We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOMAPHOBIC B&B” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromasaig Bed & Breakfast

Cromasaig Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinlochewe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cromasaig Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Kinlochewe B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“HOMAPHOBIC B&B”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

I booked to stay at this B&B as it looked nice and took dogs. Little did I know how homaphobic the owners are. They state that they are very friendly and welcoming. Initially after the frist confirmation email that we had successfuly booked a room I was asked the name of my husband and dog. In my reply I advised i was coming with my civil partner (wife) and that we were married 4 years. I then received an email telling me to refrain from calling my partner my wife and that marriage was only between man and woman. This is a very discriminatory statement and in fact I am saddened by this attitude. We will not be staying there and I would advise anyone of any diversity from what they think is normal NOT to stay there.

Stayed October 2010
Helpful?
131 Thank Maz025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
19
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

This was my 10th visit to this superbe Bed and Breakfast .There is a warm welcome from the hosts and a log burning stove in the guests' living room with lots to read in the evenings.The rooms are well appointed with separate private bathrooms .Tom has been a very experienced mountaineer and prints out a weather forecast every day for guest's convenience -he is a fund of knowledge on the mountains and the area in general .
Tom and Liz are very interested in wildlife and have a large variety of birds and mammals visiting their garden -- including a visit form a pine martin one evening -apparently there are a family of pine martins living in the local pine forest .
Liz is a truely excellent cook and we had three delicious meals in their large farmhouse kitchen --meals are served with the hosts and other guests so the atmosphere is very convivial to conversation .
I have the added benefit of a specially cooked vegan meal which is very much appreciated .
I can thoroughly recommend this establishment and look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Booked 3 night stay for a walking break on my own, arrived about 5pm to be offered tea & cake. Breakfasts were splendid with choice of real porridge or cereals then any combination of a the full monty, including choice of type & number of eggs, everything freshly cooked,with good quality ingedients. Cosy lounge containing a huge selection of walking books with comfy chairs & a wood burning stove in the evening . Tom very helpful with advice on walks & local birds & wildlife. My 'single' room was actually a nice twin on the ground floor with the 'ensuite' opposite the front door (so be aware if you need an attached bathroom) however this was large with a good shower & nice towels. Overall very good accomodation, nice people & excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crispybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

The hospitality at Cromasaig House was excellent. The value was terrific, esp for a solo traveller as they do not charge the usual penalising supplement for single occupancy. The host and hostess here are both knowledgeable and helpful about the local area and Scotland more generally (besides other topics). The scenery in this area is stupendous and the birdlife cultivated by the owners of this house is uniquely varied and accessible. It was truly a pleasure to stay with people who have such respect for the integrity and history of their location. And if this does not interest you, why not ask them to heat up the sauna? It would take a while but is a most unusual facility in accomodation of this size. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morning Train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

The surrounding area is majestic and the Cromasaig generally represents good value for the money. I don't think the rooms have a radio or TV, at least mine didn't. Tom and Liz do their very best to provide a good service. They are both nice people and I would recommend this accommodation to any nationality other than Americans. I am a dual national, American & British by birth. For whatever the reason, Tom has a great deal of bitterness to some Americans / America -- particularily American servicemen. I think my recommendation would reduce unnecessary stress for both concerned.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank golfingthelinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochewe
0.0 km away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 km away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromasaig Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromasaig Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cromasaig Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kinlochewe IV22 2PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochewe
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned, family oriented, family friendly B&B set amidst the Torridon Mountains of North West Scotland. Run by Scots with an intimate knowledge of the area, its wildlife and mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing