We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
114
28
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
28
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill beautiful pool moment you arrive the owner chickpea soup pool area beautiful island the bus stella nikos terrace tavernas harbour sea village sifnos ferries
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stella & her husband provide generous hospitality in their small hotel from the moment you arrive. Everywhere is spotless, attractive & comfortable. Although our room was on the ground floor & so did not have the sweeping view of the higher rooms it was comfortable, well equipped & provided an excellent base for our two week stay. Breakfast is served on the terrace by the pool & offers a wide choice of varied, fresh food & drinks. Whenever we needed any information Stella was able to provide it & made many helpful suggestions. The cafes, bars, restaurants, harbourside & the lovely sandy beach with excellent swimming are all a short walk away, as is the bus stop & ferry Quay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Everything was perfect from the pigeon loft: the loft, the view, the welcome (from Stella, Bella and the parot) , the breakfast with fresh fruits and delicious Greek yogurt...The steep hill was something of a challenge.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GiniNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Margado hotel for 4 nights in July/Aug. We were picked up from the port by the lovely owner and were lucky enough to be offered a choice of rooms to suit us. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The pool area was absolutely delightful and maintained to a high standard. We didn't have the breakfasts but it looked plentiful. The owner offered us some local chickpea soup on Sunday which was sublime! The hotel is at the top of a rather steep hill which didn't bother us and it was nice to get some exercise in! Beautiful views from the bedrooms of the port and sea. Would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kat140990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I am a travel planner in the US, so choosing accommodations is a very important part of how I help clients. I just returned from a family trip to the Greek Islands and chose Margado to stay while visiting Sifnos. I HIGHLY recommend Margado. This is a small, charming and very clean hotel that sits higher up in Kamares. Because of their position, the rooms have wonderful sea views. We were a group of 12, so I was able to see 4 of the rooms. They were all great, but I recommend the room with the panoramic sea view terrace. WOW view!! The pool area is so nice!! The included breakfast is yummy with lots of options. This place would be great for a couple looking for a romantic getaway or a family with children. If you can, opt for an ATV or scooter (which is the best way to get around the islands anyway). We had 2 small cars and a scooter. FYI, you have to have a motorcycle license to rent a scooter. We handled the car on the narrow roads fine, but it's definitely an adventure! Make sure to book rental car/ATV well in advance especially during peak season!! You can also walk to the village, but coming back is up hill. No big deal though!
The owners are wonderful! They are very friendly and Stella takes time to sit down with you to make suggestions for things to do and restaurants. I will definitely be recommending Margardo to future clients and hope to return myself one day!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PlanIt_Itineraries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed 2 nights here (wish it had been more) and had a lovely time. The beautiful pool was wonderful as was the delicious fresh and varied breakfast. Our room was a little small but it was clean and very comfortable (very good AC and handy fridge) and the terrace gave us a very pretty view of the harbor. However, what was really special about Margado is Stella who is a gracious and attentive host (with a great sense of humor). We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Larry917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews