We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$22
View deal
Priceline
Booking.com
US$22
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
45
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
6
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2015

It's worth to stay overnight in Hongcun and especially in this hostel. It's a restored ancestry house with a lot of charm. Once you are there, you don't want to leave it ;-). The staff was helpful, but don't speak good English.
I stayed in the mix dormitory and it was ok. For the food, go out of the old city as the prices decrease a lot.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zuzana_sldkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2015

When I arrived, I was expecting a single bed with private bathroom, but this was obviously an issue to their already booked rooms, so they upgraded me to a bedroom with a bigger bed. Not sure if it was better, but at that point, it didn't matter to me. Before the owner was aware I had a reservation, he quoted me 280 yuen…over double what my room was worth…just hope he wasn't looking for a quick buck.

The room had a very tacking beach surf theme. The bed was rock hard, but I was tired enough to not let it bother me. There are 3 dogs on the property (one barked a lot), and a caged monkey in the back which kinda bothered me a bit as it was a small cage for the size of the monkey.

I had supper with the volunteers, owner, and other guests (40 yuen), and personally, I quite enjoyed the meal. The young daughter of the owner who handled the money and bookings was probably the best employee out of everyone, and was a big help.

I was wide awake from 4am on…why?….because of the damn rooster who called out for the entire morning!

Overall, if I go back, I think I will try a different place closer to the pond.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2014

The hostel itself was lovely, I had a great time there and even got my room upgraded for free for one of the two nights I was there. I loved the authentic feel to the hotel and the owner was also very nice. The location of the Hostel makes you feel like you are staying in real China and the surrounding area is very picturesque.

The only problem I had with the Hostel and the area was with the food. The first day I had no problem due to meeting some similar aged people who spoke enough English to get me vegetarian food when I went for a meal with them. However the 2nd night I really struggled, the hostel itself had already had dinner, of which I did not realise it was a timed thing and so they had run out of anything vegetarian, and the surrounding restaurants only spoke Chinese so getting my point across was difficult.

I did eventually find some food however it was difficult.

The location, if going to climb the mountain is great as there is a bus that goes straight from the entrance to the area so that was great.

I would recommend going to see Yi County as it is in my opinion "Real China" and is very beautiful and although difficult to communicate to the locals all seemed lovely but I would not recommend anyone staying for more than 1 night if vegetarian, however I doubt there is much out there.

Also the rooms themselves were very nice, clean and spacious.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. It's a cosy place in a beautiful historic building. The owner is very friendly and welcoming. It felt like I had a room in a family house rather than a hostel. Very homely. I hope I manage to return some day soon.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The inn is very nice,is a traditional chinesse house, as the other inns in town.
The food was good but it is much cheaper go to a restaurant than stay at the inn.
My friend and I stayed there only one night and we didn't like the hosts at all. We didn't talk to them too much but we saw them hit their dogs with a stick wich they kept crying for a long time and they also have a monkey in a very tinny cage.

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews