We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Before I begin my review, I must firstly acknowledge that individuals who are motivated enough to write a review are usually at either ends of the satisfaction scale. Rarely does one come across a review that is indifferent. You will be pleased to know that this is a positive and genuine review, and for good reason.

Upon arrival at Bayfield house, we were warmly welcomed by Trevor and shown to our room. Comfortable, clean, suitably equipped, spacious and private, what more do you need? A much welcomed change to our usual “packed in like sardines” experience. After settling in we wondered around to the bar and promptly ordered two of the best rum punches that we have ever tasted. Room and setting aside, the rum punches alone justify a stay at Bayfield House.

Bayfield House stands in beautiful grounds; our room overlooked the green and lush garden, splendid scenery to wake up to each morning. Moving onto Breakfast (which I consider to be the most important meal of the day), in a word delicious. Fresh fruit, fresh coffee, scrumptious free range eggs and good quality sausages. Enough said!

Our stay at Bayfield House exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be staying again. With only a two minute walk down to the beach, easy access to transport and a couple of great restaurants within walking distance, the hotel is conveniently located. Trevor, his wife Pam and son Jason did everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. If you are considering a stay Bayfield House, consider no more and make a booking, you will not be disappointed.

Reuben & Jennie

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nazumah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Your comments ring true. We are thankful that over the years since we opened the majority of our reviews have been on the positive end of the scale. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
240
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

There's not much point in repeating all the lovely comments made by other reviewers which we entirely agree with. Our stay at Bayfield House was relaxing, peaceful and just exactly what we needed. If you're looking for an immaculately clean, tranquil retreat with beautiful gardens, attentive hosts and plenty of wonderful restaurants and stunning beaches nearby then look no further. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

In short, we concur with all the positive things other reviewers have said. If you want 1–2 weeks away from karaoke bars and crowds, this place is for you. It is a premium B&B, make no mistake, but you will be treated well.There is always someone on the property to attend to your wishes.

Some comments about our stay, which are no reflection on the property: if you like to walk, there are limited opportunities, as the roads and beaches have obstacles or can be too hazardous. To travel from Mullins you need to take the inexpensive and frequent buses, hire a taxi, or rent a car. We had a very nice taxi tour of 3 gardens in 4 hours that was quite reasonably priced. I think to rent a car and to drive at night, you would have to be insane!

Trevor's twice-weekly meals were not only satisfying and good, they were a welcome opportunity to just stay put and not have to go out. I wished he cooked more often!

I also found after-dinner chats with Trevor and Jason (Pam tends to retire early) to be enjoyable, just to "shoot the breeze" and discuss life in general. Of course, these sessions were fueled by liberal dosages of "Vitamin R".

Generally speaking, Barbados is not a budget vacation destination. The standard of living of the inhabitants is relatively high, with prices to match. The people are genuinely friendly and we never felt ill at ease. To go there was one of my long-time dreams and I was not disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be different, so do some research on what is available and what other guests h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChapmanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We continue to prescribe a healthy dose of "Vitamin R" after dinner! Thanks for your review and hope you can visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Our friends recommended Bayfield House to us and we stayed for 8 days at the beginning of March. We had a wonderful and happy break there - it is close to all amenities and yet just a few minutes from the beach and restaurants. It was lovely to return after days out sightseeing to the calm and tranquility of the House and to cool and perfectly cleaned rooms. Pam and Trevor provided us with great recommendations of places to eat, things to do and see, and they made us feel very at home.It is a lovely size hotel and allows you to easily meet and get to know other guests whose company we greatly enjoyed. As we travelled Barbados we agreed there was nowhere we would rather have stayed and if we return we will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely but felt very spoiled to ahev booked the Porter's Suite which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We arrived on the 10th March and quickly settled in to our first floor room, with Trevor explaining all that we needed to know about our room, Bayfield House, and the surrounding area of Mullins. Once unpacked we walked out onto the verandah that nearly goes all around the first floor and were presented with magnificent gardens, tended every day to keep them in tip-top condition. Following Trevor's advice we strolled down the road to Bombas for a lunch Caribbean style, eating flying fish 'cutters' and Banks beers for less than $BDS60 (£20), sitting by the side of the ocean. Then back to Bayfield House for a swim in the perfectly formed pool before calling Mullins Beach Bar (local calls free of charge) to arrange dinner.

It was around 5.15pm that we spied a green monkey entering the front garden. He/she was a cheeky thief who headed straight for Trevor's avacado tree and then sat on the front lawn, just in front of the verandah, to feed on his spoils. We were excited to see our first green monkey and on our first day but we weren't prepared for what happened next. The entire troop of some twenty monkeys, young, old, pregnant, bold, came walking, running and playing over the front lawn headed for the back garden of Bayfield House. They then moved onto the next property and disappeared. Later we were told that the troop moves through the property in one direction at around 7.15am only to return in the opposite direction around 5.15pm. Nothing is guaranteed with monkeys, and we only saw them five out of our seven day stay, but each time was a unique experience (and offered plenty of photo opportunities).

As you can imagine we had plenty to talk about over dinner at Mullins Beach Bar whilst enjoying excellent food and Pinot Grigio. We had main courses and dessert, and with the bottle of wine were charged $BDS365 (£121).

An exciting first day meant that sleep came swiftly, and this pattern was repeated every single day in the relaxing yet inviting atmosphere that Trevor, Pam and son Jason, and daughter Maria generated. Fellow guests helped to build on the holiday experience, most of whom would return from the day's exertions to join Trevor's and Jason's company at the Bayfield House bar by the pool, where rum punch was the order of the day. Exchanges of experiences meant that restaurants, tourist sites, and shops were discussed, and plans made for the next day - the views of fellow guests being of greater value than the recommendations of the various tourist guides.

As other contributors have described Bayfield House, the great breakfasts, Trevor's dinners on Sunday's and Thursday's, Mullins beach, supermarkets, etc., we will finish our review with our 'mystery tour'.

Pam, at our request, arranged for a hire car for four days, delivered direct to Bayfield House at a cost of $BDS595 (£200) including collision waiver cover. We had to pay $BDS10 cash for our driving permit and we were mobile! So our first venture on four wheels were trips to Harrison's Cave and Orchid World, planned using the road map that came with the car. Well on our return from these attractions both Trevor and Pam asked if we had been lost at anytime. This question was repeated many times by many people because if you ever venture out in a car on Barbados YOU WILL GET LOST! It is part of the fun of seeking out places you've never been to, on what in the UK we would call unmade roads, travelling through sugar cane fields so tall that you can't see anything except what is in front of you. And don't expect road signs...just find yourself at a 'T' junction and take a guess, left or right. The hire car delivery chap said "just remember, if you keep driving you will end up back where you started". Whilst in the UK we would have ended up with heated arguements about the inability of the navigator to read the map, in Barbados we ended up accepting that the map is an approximation of some of the roads that were built, or planned to be built, and laughed our way to somewhere where a 'local' would quickly put us right. The next time we go we will take a compass so that at least we know that we are driving in the wrong direction. There is an upside to not knowing where you are going - you see all of Barbados, the beaches, coves, roadside bars, and the people.

We have to say that the people of Barbados are the most helpful, friendly, and laid-back we have found in our travels. If we were looking at our map, whether standing still or stopped in our car, we would be asked if we needed any help.

So our thanks to Trevor, Pam, Jason and Maria for their Bardadian hospitality at Bayfield House. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plymothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We believe that the success of Bayfield House has been as much due to the relaxed environment that fosters the making of new friends with other guests. Thank you for this fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
1.3 km away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
8.4 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
4.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 km away
Cobblers Cove
Cobblers Cove
#1 of 3 in Speightstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.6 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing