We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Something amiss” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chariot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chariot Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Pune, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Something amiss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I was there for a week end meeting with ex-colleagues - twenty of us and stayed overnight.
Check in was not at all a "welcoming process" and I guess the tonality got set right there. I reached at 9.30 am. First thing I was told by the receptionist was I will be give a room only at 2.00 pm. The organizers has left special instructions for early check ins for 4 of us and the receptionist simply ignored the same. Finally after making a few phone calls to the organizer, I was allowed to check in.

The rooms were good, large and well maintained.

The Bar was fine, how ever they can do with better snacks.

There was a rush in the restaurant and the food replenishment was rather slow in the buffet. One had to wait. Quality of food though was very good.
A huge party went on thru the evening until 4 am with loud music - one could not sleep. When it was pointed out to the staff that it was illegal to play loud music after a certain time at night - they did nothing.

Not recommended - there are much better places at competitive rates nearby. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANNY078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    129
    78
    49
    43
See reviews for
111
96
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in mid Dec 2011. We stayed in the garden facing cottage. It was not in great condition. The bathroom wall was chipped. There was no full length mirror in the room. We had dinner at the restaurant. Reached at 7.30 pm when they start serving(were with our 2 small kids). Still they took more than 1/2 hr to start serving starters. Food was average quality and overpriced. The next day when we called reception to assist with our bags to check out they said they would send someone in 5 mins. We waited 20 mins and still noone turned up. We called them back and noone answered the phone. We even saw the golf cart taking ppl around to view the property. But didnt receive any help. Finally we took our bags ourselves and reached rception. There a very rude male staff with no name tag made excuses abt bad phone line and didnt even apologise for our incovenience inspite of us stating the facts. Are the staff trained? This kind of lousy service spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay. The location of the hotel is great and the beach is well maintained.

Room Tip: Loosen your pockets and go to temple bay. They always have good service. Food and location is also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

checked in for a weekend in jan. the resort looks deceptively appealing but conceals a lot of rot.
The room was leaking smelly water from its walls.. the bathroom had its shower area so badly planned that the whole bathroom was wet if one person had a shower. the toileteries were not replaced in three days.
room service for a lime juice took over an hour and that too after we went to the kitchen to see whether they were growing the limes...
amenities are non existent along with general support staff.
a bit of chatting with the staff exposed the real reason of this pathetic resort...
Its owners who having no experience of running a hospitality business trying to do so and that too a supposedly 5 star one.
All in all,avaoidable ...and definitely not worth half the amount charged..
Competion will soon give this place what it deserves...CLOSURE.
BTW, nearby resorts like radisson are far superior and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shyboy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Expected more of a seaside resort. Rooms are boring / not decorated and more budget style rather than resort (esp bathroom is basic). Overall the hotel looks pretty worndown already.
Staff was nice at the restaurant, however reception was unacceptable slow to check-out (more than 30min wait). When we wanted to have tea in the reception area rather than in the restaurant area to avoid the walk as it rained cats and dogs we were told that is against mangement principles - we were offered to moved to a dim/dark meeting center room, freezing cold a/c restaurant or wet outside area of the restaurant.
Breakfast nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is on walking distance of the temples in Mamallapuram (10 min.) which is very convenient. It's the closest you can get to the temple! Rooms are large and clean and the staff is very friendly, especially at the restaurant. It's a big hotel, so it's lack a little of personality and it's not cheap, but if you want to relax at the swimming pool, this is your perfect address. There's also a private beach.Unfortunately no free wifi. it's 100 INR for an hour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
2.3 km away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#1 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.9 km away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
15.2 km away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.2 km away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chariot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chariot Beach Resort

Property: Chariot Beach Resort
Address: Five Rathas Road | Behind Five Rathas Monument, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Chariot Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chariot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Fortune Chariot Beach Hotel
Fortune Chariot Beach Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing