We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real slice of Ireland ”

Burkes Bar and Restaurant , Clonbur , Co. Galway
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Clonbur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$34
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Burke's Clonbur is a Family run Bar & Restaurant in the beautiful village of Clonbur , Co. Galway . Our Bar is Old World , it's like stepping back in time. The Dining room over looks the beautiful Country side of Joyce Country, Enjoy the sun set from our dining room. The Burke Family are in Mount Gable House since 1922 . Four generations of the family .
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

If it's fancy dan food, looking pretty, but not filling the gap you're after then move on to Dublin. If you want tasty pub grub in a bar restaurant setting to fuel your walk up Mount Gable or day out fishing Stop!
A family run institution the welcome here is genuinely warm and Irish. A good selection of pub grub including Cod and Chips, Roast of the Day and Chowder with home baked brown soda. If you are man or woman enough, try my personal favourite, their epic club sandwich. I've eaten them all over Ireland and the UK - there's is the best by a country mile. Coffee refills and teapot top ups done just to keep you talking! Kids are welcomed and openly involved in proceedings. Although a pub, the emphasis is on food with clear demarcation lines. The few local drinkers are friendly and well behaved, welcoming and keen to swap a story or two if you want to engage. A charming slice of old Ireland hospitality with all necessary modern amenities. I believe they have guest rooms for overnights too.

Date of visit: December 2016
2  Thank Periwonkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Called in here while staying locally for a pizza. Sat at the counter, easy conversation with the barman. We were all happy with our choice of pizzas, the ciders went down a treat too! Good value, definitely will return.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We visited today with a family of 5. The Main course was well presented with freah vegetables .. and keenly priced.
On a negative note charging for a portion of chips considering the bill was almost 100.00 was a suprise. They lacked flavor and were not portion controlled..
Also stacking the used plates with food debris on the bar counter was off putting to guests eating close by.
Also eye contact with the guests by the waitress sends out a positive message of appreciation. There was no contact.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Companion8570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This Pub is everything you could ask for! Its family run, the inside is warm and welcoming! The food there is so so so so so good! The protions sizes are generous, the food itself is always cooked perfectly! Live music on a sunday night, you need to go to that! Best Pub in Ireland!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank the3mouthketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This place was recommended to us by our Inn Keeper. It is everything a country Pub should be. Warm and welcoming it is family run. The food and service were great.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burkes Bar and Restaurant , Clonbur , Co. Galway also viewed

Clonbur, County Galway
 

Been to Burkes Bar and Restaurant , Clonbur , Co. Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing