We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around and just as good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time around and just as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The first time we stayed at Bayfield House we fell in love with the place and Barbados in general. We vowed to come back and second time around, it is just as good. The location is beautiful about 200 yards from one of the nicest beaches on the West coast but very quiet and peaceful. Last time we have a lovely room on the ground floor this time it was on the upper floor. Both rooms are lovely.

Trevor, Pam and Jason are perfect hosts and really make you feel like one of the family. Trevor, in particular is a mine of information about the history of Barbados and where to eat, what's on, where to go etc etc. They are always around & helpful but never intrusive.

The building itself is a real old traditional Barbados house but the rooms have all the modern amenities and they are kept spotlessly clean. The garden is beautiful and if you're lucky you can see the local troupe of monkeys travelling through in nthe evening on their way back from the beach.

If you want to eat out, Barbados in general and the local area in particular is full of first class restaurants but if you just want a quiet night, Trevor will cook for you and very nice it is too! Breakfast is taken on the shady verandah and really sets you up for the day.

All in all a fantastic place much better than the big hotels and all inclusives!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your second review of Bayfield House. It is important for us that we remain a consistent level of customers service. We are delighted we were able to live up to your high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
241
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent two fabulous weeks at Bayfield House in February. Our ground floor room was immaculate,large and spacious. Trevor,Pam and Jason's hospitality and helpfulness knew no bounds.They arranged car hire for us and gave us advice on where to go,what to see and where to eat. The breakfast, taken on the verandah watching the humming birds and green monkeys was a delight every morning.We dined at Bayfield House twice on an evening and Trevor is an excellent chef and host,he also makes the best rum punch on the island !!
Bayfield House is not a 5* hotel,it does not profess to be. It is a beautiful plantation style house with delightful gardens and pool in a perfect location. A virtual paradise.
We certainly recommend it to anybody and we will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudger1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and the room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, North Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just returned from a stay at Bayfield House. What a find - we always go all inclusive but after our stay at Bayfield, we wont bother with the big, noisy, unfriendly all inclusives any more. Hotel is magnificent, rooms and grounds are spotlessly clean. Lush tropical gardens and the only noise you hear is the birds singing (no screaming kids). Met some lovely couples from Vancouver and Evesham. The beach is just a few minutes away, we went there once, but soon retreated to the calm and tranquility of the pool at Bayfield House. Breakfasts were delicious and set you up for the day. We ate in at Bayfield one evening and the food was of a very high standard, I have to agree that the rum punches were FANTASTIC. Trevor and Pam and their son Jason were always on hand if we needed any advice, they sorted out car hire for us and had good advice on restaurants to eat out at in and around the area. We will definitely return, could no fault this place. Would definitely recommend it if you are looking for an oasis of calm !!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and when you opened the door you looked right out on to tropical ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and the room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at the Bayfield house. We were given a lovely welcome on arrival (and a fabulous rum punch) and this friendliness continued throughout the week. Trevor, Pam and Jason were very knowledgeable about where to visit and eat and were always available for us to ask questions and to ask us how our day had been when we returned.

Breakfasts were lovely, a selection of fruits or cereal and then eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato and toast, with coffee or tea and fruit juice. trevor's meals on a Thursday and Sunday evening were delicious and we enjoyed those as much as eating out in the various restaurants.

The pool was spotless and the gardens were beautifully maintained. the rooms were cleaned daily and towels also changed daily. There was always a cheerful conversation with the maid too. The room was light and airy with plenty of wardrobe space and the ensuite bathroom was a good size.

We would recommend the Bayfield house to anyone. For us, It was far better than staying in a large all inclusive hotel - it was friendly, Trevor and Pam were interested in making our stay as perfect as possible and nothing was too much trouble, even to lending out umbrellas in case it rained if we went into town!

Thank you Trevor, Pam and Jason. You made our stay truly memorable and we intend to book again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Bayfield House, we look forward to greeting you and your family when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I had planned to have a relaxing holiday in Barbados. We knew the island somewhat from a previous visit so we knew we wanted somewhere peaceful, quiet and slightly away from any of the main tourist areas or roads - both of which can be quite noisy. When we found Bayfield House online, we were very excited as the pictures and comments seemed to fit our plans. I can honestly say that in my opinion the pictures and wonderful comments do not do this place justice. Bayfield House is one of the most beautiful, laid back places I have ever been. When we got there, we were kindly greeted by Trevor, who offered to help us with our bags, showed us to our room, and then he made us a rum punch (the finest rum punch we had the opportunity to try) and let us relax by the pool in their wonderfully kept, quiet backyard. This set the tone for the rest of the trip. The grounds and rooms were cleaned and cleared daily by the staff, who were friendly and courteous, especially if you smile, say hello and make eye contact. The place was almost fully booked for 12 out of the 14 days we were there, however there were no noise issues, no feelings of being too close to fellow guests and no feeling of being rushed or hurried. The house is about 250m away from Mullins beach which is an excellent place to go and relax if you want to go out to the beach, although we found the back yard was way better than the beach. There is also a bus stop at the beach for those wishing to try the public transit. One thing mentioned on a number of reviews is the lack of hot water at times. I did notice that sometimes it did take a LONG time for the hot water to warm up, but it did. We had no problems as long as we were patient.

Breakfast was consistent each day as per other reviews, however we felt that there were more than enough options to keep us from getting bored (different egg styles, great pancakes, bacon/sausage, fruits, cereals, juices). Trevor is a superb chef. He makes a great breakfast, but his 3 course dinners on Thursday and Sunday are where he really gets to shine! We had dinner 3 times and each time it was fabulous. The best part is... he loves doing it! In our opinion, you cant beat something made with love - no matter how fancy the restaurant is. They will also let you bring take out back to the meal area at the house for dinners or lunch and if you let them know, they will get place settings ready for you, which was handy on days when we didn't want to get dressed up. One note of interest - portion sizes in Barbados are NOT the same size as in North America. This is good, given the North American propensity to have larger meals. We were full after all of our breakfasts though, which was important for any of our adventuring we did!

During our stay, there was at least one of the family members on the grounds from when we got up to when we went to bed. Trevor, Pam, their daughter (who's name unfortunately escapes me) and their son, Jason were very helpful and willing to chat whenever there were questions or concerns. They were all willing to give information on the island, history or tourist attractions. Trevor was particularly helpful as he seems to have a good knowledge of the island. We found his knowledge extremely helpful a number of times. The family really did help us to enjoy the island and its attractions. As with anywhere, if you have questions, don't expect them to be answered unless you ask!

Our trip to Barbados was amazing, thanks in large part to our stay at Bayfield House. This truly was an awesome place to relax and slow down. There MAY be fancier or prettier places to stay on the island, but we will not be looking anywhere else as long as Bayfield House exists. It was obvious to me that the Ramsay's are very proud of their establishment and they enjoy operating it and try to ensure a wonderful visit for all who stay there. We are looking forward to going back... hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky_buckwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the photos and for sharing your experience with us. The family is very proud of the service we provide and certainly you are correct, that our meals and customer service starts from a place of love within our hearts for what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
8.4 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.3 km away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Cobblers Cove
Cobblers Cove
#1 of 3 in Speightstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.5 km away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
3.6 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing