We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Soudley, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ejmilkins
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Betty's barn provided a home from home experience with everything you need for a perfect trip away. The accommodation was spacious and clean and just right for our family(2 adults, toddler, newborn & dog!) in a great location to explore the area and lots of things to do. Access to property is down narrow country lanes from nearest main road. Would recommend to all wanting to stay in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly cosy”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Betty's Barn is warm, cosy, comfortable and clean. We travelled as an extended family with our little dog. The layout meant that everyone had their own privacy upstairs with two bathrooms and two very spacious bedrooms. The beds were comfortable too. The heavy beams give the barn extra character. Set in the countryside you are surrounded by widelife, many birds live in the hedge rows just outside the living room window. The stables are opposite and it was a pleasure watching the horses being tended to and ridden. There is parking right next to the building and there is a little garden to the front which will be lovely in the summertime. The kitchen is beautifully appointed and has everything you need including a big dining table in the middle on which to enjoy meals as a family.
Shropshire towns are not far away, we enjoyed walking around Ludlow and Ironbridge. We also drove out to Hereford. There are also plenty of walks around Betty's itself so don't forget your wellies!
Kim and her mum are wonderful hosts. We will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milbo
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable, in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed with 2 close friends and our 2 dogs. We were very impressed with the size and layout of Bettys Barn. It was idyllic for us. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Great walks for the dogs in the private gardens/woods ( Melusine loved the ponds!!!)
Very very minor matters prevent this from being a straight 5 star for me. No shower in 2nd en-suite meant going into friends bedroom to shower. Could one be put over the bath?? Could the cooker hob knobs be re labelled as worn off so no idea which is which and how high they are set (could be dangerous).
No Wifi available which would have been useful researching days out. Although I understand this can be available in an emergency.

Other than that really brilliant stay in this comfy and cosy excellently converted barn.

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet seclusion. Central for the Shropshire AONB and attractions. Great size property. Very friendly hosts.
Liked least: No shower in 2nd ensuite mean sharing friends .
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and relaxation”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On Friday 9th January 2015 my wife and I arrived at Betty's Barn for a long weekend. Outside it was cold, dimpsy and blowing a gale, but inside the cottage it was spacious, clean, warm, cosy and very relaxing with not the hint of a draught.
We were greeted by Elizabeth and her granddaughter and made to feel welcome and very much at home - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Lovely location with views over open farmland and the activities of a working farm, stables and equestrian centre where you are free to access the animals and assist.
The house and grounds have many hidden secrets and there is total freedom to roam the woods and garden complete with stream, pool and wood carvings.
Don't forget your wellingtons and walking boots!
We intend to return for a week later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: What was there not to like?
Liked least: Difficult to fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave it. It sounds like you had a brilliant time despite the weather, we're very glad you were able to stay cosy and warm! We hope you had a lot of fun helping out with the animals and exploring, the woodcarvings sound very interesting! Lets get you booked in again soon, hopefully with some better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifibt
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than just a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Betty's Barn is a lovely cottage, comfortable, spacious and very well equiped. This alone would be enough to recommend it but what makes Betty's Barn really special and unique is the location. Betty's Barn is on a working farm and guests are able to roam freely amongst the animals. Our daughter loved being able to stroke the horses and feed the ducks and chickens. Additionally, there is a many arce tranquil garden for walks and picnics as well as several public footpaths nearby. The owners are the most welcome hosts. We were lucky enough to see a hunt starting from the farm. A really unique holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing