We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
23
25
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
25
11
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We have a three night stay at this hotel, we base ourselves here for Tyrona National Park. A taxi from Santa Marta airport cost 40.000 pesos

We arrive in the morning and didn't expected that our room is available, we can immediately go to our room. We arrived in Taganga on the 23rd of december which is quiet and we're the only guest in the hotel that time.

Our room is located upstairs, a very spacious airconditioning room with a king size bed and plenty of space inside, and free wifi

A semi kitchen with fridge and complete with utensils. However we haven't used it

The bathroom is also very spacious, but only cold water shower

We had a balcony where we can sit outside

The breakfast is included in the room price, you get a breakfast voucher during check-in. The breakfast is served in the cafeteria next door: El Reef, you can choose on 6 different menus

The location of this hotel is just on the corner of Taganga mainstreet close to everything such restaurants, bars, beach and the pier for boats. For the price this is worthwhile

They have airport service if you request, but we took a taxi

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShavyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina R, Director de Recepción at Svahns Apartment Hotel Taganga, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thanks for your review, it' s really important for us, we are glad you enjoyed your day in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This is a small apartment/hotel, only six rooms. It is very secure and well located, just a few meters from the beach and tiendas and restaurants. Our bed was huge and comfortable. The wi-fi worked well. The cleaning people can do your laundry cheaply, so no need to use one of the many lavanderias in town. The entrance is secured as well. The rooftop terrace is delightful. The staff is really nice. The only issue is noise. The building keeps out the noise of the streets nearby and their blaring music. However, we were downstairs with the patio table for the apartment next door directly outside our room. We had the misfortune of the occupants being three young guys who played music and conversed loudly, well after midnight, each night they were here. The first night we asked them to be a little quieter as we had to be up at 6:30 for full day diving and snorkeling excursions. This did not matter to them at all. There is no one on site to enforce any rules, in spite of the fact that we understood that someone would be here. So, our sleep experiences were not so good. One should note that there is no hot water at all, so showering is best when one is overheated.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We had a nice undisturbed stay here in Svahns Apartment Hotel.. We were 4 friends in 4 bedroom apartment. It was clean, spacious and very good located! Just few meters from the beach I highly recommend! Don't forget to visit El Mirador disco

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kilo_hurkikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We arrived to Svahns apartment early Wednesday morning after visiting Tayrona National Park. Up until that point our stay in Colombia had been amazing. When we arrived at the make shift reception (a bedroom with a Desktop computer) we were told that our reservation could not be located. Even given the fact I had produced our reservation email from Hotels.com. To make the situation even worse, the lady working that particular day was unfriendly and unhelpful. After prolonged discussions she finally found our reservation.

Once we entered the room we found out that the Hotel does not provide hot water. This meant cold showers.

The bathroom was a wet room which didnt drain water properly. Therefore it meant anybody wanting to use the toilet after a shower was lucky to make out alive without a broken leg or dislocated shoulder.

The beds were uncomfortable and linen not fresh. My friend ended up sleeping on the floor as it was more comfortable.

Around 6pm on the Wednesday night, we abruptly got a knock at the door asking for us to pay for the room now or we would be kicked out. Further we were told that the card machine was not working and we would have to pay cash. This was in complete contrast to what "hotels.com" had written in our reservation. Given that Taganga only has one cash machine in the whole town which very often runs out of cash.

Reception was not open at 8am (as advertised) so we could check out.

Overall I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Taganga to firstly consider a stay in Santa Marta and just get a bus to Taganga or Taxi if your doing your diving. However if you do decide to stay Taganga stay away from this hotel! This service is awful especially considering the money paid for one night.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! If there is nothing in Taganga go Santa marta
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Relaxing, kind service and good breakfast. We loved the staff and the location at Svahns. They extended our stay and helped us with alternative accommodation when we were in a bind. Rooms are nothing special, but they are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews