We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$145
View deal
Travelocity
US$128
View deal
Priceline
eDreamsUS$145
Orbitz.comUS$128
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
306
90
42
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
306
90
42
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish small balcony swimming pool air conditioning on the rocks on tap relaxing break long time other guests wine puglia towns italians clothes umbrellas coach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2020

We travelled by air to Brindisi and private coach to the hotel. This was the only tour to Italy this year and we were welcomed enthusiastically by the manager. We were a party of 12 and after temperature testing we were advised our rooms were not quite ready (we arrived early afternoon) and invited to sit in the comfortable lounge area and have welcome drinks.
The hotel was fully booked with Italians but never felt crowded and everyone distanced correctly.
Some of the rooms were soon ready, unfortunately two couples (inc us) had to wait a long time; which was not good.
However the room was very good, adequately large with excellent bed, fittings and a large tiled bathroom. In fact the complete hotel was tiled - an excellent idea as everywhere was kept spotlessly clean.
A small balcony was not of much use as there was only room for one chair plus clothes drier - however the drier was handy.
Air conditioning was good and welcome in the 31 degrees plus.
Large dining rooms and spotless table linen. As a party we were given a special menu which was not adequate as there were no choices within each course (4.)
First evening there was fish for 3 of the courses - not good as we had some who did not eat fish.
After our tour manager took this up with the manager we were offered the same table d'hote menu as all the other guests, which had multiple choices. This menu was somewhat Italian provincial and although adequate for us we felt that if they wish to encourage British tourists it would need to be a little more international.
We had packed lunches included which were quite adequate although repetitive.
Our stay was drinks included between 6.00 and 9.00 pm - local brands only but beer and wines were good.
However all the staff were wonderful, cheerful and helpful with a reasonable amount of English spoken.
The swimming pool was a little way up the steep garden and seemed to have no method of being shady as the umbrellas were not tiltable - a bad mistake. There was no other shade at the pool and the garden was really a terraced slope, shady but no proper seating. More could be done to enhance the garden/pool and its use.
Really pleased with the virus precautions. Masks required except in your room and at the dining table. Any buffet (usually breakfast) was served to you from behind clear screens by masked staff and clients were expected to approach it in masks - which everyone did without fail even children.
I would recommend this hotel for a holiday - not good if you want a sandy beach but the hotel did have its own equipped area on the rocks opposite on the shore, with some sea swimming available. There was a beach about 400 yds in the village.
With a car (we had the coach and local trains) it is possible to visit beautiful historic towns nearby and with the area (Puglia) being right down on the heel of Italy it is very Italian.

Room tip: views are not too many, facilities made room position unnecessary
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

We really needed a relaxing break and this was fantastic, the hotel was fabulous, the food was delicious and the "wine on tap"was an unexpected bonus! The hotel was clean and welcoming,the staff could not do enough to make our stay memorable,we hope to return very soon!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Connector67563480310
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDSHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Dear Connector67563480310,

thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Hotel Riviera,
we are glad that the holiday was memorable, we are waiting for you for an unforgettable new stay!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

This lovely hotel is exactly what was needed. From our check-in very late on Friday evening to leaving the hotel the following Friday afternoon, this was a great break. Often when you arrive late (after 10.30pm) into a Hotel you are simply shown to your room, not in this case, we were shown to the restaurant for an unexpected supper with wine! When we were eventually given our keys, suitably refreshed, we went through the spotlessly clean and beautifully scented corridors to our room, similarly immaculate and well proportioned, with all the home comforts you would need.
Our visit to the lovely swimming pool, again very clean tidy and well kept, again with those lovely sea views didn't dissapoint either, in fact it is difficult to find any "issues" with this gem of a hotel. I was convinced that the Hotel Manager had a twin as he seemed to be everywhere! Not that he needed to be as his clearly well trained and motivated team were all excellent. We were on full board and the food selection at both lunch and dinner were very good, always dificult with a buffet style service, but the added bonus of wine and water, red & white, sparkling and still, on tap and included in the service, helped to add another tick in the box.

My wife and I both agreed, we probably had one of the best massages we have ever had, and thanks must go to Marzia ? for her expertise. We also rented a car for a couple of days and managed to get to Lecce and Alberobello, well worth the trip

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDSHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Philip P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Hotel Riviera. We are pleased that the stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed all the services offered.
It was a pleasure to welcome you in the best way, considering the long journey.
We will report your compliments to Marzia.
We are waiting for you for an unforgettable new holiday.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Great hotel, a little expensive but very very clean. Friendly staff, safe enclosed parking. Great swimming pool but a little chilly. We were only B & B but paid for 1 meal in the restaurant which was 25 euros per person. But it was fine. Limited number of restaurants around the bay area. Short walk 10 minutes into the bay area so location was good. Only down side is the balcony size, very small.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2019

My Family stayed in the Grand Hotel Riviera in August and it was without doubt the best holiday we have ever had.

Its difficult to know where to begin…or may be not. The staff were truly exceptional, the food was as good as we've ever had at any hotel (there are a number of comments regarding the food being too cold, this was not the experience we had), and the hotel itself had a modern but personal feel to it.

Whilst the food/drink, location, room, facilities, views, all the staff, restaurants, entertainment were all fantastic it doesn’t begin to start to tell the story of how this hotel goes above and beyond. So let me explain.

My daughter has two very special Teddy Bears (aka “Andrew” & “Special Bear”). Andrew was given to my daughter on her 1st birthday by Mum (Gran) and goes everywhere. Unfortunately, due to a cleaning accident both Andrew and Special Bear took an unscheduled excursion around Italy. When we explained that Andrew and Special Bear were missing the lengths that the Concierge team, and the hotel Manager, went to were no short of extraordinary. Needless to say both were found and repatriated following a 32KM trip and much fan fair.

This story doesn’t do justice to how kind the staff were, what it meant to us and how good a place can be when people go that bit further.

Thank you.

Adam, Clare & Ava Rose
(Andrew & Special Bear).

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amould77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDSHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Dear Adam, Clare, Ava Rose,

we are moved by the review you wrote. We are pleased that the experience was pleasant and that you enjoyed all the services offered.
we are very happy that Andrew and Special Bear to go back home, no child should fall asleep without their bears.
All our staff is waiting for you for an unforgettable new holiday, a special greeting to Adam, Clare, Ava Rose, Andrew e Special Bear...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews