We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mango Splash Surpassed Our Expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mango Splash

Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway
Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
The desk/dressing table
Looking towards the front door
A fully equipped kitchen with an African scene
The morning sun shining through the glass bottle wall
Clean, comfortable bathroom
The path to the beach
Looking out to the beach
Looking to the left from the front of the house
looking towards Laborie village
Spectacular sunsets.
The famous Pitons
Dritwood Cottage, Bay Treehouse and the outdoor relaxing area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Karen K
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mango Splash Surpassed Our Expectations”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent three wonderful days and two nights at Mango Splash. Our ground floor room was just the right size, complete with walk-in shower, small fridge and basic cooking appliances and utensils and a table for two. The wi-fi reception was excellent, and the room comes with an air conditioner though we didn't need it because the windows open to a refreshing sea breeze. The unit is located right on the embankment of the main beach in Laborie. Quiet at night, we slept like babes. There's an outdoor shower to wash off sand (the spout come out of a fanciful lion’s head!), beach chairs and a picnic table and barbecue. Security is excellent, as heavy imported doors are secured with a punch-in lock and there's a built in combination safe in the room. And there's space for secure parking inside their gate.
This is our second time visiting Laborie, one of our favorite towns in St. Lucia. The town folks are so friendly and the pace of life and local culture is a throwback to how much of St. Lucia was decades ago. Just step through their gate for a swim in the Caribbean Sea or stroll on the beach and chat with friendly fishermen descaling their catch on the shore. And no need to drive anywhere, as all shops and restaurants in town are within walking distance.
Owners Jan and Tony are wonderful hosts. They responded quickly to all our email inquiries before our visit. They are very friendly and helpful, and they've obviously bonded closely with local town folks, who greet them warmly on the street. And their recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Caribbean cuisine hit our pallets perfectly. They offered to pick us up at nearby Hewanorra Airport for an affordable price and even had a car for rent, though we needed neither as we drove down from Castries. Since we were arriving late Sunday and the shops were closed they were kind enough to offer to purchase food items for us, the cost of which they just added to the bill.
We recommend highly Mango Splash for those wishing to avoid the congestion of Castries and Rodney Bay and the commercialism of all-inclusive resorts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Would wish for screens on the window for nighttime
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C
Healdsburg, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best part of trip to Caribbean”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in Laborie, at Mango Splash, was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. It was on the front end of a two week sail trip and we selected Mango Splash as a place to stay, knowing really nothing about the location beyond the fact that it was 'on the beach'. Our hosts, Tony and Jan, are just fabulous. Our first night there, Tony told us there was music on the town square and if we were up for it they would take us over. It is a short 5 min. walk, across the soccer field and down a narrow road. Half the people on the way over greeted us with a "Good Night, Good Night". They all know Mr. Tony and Jan. We hung out at a bar/ restaurant along side the square, having cold Piton beers, being introduced to friends and having a great time listening to the music. We ended up having some fresh fish, fries and salad, a great little meal and very inexpensive ($25 or 30 EC at 2.65+/- EC to the US$= $11-$13). I had not had a chance to get local EC$ currency, so Tony borrowed some from a friend and gave it to me. "We can settle up later". The town of Laborie has no resorts, no hotels, and very few non-locals. It is a very sweet, friendly village, and they like to listen to music.

Mango Splash is very comfortable; a nice bed, kitchen and bathroom. If you are looking for luxury resort type accommodations this is not the place for you. For us this was a real value and just a perfect way to get to know what life in the Caribbean can be like. After that first night we felt totally comfortable walking by ourselves into town at any time of the day or night. We met an internationally renowned steel drum player at the square who spends part of his year there and teaches local kids to play. He invited a few of us to listen to the kids practice and it was an amazing 2 hours the next afternoon. We went out one night to Mamma Tilly's (a must-do if you go). Tony set this up for us in advance. It is a place many locals stop in to get take away, but if you give her a day's heads up she will do a special meal. The table is set for you when you arrive. You pre-order Chicken or fish (or lobster if they are available). She made us potato salad, string bean salad, a local root vegetable puree as well as the main. She whipped up a bottle of her special holiday drink, kind of like an egg nog with lots of rum, cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg, other spices. We spent a couple of hours sitting there, open air on the corner. Most every car that would stop would shout something to Mama Tilly. They would go back and forth in the Patios (we understood none of it). She would translate to us (we would understand half). Again; very inexpensive for dinner. Dancing occurred (see photo), a great evening. We picked up food for breakfasts, lunches and drinks at the local Super J (we had a rental car) which we generally ate in and then had dinners in town.

One day we went to one of the top snorkel spots on the island, Anse Chastenet, just outside Soufrie. It is accessed (if you have a car) via a narrow, somewhat steep, potholed road that one must traverse slowly (but is not as bad as many say on Trip Advisor). If you want to use the lounge chairs with umbrellas you have to rent them ($30-$50 US depending on which style you want). The restaurant food there is just OK and on the expensive side. The snorkeling was not bad, but nothing like we had later in our trip in the Grenadines. We had a much more enjoyable time hanging on the beach right behind Mango Splash. Although not much to see snorkeling, the swimming is fine, the beach great, lots of locals walk back and forth. Tony and Jan have camp chairs and lounge chairs to take out onto the beach. They have beach towels for guests as well as inside towels. They have a nice table under a trellis that used for several lunches and breakfasts. Very relaxing. You see men going out and coming in with very small boats for fish, lobsters and squid. One fellow spends the better part of a day on his surfboard harvesting seaweed. Young and old walk up and down the beach and play in the water. Most everyone gives a greeting when they walk by.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a place to relax on the beach, are interested in getting a sense for local Caribbean culture (vs. spending time in a resort being entertained and catered to), and are looking for value, you will not find a better spot that Mango Splash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibki
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation, jewel spot on quiet ocean beach, convenient to explore nature of island and ‘taste’ local life”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We appreciated easy logistics of the vacation with direct flight from NYC and short drive in rental car from Fort Vaux airport to Mango Splash. Apartment was clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We made breakfast in small kitchen every morning and had it in gazebo yards from ocean. Loved relaxing in our private beach on lounges host provided in the shade of palm trees. 5 min walk south takes you to town park with café and spa both are good quality and affordable. The village has a lot of local character with tasty simple food (e.g. bake and fish). There was no ‘pressure’ from locals. The owners were very helpful promptly answering requests and giving advice. We particularly enjoyed guided walk through the village and tour of the main house. My wife and I are avid snorkelers and took several trips to Sugar and Anse Chastenat beaches. Small SUV we rented for duration of our stay was very helpful as getting to these beaches is ‘road advanture’. Both beaches are adjacent to famous resorts and have excellent restaurants, beach/snorkel rentals, etc. The snorkeling was top notch…I ditto 100% excellent snorkeling reviews for more details. One thing I will say, don’t underestimate snorkeling reef on the side of Anse Chastenat beach opposite to rental shop! We also greatly enjoyed guided hiking on Tad Paul trail and a plantation tour. On one of the 3 trips to Sugar beach we had dinner at Dasheene restaurant which is part of Ladera resort which has amazing views at Petons/ocean.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcm472015
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach front apartment in a beautiful little fishing village”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at mango splash for a week at the end of November and canot recommend it highly enough. A huge thanks to the friendly and helpful Tony & Jan who made our stay extremely relaxing and comfortable. We got airport transfers and some food in the fridge ready for our arrival.

We did yoga daily with an incredible German woman called Sherin who was so warm and welcoming to us for our weeks stay. She also does massage so we treated ourselves to a massage each and at the end of our week we did a couples massage workshop learning a 30 minute Thai massage.

It is a prime location only 25minutes from the airport and not far from the resorts/beaches of Hotel Chocolat and Jade Mountain which we visited with the hire car provided by Tony & Jan. Would definatly recommend dinner at Ladera resort overlooking the Pitons and be sure to get there early to watch the memorable sunset!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyPren
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back door to the beach, "chill out" city”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here our last two days of our St Lucia Holiday, only wish we'd booked longer.

We arrived, as the local footbal derby kicked off, and just before the steel band competition commenced.. who could ask for a better introduction to beach life.

The apartment was great, and literally, on the beach.

The host were friendly, and we ate at the local establisments, fish both nights, washed down with pitons and chairman's reserve rum...

It was all great, and fresh.

The neach is lovely, frequented by locals, and no hassle at all.

A great place to chill, eat local, and enjoy St Lucia at its friendliest

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly hosts, natural surroundings and good food
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing