We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
42
19
1
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
19
1
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this hotel and their sister hotel in nearby Bishan. Both are nice, Bishan is bigger and more open areas, but I find xidi to have more carachter. It’s a cosy and romantic place, with a lot of attention to details. The interior consists of natural materials and restored countryside objects, giving it the feeling of a prosperous country house. The rooms are warm and there’s hot water, which is nice since it can be really cold in autumn and spring. The corridors can be a bit chilly, but the view from the top terrace over the grey brick roofs is serene.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Soul_Surfer009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2018

This is a lovely old house that has been turned into a quaint inn with hostel-like vibe and basic amenities. The rooftop view is spectacular and this is where most guests choose to spend as much time as possible. It's great to be able to wander the town early in the morning and late in the evening when all the tourists have gone home. Rooms are pretty basic and the food is a cross between local Chinese and they typical fare you find on the banana pancake circuit. Expect an eclectic mix of guests.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John Harold A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We stayed outside of Xidi Village in the Bishan location - a small farming village - and wish we could have stayed longer. This old home has been renovated from the ground up, but they used original materials and walls, so it keeps it's old style. Certainly not the Hyatt, but that's the point. Rooms are small and basic, but bathrooms modern with good showers. Lots of small common areas, each decorated traditionally but in a very relaxing way. Tons of rural curios and artwork on the walls. This hotel is about an hour from the entrance to Yellow Mt, and a much nicer place to stay than on the mountain in a big hotel. If you want a relaxing, antique, and rural Chinese experience, this is the place to be. Food was excellent; breakfast a mix of local and western. When we were there a very nice young man was on staff whose English was terrific, which made the stay all the more convenient.

Room tip: Every one of the ten rooms is different, so tell what you are looking for when you book.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This is a charming place, an Instagramer's delight, and we were very happy to have decided to stay here rather than up the mountain. Full disclosure, I wasn't that taken by the mountain, it's all steps and tour groups. Whereas I loved this little village. Of course, it's not totally undiscovered, and there were a lot of Chinese art students draped on steps making sketches during the day. But by staying in this little lodging, then you get to hang around after the coaches pull out of the car park, and it's really lovely feeling like you have it to yourself afterwards. So that's why to stay here. The Inn itself, yes it is charming, but it is also quite basic and we were quite glad we'd only decided to stay one night. The beds were classic Chinese hard, so not comfy to my preference. And the shower room + toilet was absolutely fine, but small + basic. You shouldn't be worried about it, but just know that's what you're getting. I also don't know how people who don't speak Chinese would manage (I have conversational Mandarin). Food was typical Chinese, a little samey. Breakfast was adequate but definitely not yummy. There is a magical roof terrace with amazing views. It was quite cold during our trip (early April) but I can imagine as the weather warms up that it would be a lovely spot for a light night drink, or a chill out spot with a book.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

There are two related and similar but different inns - Pig's Inn in Xidi and Pig's Heaven in Bishan. Both are reviewed under this listing. I'm reviewing Pig's Heaven. Pig's Heaven is a rustic inn in an ancient house in the tiny village of Bishan. If you want to spend a couple of days based in a farming village in Southern Anhui, you might like this. Finding it was a challenge for my Anhui- based driver. The clientele is Western and domestic. The staff are friendly with limited English but lot's of experience making themselves understood. The food is authentic and good.
I heard this area of China was used for missile testing back in the day, which would explain the nifty drawing on the wall near the bike storage.
Around the corner from Pig's Heaven, little Bishan also has Dog Bistro, a bar that would fit in fine in Northern Sonoma County California but is more than a little out of place here. Also around the corner from Pig's Heaven is HeFu Hotel, which looked like Pig's more refined and affluent uncle.
Pig's Heaven is authentic, which in Bishan means rustic.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews