We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn with Amazing Views and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in July 2013 and had a wonderful time. I was travelling by myself. I booked a taxi to get to the carpark and paid around 600CNY. Then paid 40CNY for a porter to carry my bag up to the top of the hill. We walked behind a pony most of the way so it was nice and slow. Around 40 minutes to the Inn and the views were just awesome. Summer was a great time to go but very hot and humid.

I loved the Inn and was spoilt by the happy family and women who were selling their goods there. I loved sitting at the tables and watching the people come and go. The food was the just about the best I had in China. They have boiled water for topping up the water bottles.

I arrived Friday night. On Saturday, I walked down to Dazhai to find all the traditional clothes hanging outside the buildings drying - it was very pretty. Then I caught the bus to the Huanglo village (the village with the long hair) and watched the show - very good. I walked uphill for an hour (steeply uphill) and arrived at Pingan so looked around the terraces there which were just as good as at Dazhai but more touristy. I preferred Dazhai overall.

Then I walked about 4 hours to get back to my hotel. This would have been long except it poured with rain and I enjoyed the mists rolling round the hills. It would have been hard to get lost as all the stone paths lead to the same villages.

That night all the terraces were alight with torches burning and fireworks going off - it was a festival. The ladies at the inn grabbed my hand and ran me round to viewpoint to watch. They they walked me home again.

The next day, I took the cable car to the top of one of the viewpoints and walked down the mountain. There are little shops in Darzhai and it's cheap and easy to top up on nibblies.

I like the Inn. Its a 3 story wooden building - as they all are. I figure they would all be the same.
I had a top floor room with terrace views.
My room had a western toilet. The shower was right next to the toilet and there was no curtain so the toilet did get wet - I figure it was kept clean.
No towels - but I had my own small one.
You do get noise between the thin walls but that was why I had the top floor and it didn't bother me.
The bed was a double and good. I had a couple of chairs and a dressing table in the room.
I felt my belongings were bery safe there.
The views from my window were divine.

I'd rather stay at the top of the mountain than the bottom and I'd go back to this Inn tomorrow. Hannah wasn't there when I was there but her cousin looked after me wonderfully.

I booked by emailing Hannah and she was helpful. I paid when I arrived. Make sure you take enough cash because there are no banks or ATM's.

Room Tip: Top Floor, Terrace Facing, Western Toilets Corner room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhoda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

My partner and I visited this Inn recently. We were extremely grateful for Hannah's excellent communication beforehand, helping us to organise a car from Guilin airport to Dazhai and offering her advice as she wasn't able to be at the Inn when we were there.

After being dropped off at Dazhai, it is very easy to ask one of the local women to help with carrying bags up to the village of Tiantouzhai - we were told that 30-40rmb per bag was about standard, so we agreed on 40rmb, as we had quite large, heavy bags but after walking with two of the women for about 45 minutes uphill and watching them struggle and sweat, we ended up paying both of them 50rmb each and still didn't feel like this was anywhere near enough for their hard work!

We struggled to communicate with Hannah's cousin, as our level of Mandarin was nowhere near sufficient enough and he spoke very basic English. We asked how to get to the different viewpoints and were literally just told to turn left! Luckily, if you step out of the Inn, go left and up the hill, you will eventually come to signposts (thank goodness or we would have been stuck!) I can't believe that it is possible for anyone to get lost finding their way - there are frequent signs along the path and if the road splits and you're not completely sure, just follow the most obvious route and if you don't see a sign within a few minutes, turn back and try the other route!

Viewpoints 1 and 2 were walkable within about 40 minutes and 30 minutes respectively (although we did stop A LOT to take photos so you could definitely do it in a much shorter amount of time if you wanted to power ahead but I don't recommend that as you need to stop and take stock of the beauty around you!)
Viewpoint 3 is apparently meant to be around an hour and a half's walk away, but we didn't go there as we were only staying overnight. It is also the point at which the new, hideous eyesore that is the cable car station is located - I understand that they are trying to make things easier for tourism but it was such a pity to see something so unnatural in what is otherwise a remote, countryside location!

As other people have said, you won't sleep well here due to the noise (hence why we only chose to stay one night!) - you can hear the TV from the room next door as though you are watching it with them, you can hear people talking outside until late into the night, there is no way to walk down the hallway or open/close a door without waking someone and the floorboards are extremely creaky. I must admit that whilst we didn't think there would be air con, we hoped that there would be a fan due to the 35 degree heat in the Summer but unfortunately there isn't. You have no choice but to sleep with the window open and whilst it does get SLIGHTLY cooler in the evening, personally I didn't feel like it was cool enough to have a comfortable sleep and we must have had quite a few showers during the day as there was no other way to cool down after walking.

Unfortunately, we didn't enjoy the food - everything comes soaked in oil and makes you feel quite ill when you look at your plate afterwards! But I do appreciate that they are trying to do their best.

Overall, despite our little niggles, you have to remember that you are paying a very cheap price and therefore have to alter your expectations accordingly. The view is of course the most incredible part and it is the breath-taking scenery that will linger in my memory forever.

I would definitely recommend staying in Tiantouzhai instead of Dazhai, as then you get to enjoy the views from the top of the rice paddies looking down, instead of being at the low level and looking up. Whilst we didn't have chance to go to Ping'An village, I read up a LOT before we came and many reviews say that Ping'An is so touristy and that the rice terraces aren't actually quite as beautiful as the ones around Tiantouzhai and I can absolutely agree with the fact that we didn't feel as though we were in a crazy touristy location - there were times when hiking that we felt like the only people around and you certainly do get peaceful opportunities to take in the surroundings.

You won't regret a visit to this beautiful place!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank nipon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013. Overall, we thought this was an excellent inn and we really enjoyed our stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the food is delicious, and the view from the rooms is incredible. The inn is about a 40 minute walk from the parking lot, and Hannah (the amazingly helpful owner) will provide you with a map, or there will be local women offering to carry your luggage up the hillside (for around 35RMB) who can lead you there as well. The walls of the rooms are quite thin, so if you happen to be staying there when the inn is full, it can definitely get a little noisy. Also, some of the local women who sell souvenirs inside the inn can be a little pushy when they want you to buy their things. We were happy to buy from them, and did end up buying quite a bit, but they would come over while we were eating our meals and try to get us to buy more, which got a little annoying after awhile. However, everything else about the inn is fantastic, so I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone who is looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big cities--Tiantouzhai is one of the most peaceful, relaxing places we've visited in China.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kt044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here two nights on the 21st and 22nd of June 2013. As others have mentioned the hike up there is fairly steep, but it only takes about 30 minutes and it'll prepare you for the hiking you'll have to do to get around the area :) You could also tell yourself that if you'd stayed in Dazhai you'd have to do this every day! Although Dazhai is nice I'd recommend staying in Tiantouzhai for the views and ease of access to hiking paths.

Coming from Yangshuo and Guilin the lower temperature and humidity here at an altitude of about 900m was quite a relief. There were also far less mosquitos, maybe because of all the frogs in the rice paddies? :) Those frogs make quite a racket at night, so in addition to any noisy neighbours you'll have them to worry about when going to sleep. I recommend bringing some earplugs!

The hotel was quite nice though, views are amazing, food is good (especially the bamboo rice), and staff was friendly and helpful. We missed out on Hannah and Jimmy due to her pregnancy, but they were quite helpful by email and Jimmy's cousin was there to meet us when we arrived.

In addition to the nr 1-3 hiking trips I highly recommend hiking to Ping'an, or if you feel it's too long at least 1 hour of the way there, to a small cabin with a "waterfall" next to it. The scenery is just as nice and you'll see less tourists, and this is the best part of that hike. We went all the way to Ping'an then took a minivan back, it cost us 80 yuan but there's also a bus that's slightly cheaper.

I think this region is about to get a lot more tourists: between the new cable car from the parking lot (which takes you to the top of the nr. 3 path, not Tiantouzhai itself) and roads being upgraded and built, it's all set for mass tourism. Some of the new hotels also already use awful neon lighting that ruins the views at night, so get in before it gets even more touristy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sigvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this place. Everyone was so friendly! We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast and were very satisfied. After walking around I am certain that there is not a better place to stay in this area. We stopped here after taking the 3 1/2 hour hike from the neighboring village of Ping'an. Sitting in the dining room after our evening meal and enjoying some cold beverages overlooking the view was really tremendous. It is a very peaceful place. Considering the location and price we were very satisfied with the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longsheng County hotels
6.4 km away
Baike Hotel
Baike Hotel
#1 of 69 in Longsheng County
237 reviews
6.2 km away
Long Ji One Hotel
Long Ji One Hotel
#2 of 69 in Longsheng County
189 reviews
6.1 km away
Longji Holiday Hotel
Longji Holiday Hotel
#4 of 69 in Longsheng County
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Longji Star-wish Resort
Longji Star-wish Resort
#3 of 69 in Longsheng County
117 reviews
11.9 km away
Dragon's Den Hostel
Dragon's Den Hostel
#4 of 11 in Longsheng County
56 reviews
0 km away
Yunzhihui Muquan Boutique Wellness Hotel
Yunzhihui Muquan Boutique Wellne...
#5 of 69 in Longsheng County
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn

Address: Tian tou village,Dazhai village,Longji rice terraces scenic area, Longsheng County 541701, China (Formerly Tian ranju Inn)
Region: China > Guangxi > Longsheng County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Longsheng County
Price Range: €19 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tian ranju inn (hotel) is located in the hilltop village of TianTou Zhai (Tian tou village),perched above Dazhai Village (where the Chinese Minorities – Yao’s place of residence )in the most scenic region of Longji. When you arrive Tian tou village ,you can begin to have a panoramic view of the terraces,you can see very beautiful wide view of Rice Terraces from here as well as the Yao people still keep very primitive life style and unique customs.We are stay in the middle of three view point ,is the most covenient place in Dazhai you can access to three view point.Tian ran ju Inn have 16 rooms ,include 4 double room facing rice terraces field;2 big bed room facing rice terraces field;2 triple room facing rice terraces field;8 double room unfacing rice terrraces field.All our room have the independent path room 、24 hours hot shower 、free WI-FI 、TV.So far,Tian ran ju Inn have 2 years old,we supply enlish speaking servic、free WI-FI、 chinese and simple western food、coffee and tea、book exchange and so on.Both Jimmy Qin and Hannah Wuu like to make friends with you,you can stay here just like home.wellcome to Tian ranju Inn and hope everyone has a good trip in china.NOTE:Room facing terraces field is the western toliet;Room unfacing rice terraces field is the chinese toliets;Please prepare your Wash one-time items by youself; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing