We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms; excellent views; good food”
Review of The Ship

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We always enjoy a stay at the Ship. The rooms are very good; particularly the Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton rooms, but the others are good too. We have stayed here several times and have always had a good stay. The restaurant is very good and the breakfasts excellent.

Room Tip: The superior rooms (Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton) are best, with great views of the Dee estuary, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

My husband booked the accommodation to coincide with our wedding anniversary. The location and views were lovely looking over the river towards north Wales.
The Hotel was characteristic and higgledy-piggledy as older buildings are. He paid a reasonable rate for DBB. Honest pub grub, decent breakfast and cosy ensuite bedroom. The mattress was not too comfy with buttons sticking out (no mattress protector/cover either). Staff could have been friendlier - very busy in the restaurant at the start of evening meal service, better service as the evening wore on.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laydebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We very recently used this hotel for a family gathering for a bereavement in the family. The hotel provided us with a private space, a really nice buffet and excellent service.
The staff and management were most helpful and we would like to express our gratitude for a job well done. Thank you to all at the Ship.

Room Tip: Cannot comment as only used the restaurant facilities at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank GazzaKent_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We went out to have a local lunch! The Ship was a delight. The food was good...some of the chips a little bit of a crisp more than chip! But we'd definitely eat here again and recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank barbnick2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in the family room, which was the last room available.

The room was clean and comfortable. Booked direct and got a great deal compared to all the online hotel sites.

Staff were friendly and attentive and the evening dinner was very good.

Superb location over the Estuary. Sat outside and chillled out with a decent ale watching the sunset over the Welsh hills in the distance.

Oh, forgot to mention that the hotel has a large barriered car park.

Would definitely use again if in the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkgate
3.1 km away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,405 reviews
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
3.8 km away
The Jug & Bottle
The Jug & Bottle
#1 of 1 in Heswall
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship

Address: The Parade | Wirral, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Parkgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkgate
Price Range: €71 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Parkgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing