We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
168
117
45
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
117
45
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews escape restaurant koh kood duplex bungalows picture postcard castaway restaurant small price fisherman's hut direct beach access free kayaks being picky on a daily basis romantic holiday sea facing family room beautiful island the room was nice spent nights here
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

My two friends and I enjoyed a wonderful 2 days and nights at Away Koh Kood and it really wasn’t long enough. From the moment we arrived we felt so relaxed and welcome. The staff are amazing and can’t do enough to help. The rooms were beautiful and super clean. This really is a paradise, and we will definitely be returning. Our top tip, the pina coladas from the hotel bar, by far the best that we have ever tried!

Thank you everyone at Away for such a wonderful stay, see you next year!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank francesca e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Khun Francesca e
,
“Sawasdee krap”

We really glad to learn that you have a wonderful stay with us Away Koh Kood Resort team.
Thank you very much for your valued time to review us on tripadsivor.com
We looking forward to welcome you back again next year.

“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Excellent location - seaview, green trees, calm & quite with higher altitude bungalow
Free canoe to crossover to the oher side beach also to go for a lovely promenade inside the mangrove trees - must do activity
scooter for rent (250THB a day) reasonable price
nice sunset view - good location for breakfast (even the choice is just limit but it is fine we don't eat much for breakfast)
very near to many restaurants and live music bars from the hotel
we had a good time here (we stayed only 2 nights - after staying at another hotel i nthe island)

Room Tip: i prefer higher altitude to overview the sea
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Khun David R,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for your time on sharing review us with tripadvisor.com.
We were so glad to learned you has a good time and happy during you stayed with us.
Once again thank you very much. We hope will have the chance to welcome you back again..

“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Nice clean territory with tropical garden.
A quite place, sea view restaurant, friendly staff.
Rooms a bit old, need renovation, especially shower and toilet.
However had a good holidays at this Resort.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank mellys0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Khun Mellys0m,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable review.
Very much appreciated for your positive comment and to here that you had a good holiday with us.
We truly appreciated for your points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to improvements our service for better the guest experience.

Look forward to welcome you back by near future.
“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

This is very much a 3-star, average place to stay. The staff are pleasant, but there are better places to stay on the island, at all price points. We stayed in a duplex, which looked out on telegraph wires and (unexciting) trees. There is no beach, nor anything of great note to distinguish the rather tired buildings. The restaurant is fine and breakfast is a plus, with decent choice, but once again, there is nothing to set the pulse racing. We used the place as a base, jumped on our hired scooters (the hotel should be commended for not inflating the prices) and headed out each day to spend time at more impressive venues, idyllic beaches and more charismatic restaurants (dont miss Chontchicha or the Fisherman's Hut).

Room Tip: Avoid the duplexes
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skittle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Khun Skittle999,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for spend your time to share your valuable review.
Highly appreciated for your positive comment about our staffs.
We apologize for the inconvenient and that we could not provide our service to meet your expectation. We truly appreciated for your points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to improvements our service for better the guest experience.

Should there be anything our team could assist, please feel free to contact us.
“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We booked this hotel online after reading the many nice reviews in Trip Advisor. Yes there were many pluses staying in the hotel including:
(a)Excellent service by friendly/helpful staff at the reception and the Escape Restaurant
(b)Scenic surroundings and a spacious area in the resort which includes a swimming pool.The ocean facing bungalows on the street level offers an awesome view of the sea
(c) The breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was above average.As we stayed for a couple of days,we noted there were changes in the local food served in the buffet
(d) As this resort is located some distance away from the beach of the water front hotels,it offers privacy
However the "minuses" we encountered outweighed the pluses including
(a) There is no beach fronting the resort,only rocks.The nice beach is opposite the resort.To get there guests have to "kayak" across a stretch of sea channel or take a 15 minute walk along the main road.
Although the resort provides the kayaks on a complimentary basis,we had to return the kayak to the Activity Centre by 6.00pm every evening which was inconvenient
(b) Low water pressure plus salty tap water.During our stay,we had to buy mineral water on a daily basis to wash our face,brush teeth etc
(c) We stayed in a Duplex Bungalow.The access to the Duplex Bungalows are a long walk uphill.The steps leading to the door of the bungalow are also steep and irregular.This is challenging for the elderly and families with young children,Although the Duplex Bungalows provide 1 Queen bed on the ground floor plus 2 single beds in the upstairs room,there is no seperate airconditioner provided,The upstairs room can be stuffy at times.
(d) The condition of the rooms looked tired and in desperate need for refurbishment.The bathroom /toilet have small holes in the floor resulting in insects crawling in.
(e) Food prices in Escape Restaurant are relatively higher than the restaurants located outside the resort.The presentation of the food in Escape Restaurant was impressive but the taste was blend.
If you are contemplating in staying at Away Ko Kood Resort weigh the pros and cons before deciding which factors are more important for you.For me I will choose a resort facing the waterfront on my next visit to Ko Kood,

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean facing bungalows on street level
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chan_pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lertwath C, General Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Khun Chan_pup,

“Sawasdee Krap”

Thank you very much for spend your time to share your valuable review.
We thank you for your positive comment about our staffs and apologize for the inconvenient and that we could not provide our service to meet your expectation. We truly appreciated for your points you have raised and noted for your comment as it will certainly help our team to improvements our service for better the guest experience.
Should there be anything our team could assist, please feel free to contact us.
“Khob Khun Krap”

With Best Regards,
Lertwath Chanchuen General Manager & Away Koh Kood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews