We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Room and Onsen-bath with a Fuji-san view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort
Certificate of Excellence
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Room and Onsen-bath with a Fuji-san view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights. We chose one of the very nice rooms on the top floor at the center of the main building. This way we were able to enjoy the fantastic view the hotel has overlooking Lake Kawaguchi and Mt.Fuji in the background.
We opted to splurge and treat ourselves to the dinners that are offered by the hotel at an extra cost. We were not disappointed. A true feast is what we were presented with. Delicacies perfectly prepared and a true visual delight. It was the first time we had horse-meat and lobster sashimi, and the best sea urchin we have ever tried. I am sure even Japanese diners were impressed.
The breakfasts were also very well presented and encompassed both Western and Japanese choices. Considering the prices in Japan, we did not feel that the Yen 14,850 / person was over the top for what was offered.
Fantastic location for exploring the Fuji Lakes and the mountain itself.
Not to forget the wonderful indoor and outdoor segregated baths. I think men get the better deal, as ours is on the upper level and our view of lake and mountain is not obscured by the trees.
A treat for anyone really enjoying a Japanese hotel. I must however mention, that this is not a traditional old fashioned hotel. So, if that is what you are searching for, this is not the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albatross199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    61
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
50
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sayama, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

A Sunnide Resort Cabin is actually pretty good value for money, if you're traveling in a group. However, there are some groups that could take better advantage of their services than others.

The Resort is well out of town, which makes dining options thin on the ground, and the Resort's own restaurant menu is not particularly exciting. The resort does offer the opportunity to rent kitchen appliances for a modest fee, but for a one-night stay, that price was exorbitant. There are buses to take you to more populated areas, but they stop pretty early in the evening, so after dinner, you'll probably have to take a Taxi home. The resort does have a restaurant, but their options weren't particularly exciting.

The cabin itself (A-2) was clean but dated, and Japenese style, which will deter some (western) travelers (who don't know where to find the futon closet). However, it was private, cosy and comfortable, once we'd settled in.

The resort has a decently-appointed private bathhouse (onsen) with beautiful views of Mt. Fuji. In fact, our cabin had brilliant views across the lake as well, definitely one of the highlights of our stay.

There was also a breakfast buffet which was great value for money, possibly the best I've seen in Japan so far.

The main downside of the Sunnide Resort Cabins is that they're not really geared toward a one-night stay. The travelers who would really enjoy the Cabins would be those with access to a car or other sorts of personal transportation. (We noticed too late that the hotel rented out bikes.) Also, families with children, or groups of people traveling together, planning to stay a few days, perhaps bringing some of their own supplies. View the Sunnide Resort Cabins as a traditional summer cabin, and you'll have a brilliant time.

However, my group, as backpackers, and one-night guests, did get decent value for money, but we also had to rent the bath towels from the hotel (300 yen apiece) and pay for both the breakfast and the bathhouse. And while the breakfast and the bathhouse were always on the fiscal plan for the trip, I, as a resident of Japan, was more than a little taken aback by the towel rent.

In short: Sunnide Resort Cabins would be much improved if they stopped charging for every little thing, but they're still great value for money, particularly if you're a family group, planning to stay a few days, and particularly if you'll cook for yourselves.

Staff speak limited English, but they do have the hotel literature translated, which helps.

They do offer pickup from Kawaguchiko station, and they provide a bus back for guests in the morning.

Room Tip: I would mostly recommend the cabins to people planning a longer-term stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We booked this hotel on some Japanese friends' recommendation. Generally the hotel was excellent, we had a huge Japanese style room overlooking Mount Fuji and the lake - on the clear day the view was stunning. I specifically chose a mountain view room, although it was not cheap via Japanican.com. The room was very clean and well presented with the beds made while we were at dinner (we booked full board). The futons were not overly comfortable (compared to ones we slept on at our friends apartment in Tokyo not helped by the tail end of jetlag). The onsen was a great revival though. We liked the dinner on the first night - great range and number of courses and would thoroughly recommend it for one night. It was disappointing to have a very similar dinner on the second night though. Breakfasts were great. Our main gripe was departure - the hotel transfer was not available until after 10, we got duff information about a public bus from the reception and ended up shelling out a couple of thousand yen for a cab. Overall a great hotel but overpriced for what was on offer!

Room Tip: Use the tourist bus for getting around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundall, Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

This hotel was cheap and rated well, worth the try. But don't kid yourself, you get a cheap room, dirty stained carpets, dust, flies in the light shade, eccentric bathroom. And off to the side out of the way without a view of Fuji. Beds are small and the ciggy smoke permeating from the hallway was dreadful. We rated to room 2 and a half out of 5. Quite poor really. The resteraunt food was fine, except they placed us in kiddy corner well away from real Japanese couples, very patronizing we think, keep the foreigners out of sight!
Otherwise, the location is quite nice, great autumn colors and great view of Fuji, from the car park. Would only go there if you needed to save money on accom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in May - Fabulous.

We had a room at the side of the hotel, so no view of the mountain, but the weather was dreadful anyway, so that didn't worry us. We had a problem with the air conditioning not working, so we were moved to another room with apologies and without any fuss or drama. We walked into the village and managed to get lost on the way back so we arrived back very wet and late for dinner, but no drama, they managed to sort us out in the restaurant.

Next evening, we elected to try the traditional Japanese meal and dressed in the Kimonos provided and had a great meal. All the staff were great, the location was perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Finally, on the morning we left, the weather cleared and we were able to see the magnificent views of Mt Fuji across the lake.

A lovely spot.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujikawaguchiko-machi hotels
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
Hotel Regina Kawaguchiko
#13 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Konansou
Konansou
#4 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Kozantei Ubuya
Kozantei Ubuya
#1 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Lake Hotel
Fuji Lake Hotel
#9 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji Ginkei
Fuji Ginkei
#3 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Kawaguchiko Onsen
Fuji View Hotel
Fuji View Hotel
#12 of 65 in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort

Property: Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort
Address: 2549-1 Oishi, Minamitsuru-gun, Fujikawaguchiko-machi 401-0305 , Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Minamitsuru-gun > Fujikawaguchiko-machi > Kawaguchiko Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fujikawaguchiko-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Hotel Fujikawaguchiko-Machi
Lakeside Kawaguchiko Sunnide Resort Japan/Fujikawaguchiko-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing