We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to basic and Dive ~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Basic accommodation, heartwarming service. Not to mention u can get a Superb sunset view from AH. Great diving experiences, and acoustics guitar jamming at night . Plus point , the instructor is superb patient, I took my refresher course with AH back in 2014,November, because of them, they are bringing back my passion about diving ! im definitely will be back to AH .

Room Tip: every room is the same, just make yourself out from the room during sunset time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenndeomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2015

Overall are basic. Just nice stay for backpackers style. Nice location which near to villagers. The sunset view is awesome from here. One thing that need to be improved, the local staff at this resort have to more sensitive and alert with basic thing like well prepared of the room when the time of guest arrival, on time of dinner preparation, and yes the electricity here is so limited. If you are more into comfortable vacation, please go to hotel or resort which also available in this island. Overall i was okay with my stay, even there were changes on my itinerary where my second night at this homestay has been shortened by the owner due to certain circumstances which were acceptable by us.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AwanEzallief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Beautiful place to enjoy our stay and join the life of the people who live their lives here even for a short time. Our guide even told us their story of how they make their living. They even cook us a nice food for dinner and breakfast. Our friendly tour guide also took us to many islands around the area, including the beautiful Bohey Dulang, Sapi Island, Sipadan island, etc. We enjoyed snorkelling, diving and barbecuing for lunch. The fish they provide was very fresh. they also put much effort to make our stay memorable by taking us to their trip to one of the beach where we were greeted by the Bajau Laut children. Also went for a visit to one of the Bajau Laut place where they dried up seaweeds to sell in Semporna town. Overall it was truly a great experience. I don't think there is a better Home stay than this.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lya2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This home stay is on the other side of the island compared to the resorts like Scuba Junkie. It's a 5 minutes walk through the village where the locals live.

It's in no way as nice as the resorts, and I ended up going there to use their bar and their diving/snorkeling offers. The day I didn't join an activity, I used the beach on the resort side, as the snorkeling there was great. Outside Arung Hayat it was only sand.

The positive side was the the food they served was quite tasteful.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OddNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your kidnest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

My friend had been to this place and recommended it so we went together. The experience she had with us was very different. From the start the management was unreliable and didn't answer our questions and wanted to over charge us on accommodation and transport (don't book transport with them it's way more expensive).
The whole of Mabul island is unfortunately very polluted and dirty. The high end resorts have better waste management and water treatment, but low end places like Arung Hayat and the local "village" are just dumping everything on the island or in the sea. Dumping plastic in an area with wildlife and turtles is going to kill the fauna.
Each room is less than basic. The dirty water from the cold shower and toilets is evacuated right below each barack directly in the sea water, where they actually teach diving ! There is no filter, no incitation to use eco detergents, soaps, ... no waste treatment. The place is disgusting.
When you see how they prepare the meals it definitely puts you off wanting to eat there although it's included.
We had a room just next to the reception and dining room. So we had people spend the whole day sitting right in front of our room. No intimacy, no possibility of opening the windows unless you want to have every one staring at you and looking at what you're doing. The kitchen staff turned on the radio at 6am, good bye morning rest. Anyway the whole place is so hot and humid you don't want to stay in the room.
There is no electricity in the day, only from 6pm.The electric generators work all night for additional noise. One evening there also was no water. They turned back the water in the night which made the plastic pipes pop in the bathroom and terrible water fall noise. We fixed it by ourselves and it happened again at 6 am...
The snorkelling equipment is not good.
My friend had booked a room for herself and payed extra for it, not to share. But 30mn after we arrived they asked if she would share with a man who just arrived at the resort and had a booking... They did find another solution. But she also won't ever come back to this place.
To top it all, we took the boat back to semporna jetty with their transport. But they actually left us somewhere else where a mini bus was waiting for other people and then drove to semporna. So the trip almost took double the time. Really need to plan a lot of time for the transport and unreliable people like this.
Seriously avoid this place.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank LaetiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
26.1 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
0 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
26.2 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.4 km away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
0.1 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arung Hayat Sea Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arung Hayat Sea Adventures

Address: 245 Jalan Pinggir Bakau, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: €31 - €48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a locals with Arung Hayat Homestay!! Located just above the sea water, our guesthouse provide clean, nice and comfortable place for you to stay. The beautiful scenery of pulau mabul with its clear blue sea water will surely amaze you. Since its early years as a guesthouse, Arung Hayat has undergone major renovations and improvement. It begins with a single house with 5 rooms but as our guest increased we extended into 10 rooms but over the years our guest keep knocking at our door hence we decided to built more rooms so today we have total 31 rooms already. (Meals are served 3 times a day with unlimited hot drinks). The long houses are built on stilts overlooking the turquoise waters of the Celebes Sea with a splendid sun set view. All rooms have an en-suite bathroom with 3 types selections either fan, Air-conditioned and VIP room. Electricity runs from 6pm to 6am, like in most places on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arung Hayat Sea Adventures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing