We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
459
395
105
39
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
395
105
39
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel the kitchen castle room nice location nice bathroom business trip great food deluxe room croissants love this place an upgrade friendly service my opinion three course meal breakfast was included romantic getaway evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

It is so disappointing when a beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings just can’t get things right.

We drove all day from Denmark on our way to France for our summer holiday and decided to stop over at the Chateu de Raay.

After a long day of driving we finally arrived at the hotel only to find that the resuarant at the hotel was fully booked.

We have traveled quite a bit and our experience from other hotels have been to ask the guest if they would like to make a reservation at the restaurant upon booking of the room. To avoid said problem with fully booked restaurant.

No such service provided at the Chateu de Raay, they apparently prefer to cater to guest just visiting the restaurant.
Guests who stay at the actual hotel come second.
We noticed that there were plenty of table space in other areas of the hotel and cooking food for 3 extra pax was monumental task that the hotel could not manage.

So off to town we went for dinner.

Room is nicely appointed - unfortunately the room faces the terrace where the restaurant serves food.

Why have rooms where people are supposed to sleep and relax when you have a McDrive outside the room.

We could literally open the window and reach people’s food.
But we decided to keep the windows shut since smoking up a storm is also allowed on the terrace for everybody’s enjoyment.

We had a big wet stain on the floor of the room. Can’t explain why.

Our reservation said that breakfast was included but the receptionist kept insisting that it was not.
When we showed him the bookIng details he still insisted. At this point we couldn’t be bothered discussing the issue anymore since we were tired after a long drive.

I can’t recommend this hotel.
Awful service.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank danshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick D, Front Office Manager at Sandton Chateau De Raay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at our Château!

It is regrettable to read that your stay was not to your liking. Of course we do our best to make it as pleasant as possible for you and all our guests.

We will discuss your feedback internally so that we can include these points to improve our service.

With kind regards,

Rick Daniëls
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

For check in, there was no-one at the reception. It took as several minutes waiting time.
Our deluxe-room was not very quiet. We took part on checking in other person in next room. Using bath-room ...Location is perfect, clean and with a good service

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 473sigrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick D, Front Office Manager at Sandton Chateau De Raay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Sigrid,

Thank you for your review at our Château!

I'm sorry to hear that the check-in was not the same as usual. I will discuss this with my team, so that we can improve our service.

Hope to see you again in Baarlo!

Kindest regards,

Rick Daniëls
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

It was a great weekend and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms and the location in general are very beautiful in a terrific landscape. Cycling walking or any other outdoor activity are very comfortable to practice here. Food was excellent. Only the restaurant service on the second of our two days was very bad. Nevertheless we will be back!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TomasK1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Don’t phone the reception they never answer! Tried from the room phone and the mobile and no one picks up. 24 hour reception available, shame there is no stood at it at the advertised times!!! Simplistic of things spoil the stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank sim0n0c0nnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick D, Front Office Manager at Sandton Chateau De Raay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Mr. O'Connel,

I'm so sorry to hear that we were not available by phone.

Thank you for your review, I will discuss this with our team so that we can improve our service!

Kind regards,

Rick Daniëls
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

I had stayed at one of Sandton‘s hotels in Ghent before and was aware of the excellent ambiance and service provided by Sandton. I was not disappointed by Château de Raay with that regard. Everyone made sure we were having a pleasant trip and was nothing but kind to us.
We have booked the castle and shopping arrangement which included a three course meal on the evening of our arrival. I can confirm the rumors that portions are indeed very small yet arranged in a very lovely way and tasted good. Also, after having informed the hotel prior to our stay, the kitchen regarded the face that we were vegetarians and gave us vegetarian meals which were not in the menu – once again a huge thank-you to the kitchen!
Our room (the deluxe room) was very spacious and prettily decorated but unfortunately the mattresses were already quite worn so that we had to sleep with our heads at the end of the bed. Overall a great stay!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ahmarcinkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews