We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tet Rouge Resort(La Pointe)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$347
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$446/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$530
US$491
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$374
US$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
US$2,055
US$1,332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
83
12
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
12
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessugar millthe main houseopen airyoga retreatst luciamagical placedogs and catshome cookedthe kitchenrustic charmoutdoor showerbeautiful surroundingsarrived lateher daughterall inclusive resortnatural environment
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2015

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Almond cottage at Balenbouche and the trip was too short! We had stayed for a week in a house in Soufriere and happened to find this place as we were looking for something close to nature and unlike the sterile environments that much of the resorts offer. We were so blown away by everything. The property is a tropical paradise - palms, banana trees, kalabash, bamboos. We we traveling with 2 boys ages 3 and 9 and while we went to the beach a couple of times there was plenty on the property to keep them busy. Our boys chased lizards, climbed trees and plucked star fruit, pet the turtles, watches the cows and the horses, caught fire flies - and just had a wonderful time. The house we stayed in was spacious, airy and designed with open air showers, an open sitting area and kitchen etc - that we felt like we were outdoors even when at home. Everything was so artistically decorated. All of us looked forward to the breakfasts with fresh fruit and warm home made bread. Uta and Verena were so thoughtful about our needs and interests - whether it was a particular jam that our kids liked or involving our boys when feeding the turtles.The sounds of the insects sounded like a beautiful symphony that we looked forward to every night. If you love nature and are looking for a relaxing place to rejuvenate then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divya_N_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I went to Balenbouche last July to celebrate the birthday of my local friend, but we had mixed feelings about Balenbouche.
Although the first welcome was okey, they showed us the place and cottage, the cottage itself was not clean (forgotten). We wanted to take a look at the beach, but there was a bunch of dogs which came up to us aggressive barking, taking away the taste of going to the beach itself. When we climbed up, a piece of wood of the stairs which I stepped on, broke off....
When I asked about the dogs and showed my concern about maybe barking at night and that we came here for our rest, one of the first things the lady said was that we also could go find another place to stay. We decided to stay and it was quiet, but next day when we met, again they made a few strange remarks about dogs not used to local guests (although there were local people working over there). It seemed more that they themselves were not used to local guests and we felt indirectly quite discriminated. Later on they did their best to make it up to us, but we stayed we an uneasy feeling.
It's not a bad place to stay, but the cottage itself wasn't that nice as it looked on the pictures. And $110,- for only the night stay is quiet a lot of money for what you get.
I will not go there anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GerdaF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoParadise, Owner at Balenbouche Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

When the couple arrived, the lady immediately said that she "hated dogs." Because we have several dogs and we didn't want them to feel uncomfortable, we asked them if they wanted to find another place to stay. Our dogs are not aggressive and actually very friendly, they are just alert and sense if someone is apprehensive or scared. Most of our guests feel protected and fall in love with our pets (they even get sent fan mail and treats) but if you don't like animals, Balenbouche is not the right place for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here at the end of our trip in April 2014. Uta and her family were so warm and hospitable and combined with the rustic charm of our accommodation made it such a relaxing place to stay. The cottages are scattered around the old plantation ( a torch came in very handy !) which makes them very private .We ate dinner at the main house on the wide verandah which was shrouded in vines which added to the charm. The food was excellent and most of it sourced from their own land.Two private beaches are a few minutes walk away and you can explore the old workings of the sugar plantaion.
A great place to re charge your batteries !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 602eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Balenbouche offers travellers a unique and dream-like experience.
We spent 5 nights in the Banyan cottage, which has 3 double bedrooms and a great patio. The place boasts with character. The dark wood panels, combined with the shade of the jungle make the cottage a bit dark, but very enjoyable on a hot day.
The cottage has been decorated with care and is very functional too. The kitchen has all you need to cook simple meals.

Everyday we enjoyed walking around the plantation, from the old sugar mill (a surreal apparition in the jungle), through the fields and gardens, to the majestic seaside and cliffs.

Uta was a wonderful host, and having dinner on the terrace of her house on our first night will remain a highlight of our trip.

On several occasions, we arranged massages and yoga lessons with Sherin, who is fantastic teacher and therapist. The old cotton barn was the perfect setting for such activities.

Laborie, a fishing village 5-min drive from Balenbouche has a beautiful beach, some shops and places to eat and/or have a drink. Do try the African diner for fried fish and dals!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank celine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at Balenbouche in August 2013; relatives were staying at an all-inclusive in Vieux Fort and we wanted to have an alternative place for the whole family to get together for parts of a short vacation (all-inclusives do not allow visitors; the only way for extended family to be together is if you are all staying there). Balenbouche was the perfect place; a large, open grounds with cottages scattered about amongst ancient trees and green lawns full of bird life. As a quiet, lush contrast to the permanently noisy and concrete-bound all-inclusive, the nieces found this to be like a trip to the park. The owners are a relaxed family who welcome all (no species is discriminated against!). If you're so inclined, then the cats and dogs who will wander in and out at will are delightful--the pets make it even more like a home away from home. If you are not into sharing your space with animals, you'll want to book somewhere else. Be warned that in the Laborie area eating options are limited and the few restaurants are not open late. You should plan to stock the kitchen well during business hours and you will definitely enjoy long, peaceful evenings in the cabins. And you need to specifically let the owners know day by day if you are hoping for breakfast or dinner, as it's only served on request (and is a great value).

Room Tip: Note that rooms (cottages) are charming, unique, and have all the basics including kitchenware, fridge, stove. That said, the basics are basic--no A/C and nothing is particularly new. Everything is open to the outdoors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamilleP944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews