We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Freshwater East, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen L
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not quite what we were expecting”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This cottage is comfortable and well equipped (although towels are not provided) but we were disappointed to find that the lovely garden in the photos actually belongs to the neighbours. They were friendly and welcoming and made it clear that we were very welcome to use the garden but they also like entertaining. When we were staying they had a party in the garden on several occasions so we didn't feel comfortable going outside with all their guesst, even though it was very warm. Actually it was difficult to find any peace even in the house as it was too hot to keep the windows closed and they were in the garden until midnight,, on one occasion. There is a patio area owned by the cottage but it is not at all private.If you want privacy, don't stay here.
Also, all the bedrooms have at least one unshaded window so it gets light in the rooms very early.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review. The garden is part owned by me (not just the patio but a large area) and includes exclusive use of a unique tower for relaxing on warm summer evenings. Yes it is left unfenced and most guests comment that they enjoyed the open grounds and ability to walk right to the sea without crossing any main roads. Our neighbours also let guests use the swings, trampoline etc but I appreciate not everyone will want these. Ive not known them to have a party before so while I apologise, I trust it does not put others off coming. I’ve stayed there many times and enjoy the seclusion it offers, and judging the feedback from the vast majority of guests this arrangement suits most.
This summer has been exceptionally hot and I appreciate that on such rare occasions (!) it may be quite warm. However all the windows open wide and a fan is provided. I’m not aware of many other UK holiday cottages providing anything else such as air conditioning but I’m happy to look into this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharron S
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We were greeted by next door ( lovely people ) who we got on extremely well with. Prior to negative comments from past guests, they were extremely helpful and friendly.....
This cottage is a delight. My kids didn't want to go home and jasper our well behaved German shepherd loved it too... Beautiful setting and garden with everything for the kids... All amenities in the cottage it was comfortable, clean and we certainly want to return. Thankyou for a wonderful 3 days

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharron T
1 review
“Perfect family get away”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This amazing cottage was the nicest break away we have had as a family of 4 and Jasper our 1 year old German shepherd.
The lady next door greeted us with a warm welcome to a quirky clean and spacious cottage with everything we needed for 4 days.
Beds were comfy, plenty of hot water,all appliances including tv's in every room. It was perfect.
The garden was something else!! We all ventured out on the pirate ship, swings,trampoline,kids slide, horses and ducks
The weather made it exceptional.The scenery was breath taking and we didn't want to leave....
We would and shall return in a heartbeat.. Thankyou so very much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura-Jan...
1 review
“Great place, lovely setting and accommodation”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A lovely welcoming barn conversion, with plenty of room for the whole family, all the essentials for a self catering stay and within an easy walk to the beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing