We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
298
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
298
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch nell mary and john sheep grazing self catering oban macdonald dishwasher ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

A delightful setting and a very well presented cottage. The owners had thought of everything. The setting is very peaceful with wonderful wild birds feeding outside the lounge window (great if you like photography). The view at the rear was over the river from Cottage 4. There was plenty of parking at the side of the cottage and the cottages have been arranged so that you have plenty of space around you even when other cottages are occupied. The cottage itself is extremely well equipped right down to a dishwasher and washing machine. We were just two friends that like a bit of space but it was more than big enough for two couples as there was both an en-suite and a family bathroom. I would have no hesitation in recommending these holiday cottages as I can't fault anything about them!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N1759OPjom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

If you like to be somewhere quiet and peaceful, yet within easy reach of facilities and attractions, then this place is ideal. The cottage was lovely - right by the side of the loch, with plenty of room and well equipped. Of course Mary cannot control the weather and we were lucky - but then who comes to Scotland expecting wall to wall sunshine? We had a lovely week here and if we're looking to return to the Oban area in the future, this is definitely where we will choose to stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrendaH133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Beautiful peaceful location overlooking Loch Nell. Wonderful well equipped accommodation, Warm welcome from the owner who was so helpful and had vast knowledge of the surrounding areas. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Friendly and welcoming owner. Unique cottage furnished to a good standard and equipped with everything you might need - including complementary wine and delicious biscuits.
Beautiful (and convenient) setting.
Very firm mattresses which may not suit everyone.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Your feed back is very important to us. We thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to choose a mattress to suit everyone, it's all a matter of personal taste. We are however in the process of replacing our double beds with kingsize beds and have done so already in some of the other cottages, so we will take careful advice from our local supplier when purchasing the new beds and try to get one which should suit most people. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

The cottage was like a home away from home. Everything our family needed. Even foil, glad wrap, plenty dishwasher tablets and milk was supplied. There was a shed of toys/dvds etc which the kids loved! Even borrowed a pair of wellies to go and visit the sheep! My husband used the boat and a fishing rod they supplied to do a spot of fishing. The scenery around the cottage is beautiful. John and Mary are lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Very peaceful. Just a lovely place to base ourselves for 2 weeks.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Clan Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is really helpful to other guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 'Shed' is very popular with out visitors. We try to make our cottages have a home from home feel and provide our guests with as much as we can to make for a great holiday experience. We're also very lucky to live in such a wonderful rural location but still be just a short 10 minutes drive from Oban Town centre. Thanks once again for your lovely comments, hopefully you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews