit right at home by providing you with breakfast in the fridge.

The bathroom and bedroom was luxurious and the living room has comfortable furniture for you to lay around. We are very glad we chose this place and can see why every other review is a 5 star. A big thank you to Jean Marc and his wife for having us as their guests for dinner the Sunday Night Market! We were not very impressed with the food in Rarotonga after arriving from Aitutaki BUT once we ate their food...WOW! That was one of the best fish curry and rice we have had. :)

Go and stay here at Aito Apartments when you are here in Rarotonga, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Excellent immaculately clean apartment.There are two identical apartments side by side on the ground floor with the owners living upstairs.Jean-Marc is a very friendly and helpful host.Unfortunately his wife Mere was away and was due back on the same day we left so we didn't get to meet her.The apartment is fully equipped and comfortable.The round the island bus goes past the front door clockwise and anticlockwise. 5 NZD per trip or a book of 10 trips for 30 NZD.Buy both options in cash from the driver.Highly recommend the apartments.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 501PEDRO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We picked this place based on its high TA ranking and weren't disappointed at all. If we visit Raro again we'll stay here without fail.

Aito has everything going for it. The apartment is very spacious. There's a good size bedroom and bathroom and a kitchen / dining room / lounge area where our kids also slept. Maybe a slight drawback if you're traveling with a family and want your own living room, but it wasn't a big deal for us.

Secondly, although it's on the "wrong" side of the road, the apartment is still no more than 90 seconds from the beach. It would take just as long to get there from some of the beach side hotel rooms. Unless actually being able to open your doors onto the sand matters a lot to you, it makes no difference (except in price - see below). Worth mentioning as well that the beach is a pretty nice one too. And it's essentially all yours...

Thirdly, the location is great. We'd strongly recommend hiring a car for your stay so you can buzz around the island. But it's still not too much hassle to walk to either Muri Lagoon or Fruits of Rarotonga / Titikaveka from Aito which means it's ideal for anyone without transport. As long as you're prepared to do a bit of walking you could stroll to a different restaurant every evening from Aito.

Fourthly, your hosts Jean-Marc and Mere are charming. They'll let you get on with things by yourself or engage more actively if you prefer. Jean-Marc has a stall at the Muri night market where he kindly invited us to have our dinner one night: a nice, personal touch.

And finally, Aito is great vfm. You're getting more space, more privacy and more convenience than in one of the big hotels. You're just as close to the beach and, though you don't have a pool, you've got the Pacific Ocean on your doorstep. You've got the option of eating in or easily eating out because of Aito's location. And you're probably paying 200 bucks less per night than you would in one of the hotels (before you add a beachside premium). Seems like a no-brainier to us...

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monkey-and-Sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muri hotels
0 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0 km away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
0 km away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aito Apartments Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aito Apartments Muri

Address: Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: €71 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AITO offers 2 Spacious Modern Deluxe self-contained 1 bedroom with ensuite apartments for your enjoyment.Located on the ground floor with ramp access.Fully equipped kitchen with an outdoor BBQ, laundry area with washing machine & cloths line, ceiling fans in bedroom&lounge;, fully screened windows, Solar hot water.Broadban access can be bought from nearby Resorts.Only a pace away from the Beach & pristine Lagoon.The local round-the-island bus service is right at your front gate.Rental cars/bikes, internet Cafes, Restaurants, Hotel&Resorts;, Boat&Safari Tours, Aquatic facilities, Sailing club and the best snorkelling spot is within a walking distance.Relax & unwind in this beautiful family home with the breeze from the Pacific Ocean.Suitable for 1-3 persons per apartment.Your host Mere&Jean-Marc, live on the top floor and will be happy to welcome and assist you.Minimum Stay: 3 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aito Apartments Muri Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing