We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great villa for couple”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barbados-Dreaming

Explore Mullins Beach & The Indulgence Spa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Explore Mullins Beach & The Indulgence Spa
The Villa:           Visa, MasterCard & PayPal accepted The Pool, complete with sun loungers & chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Explore Mullins Beach & The Indulgence Spa
The Villa:           Visa, MasterCard & PayPal accepted
The Pool, complete with sun loungers & chairs
The Four Poster (US) Queen (UK) King Size Bed
Fine Dining in your own private lounge
Swim with the turtles
Take a walk along Mulins Beach
Mullins Beach, a small yacht in the distance
Waiting for the Catamaran
Fish off the pier
Tropical garden, complete with deck & mango trees
Village and the Sea
The fully equipped open plan kitchen
Relax on Mullins Beach
The private terrace - Dine outside
Villa Bedroom with doors to outside garden
The Shower Room
The Lounge
The Pool with Bar
There are many beaches to explore & enjoy
The marina @ Port St Charles
Fine outside dining
Swim with the Turtles - near the Lonestar
A typical Barbados 'Chattel' house
Speightstown pier - a nice walk - stop for a beer
Mullins Beach - hire a boat to see the turtles
Small hut and boat by the new Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mullins, Saint Peter Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandra e
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“barbados dreaming nightmare”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This villa is owned independantly from the rest of the complex. The owner has a manager to be contacted if any problems arise.This manager was not on the island but on holiday when we locked ourselves out. We were not given the code for the emergency key safe which was on the outside wall.We feel we should have had access to the code with the manager not being available which would have prevented us having to break a pane of glass in the door having been outside in our nightclothes from 8 30 in the morning with no phone untill mid afternoon with no help. The cost to replace and fit the glass was £270 which we have paid but the owner is not willing to help us with the cost.which is disappointing. This has been a very stressfull time for us and we will not want to stay at this villa again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review, but your statement is not correct. Whilst our agent was on holiday for a few days you were looked after by our maid and you stated that she was very good. During your stay you unfortunately locked yourselves out of the villa, and you waited several hours before contacting me. Once I received the message I phoned your mobile number which you gave me and I also sent a text with the code for the emergency key safe, I also contacted our agent and maid and sent an email to the site and received the following reply “too late they decided to break into the villa” this I found was not acceptable. However as a gesture of good will I offered you £200.00 off any future stay and some drinks at a local events evening, which I understand you took up as I have paid the bill. A few days later you sent me the following email.
Hello,
Just to let you know we r now having a good time here . It was a shame about that incident. The weather is great just a few showers and we r having a car today 4 3 days to enjoy the island.We r enjoying the pool we swim every morning which is great.
Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great villa for couple”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just returned from Barbados Dreaming villa @ Kings Beach Village Mullins Bay, the villa was as described and in great condition. Booking was easy and once booked Ian sent lots of information on the villa and area including directions from the airport, we didn’t get lost once.
Part of Ian’s information pack was how to use air conditioning, cooker, washing machine, TV , wifi and many more all items we used worked well.
The pool was very good and kept very clean the poolside bar was open every day between 11.30 – 8pm Richard the barman was excellent. We hired a car for our 10 day stay this allowed us to visit many beaches on the west coast our favourite is Paynes beach just past Sandy Lane. Also if you hire a car you must visit Cherry Tree hill the views of the East coast are splendid, nice beach to visit on East coast is Barclays Park with miles of sandy beach you can’t swim here because the sea is to rough but a nice place to get away from it all.
I like to thank Ian for the use of his villa which I would highly recommend to any couple who want to do their thing on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa and wifi
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeesdaleM...
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxation in paradise”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in villa 16 at Kings Beach Village in St Peters owned by Ian Abbott who lives in UK and managed by Anita who resides in Barbados. From initial contact with Ian with queries re rental the communication response was extremely efficient with very useful information provided. We booked a number of months in advance and had informative and friendly updates along the way. We arrived late at night so had arranged self entry being given the number to the key safe , Anita had left a torch out for us as there can be power cuts on the island ( only 1 short one in 2 weeks with no issues)Ian had already warned us of this so we had a torch on the Iphone just incase . The villa was extremely clean very well presented and very comfortable. It was very well equipped both for kitchen use , very easy washing machine, dishwasher, cooker, micro if required and great media , TV ( although needed to speak to Anita for how to use initially), HiFI, DVD player, PC , free WiFi, printer ( Ian provides info on inks required so very useful for people on long stays ,it also works remotely eg from your IPad if necessary and we did use it once to print off car hire info as we only booked when we were there and found booking through holidayautos on line was quite a lot cheaper than locally). When we arrived there were 2 refreshing beers, waters and cokes in the fridge ( very welcomed). We ate out on the side area some evenings which was lovely , peaceful and great temperature and very pleasant, we ate out locally too , at times for lunches when we had the car for a week and some evenings. Some examples are Bombas very near to the villas turning left at the main road and about 80 metres on the right wooden coloured red green and gold was excellent , he even made us a fish curry at our request for our last night and the rum and cokes are very reasonable priced and good measures of rum. If you are out and about try a fish cutter at Cuz's fish shack at Needhams point south of Bridgetown, look it up on trip advisor. Crane beach is lovely especially if you like surf you can access by public way or via The Crane if you pay 25 BD per person and you can use this against food/ drink , we ate a couple of times at Carriages there and the food was lovely and staff very pleasant. The Chinese restaurant near the villas made amazing Singapore noodles ( we opted for takeaway and the portions are large). And Café Carisma in Holetown which was already in my saved trip advisor list before I knew it was owned by Anita and her husband - fab mahi mahi and bajan Beef baguettes see trip advisor reviews . For shopping Jordan's is nearby in Speightstown, walking distance for us but wouldn't carry shopping back due to the heat, they have a transport service but you may have to wait a while or catch one of the busses 2 BD or 1 US per journey.
The villa complex itself was immaculate. , Martin and Julie are owners of most of the villas and complex, Martin is managing director and he runs a fantastic ship with Julie. They along with their team of staff made us feel extremely welcome . They have a bar service from 1100am, their prices are really reasonable and it was lovely to go to the bar for a few drinks on some evenings to chew the fat with them and another couple we met who were holidaying and some local residents at times ( many of their villas are on long term lets which results in feeling like the pool is your own or just shared with a couple more people) the pool is amazingly clean, a great temperature to dip into from the heat of the sun, comfy beds to laze on , tables with umbrellas for shade, and a good length for swimming if you have the energy approx 25 metres. The gardens are beautiful and beautifully kept , there is wildlife with birds and sometimes green monkeys can be seen, Fuzzy who maintains the grounds to exceptional standards ( along with a gardener who was on holiday when we were there) is delightful. Would definitely recommend a stay here for a wonderfully relaxing time, it is a gem of a find. PS very comfy 5 ft bed and aircon worked a treat. There are also ceiling fans so options for preference and temperature. We had a clean at end of week one it was spotless and we were left additional toiletries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful peaceful location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality, cleanliness, ambiance
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prairiebe...
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice resort, shame about the beach!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this rental for 2 weeks in April for our 20th anniversary. It was our first time booking through Home Away and we were not sure how the process would go. It turned out to be very smooth and hassle free. We called Anita, the agent on the island who looks after the property for Ian Abbott, the owner in England, when we arrived at the airport. She met us at the resort with the keys and answered all of our questions. Checking out could not have been easier, we just left the key in the lock box outside the front door, and caught a cab to the airport.

To begin with, the resort is very clean, I can't overstate that. The grounds are very pretty and well kept. They obviously take great pride in the property and it shows. The pool is also exceptionally clean as well as a good size for swimming. It is lit at night with lights that change colours. You can swim late into the evening as long as you are reasonably quiet. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time. This villa is an end unit which is right beside the pool, very handy. It is a very quiet property with few vacation rentals and many permanent residents. Among the permanent residents are little bullfinches that came to visit us every day. Of course, we fed them. They would come right into the living room or in through the kitchen window if we didn't get their food out on the patio table early enough. We loved them. One other thing we loved was the little teddy bear who came with the villa. We called him Temporary Ted and enjoyed his company thoroughly. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Our unit was # 16. It was a 1 bedroom, 1 bath unit with a kitchen and a living room. It was rather small. Part of the problem was that it was not designed to house the amount of furniture that was in it. We appreciated the computer in the unit but found that it was very awkwardly located. The same can be said for the TV, very awkwardly located between the kitchen and living room. The channels on the TV were far from what was advertised. We got about 2/3 of what the literature provided by the owner said we would get. I should say that we did not watch a lot of TV but would have enjoyed some English Premier League football as we had been watching it all season. The furniture seems to be due for an update as it was quite uncomfortable and some of it smelled, ooo! The kitchen was reasonably well equipped and everything worked well including the washing machine which we appreciated. The bed was comfortable and the bedroom was mercifully air-conditioned. The air-conditioner in the living room could not cool the space significantly enough to be worth it so we left it off. We were OK with that as we preferred to have the front doors open most of the time we were up. The front patio was great and that is where we spent most of our time when we were in the villa. The bathroom is a very small room, definitely a 1 person space. There were plenty of towels but very few wash cloths. In a climate as hot and humid as Barbados, a few more wash cloths would have been so much better. The one thing that really irritated us was that at our mid stay cleaning, nothing was replenished. Since we stayed for 2 full weeks, we were entitled to a cleaning at the end of the first week. The cleaner came, but replenished nothing! When we asked about it, she said we were not entitled to any new supplies like a bar of soap for the bathroom or toilet paper. I could see from the website though which this stay was booked that they have many stays much shorter than 2 weeks and all the supplies would necessarily need to be restocked as well as the entire place cleaned between stays. A bar of soap and some toilet paper did not seem too much to ask.

Now for the location. This used to be our favorite place to stay on the island, Road View. Unfortunately, the beach erosion problem on the West Coast of Barbados is terrible and shocking. The last time we were there in 2006, you could walk on the beach from the old Kings Beach Hotel right down to Mullins. That is no longer possible as the beach has virtually disappeared. Mullins itself, which used to be a very lovely large beach, is dramatically smaller. It is almost not possible to put a towel down anywhere out of the surf. The people on chairs had the surf under them most of the time. Mullins is listed on a website as one of the top 10 beaches in the world to see before it disappears. Needless to say, beach erosion is a terrible problem. It does seem like a serious disconnect that an island that relies so heavily on its beaches to attract tourists, its economic driver, is so neglectful in its environmental stewardship. On that same subject, it is quite dirty in areas. There is a lot of litter, even on the beaches in some places.
As far as restaurants and activities we found some great ones. First of all, we went on the Cool Runnings catamaran tours twice. One was the day snorkeling tour and the other was the sunset tour. They were both really nice and we had a good time. The only caveat is the way they try to get everybody up and dancing on the way back into port as an advertisement of the catamaran. That seemed very disingenuous to us.
If you are looking for genuine, then Pat and Marie at Island Plates are it. This is a restaurant in Speightstown. They are recessed back from the main road, Queen Street and across the street from Jordan's Supermarket. You can see them on the Google map of Speightstown. The food was always fresh, tasted terrific and the service was great. We ate there often and were never disappointed. We can't say that about the Fisherman's Pub or Bombas. Though the food was pretty tasty at both, the experience was unpleasant. At Fisherman's Pub, even though the prices were posted on a sign at the front door, he still overcharged us and was upset when we corrected him. Bombas, well that was an experience. Let's just say, never again! Staff were rude and they seemed to just make prices up as they went. It was a ridiculously small amount of food for a ridiculously large amount of money. Also, he sets his own exchange rate for the conversion of US$ to BDS$. Needles to say, we think it is likely illegal. We have nothing good to say about this place. Stay away! There are no shortage of places to eat along this stretch of road. Now if you want lots of good food for little money and a fairly authentic experience, Tim's in Bridgetown is the place. It is right on Broad Street, upstairs roughly across the street from Cave Shepherd. It was great. The food was good and the service was exceptional. We always eat at Pugs rum shop across from the airport. Once we have checked our bags, we run across and get some chicken and macaroni pie.
As for groceries, this resort is close to two good ones. Jordan's in Speightstown is walking distance and Supercentre in Holetown is just a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet and convenient.
Liked least: Size of the unit, small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing