We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in lovely location ”
Review of Hotel Sipan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sipan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sipanska Luka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June 2017. We loved the location of this hotel in sipanska luka, the bay is gorgeous and we enjoyed watching the comings and goings of all the boats. Our room was a good size and had a nice view over the bay. The decor was basic and the bed was 2 singles pushed together which is a pet hate of mine! They weren't attached in any way so we would end up with quite a big gap between them. Although the general cleanliness was good, the housekeeping was basic. The bedsheets were not changed all week and neither were the water glasses despite it being clear we had used them. The hotel does not have irons that can be borrowed, you have to pay to get individual items ironed. However, these issues were not a big deal. All the staff were lovely and helpful and the food at breakfast and dinner was good. As a vegetarian the eating options in the village were quite limited (though the pizza restaurant was great and very good value.) the hotel did have a number of veggie options on the dinner menu which meant we ate there 3 out of the 7 nights. There was a good outside seating area which had parasols for shade, we enjoyed sitting there in the afternoons and reading. Overall this was a great value hotel in a beautiful location and we would return. We travelled with jet 2 and the service from them was great with the transfers proving to be hassle free. We did a day trip to dubrovnik, as a tip I would say try to go on a day when there are no big cruise ships in the harbour. We made that mistake and it was very busy. We still enjoyed it though and the ferries across were really good value.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GemmaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We thought this was going to be a great hotel in a beautiful location, but it was even better than imagined. The Sipan sits at the end of a bay with an outdoor restaurant looking across a bay to distant islands and mountains. The staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast superb with lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, salad, bread and pastries - lots of choice for vegetarians, cooked items are mostly meat although there is scrambled egg. We had dinner at Sipan one night, a vegan risotto which was very good. Ate mostly at the pizza cafe where the pizzas, salads and vegetables are delicious and the girls lovely. Sipanska Luca is a stunning bay to wander around, with lots of old buildings and trees for shade, and a great island for walking although hilly so we didn't hire bikes. As other reviewers say, being transported there by speedboat is amazing! It's easy and cheap to island-hop or go to Dubrovnik on local ferries and there are trips organised by the hotel. Our room (immaculately clean) didn't have a view but it didn't matter with what you see every time you leave the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Buteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I reviewed this hotel on 9th July last year, after one night's stay. I do so again after six nights' stay. Everything I said before holds good.

We stayed on the top floor in room 304 which has glorious views over the village and the church. Every morning we heard the church bells and other village activity. A walk out of the hotel's front door, and the still waters of the sea are visible, enclosed by mountain views.

The buffet breakfast is abundant, sightly short of excellent, but very good nevertheless. You can easily carry your selection outdoors or eat inside. We were usually down first thing, at seven o'clock and spent a relaxing hour over breakfast and coffee.

The hotel is simply-built and blends with the village architecture and style. The interior is elegant and appealing in its tasteful simplicity and colours. The beds are firm and everything is clean and well-painted. The en suite toilet and showers are kept immaculately by the staff.

You can travel to and from the hotel on Jadrolinija's ferry service to Suđurađ, with connecting bus, or direct to Sipanska Luka by G&V Line. When arriving and departing, I think the hotel will also arrange, for a fee, a private transfer if necessary to and from the airport.

WiFi is excellent, but not on the top floor where the signal is a little weak. However I usually accessed the Internet on my phone in the lounge-reading room, just off the entrance hall. I was very happy with this.

Room Tip: Top floor for the view, but a lower floor for wifi. Some top floor rooms have limited headroom in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John987053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

What can I say, well luxury begins straight away, as we were greeted with our taxi from the airport, we were driven to a small little marina with crystal clear blue waters, then taken across to Sipan it took 15 mins to get to Sipan, then a 4 min taxi ride to the hotel where you wind down small roads into the Sipanska bay, the hotel is the forefront and star of the show looking straight out onto the water.

At every moment the staff and ready and willing to help and make your stay fantastic, we were even treated to an upgrade, we stayed in a suite on the corner of the hotel with our own balcony looking onto the water, spectacular is an understatement.

The room was great, simple very clean and suited perfectly. We chose to stay half board so we could be free to have the choice of visiting the other restaurants but at least have the back up of hotel, the food was great and the staff even better, keen to talk to you and help, don't be afraid to try speaking Croatian but the staff speak great English so don't worry.

On a day to day basis there's not much to do apart from laze around or explore the island and all its little secrets, we chose to find our only little jetty's to jump into the ocean and swim with the fish's, beware though there are urchen so maybe take some water shoes, but there are spaces to get in without them.

We realised we had gone before the start of the season but there were still restaurants to visit and still trips available.

We went to Dubrovnik during the week as we had been advised to avoid the cruise ships that arrive at the weeknd, so we got a catamaran from the bay to dubrovnik for 25 kuna each way, and then a bus to the old town for the same price, what a bargain. You leave early from Sipanska at 7am and come back from Dubrovnik at 2.30pm which means you beat the crowd and this is just the right amount of time to explore and return to your quiet paradise.

I can't wait to revisit and hopefully use it as a hub to visit the other islands.

There are so many good things to say about this holiday but I'm not the best at writing as i do that with my photos instead.

This is a holiday for really relaxing and doing not much of anything, and for me it was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danrcarter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived on Sunday afternoon, impressed with hotel, location is excellent, in prime position in the harbour. Room was very clean, on the 3rd floor overlooking the church. You don't have to get a seaview.

For Breakfast there is an abundance of fruit, cereal, cheese pies, juice & coffee. Can't fault the hotel for breakfast.

There are local cats coming in to greed off you.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipanska Luka
4.7 km away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
433 reviews
7.6 km away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
7 km away
Admiral Grand Hotel
Admiral Grand Hotel
#1 of 3 in Slano
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
17.8 km away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
613 reviews
3.8 km away
Villa Ratac
Villa Ratac
#3 of 3 in Slano
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sipan

Address: Luka 160, Sipanska Luka 20223, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Elafiti Islands > Sipan > Sipanska Luka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sipanska Luka
Price Range: €44 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sipan 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the north side on the island Šipan in the very South of Croatia, a district of Dubrovnik and is only 9 sea miles off the mainland. This charming 75 room hotel is situated on the waterfront in Sipanska Luka Bay typically known as a “Riva” providing guests with “picture postcard” views of the bay and the visiting luxury yachts that anchor in front of the hotel.. Known for its charm as a fishing village, the bay also provides one of the best sandy beach locations in the Elafiti Islands and with a west facing perspective provides dramatic sunsets over the Elafiti Islands.Šipan is an experience hard to find anywhere else in the Mediterranean, a place for true originality and romance, an experience of the real Croatia, unspoiled by mass-tourism and its consequences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sipan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipan Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing