We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
26
23
8
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
23
8
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobsterscuba divingfan roomlunch and dinnerelectricityagodapackagelifesipadan
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Went for 3D2N with family for full board package. Stayed at newly constructed "VIP" room facing the sea. Decent food, clean room. Did snorkeling 4x with family members. Spotted a turtle swimming just outside accommodation. Worth the trip.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank razalip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Basic accomodation but excellent service from my agent ( kembara pulau semporna ) and also from Arong Hayat staff and kids. Worth for every single cent you paid with delicious food serve and also wonderful people in Semporna and also Mabul island. The agency really keep in touch and update us from time to time. We definately will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazlinaahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

basically you get what you paid for, the room with fan, and the mattresses is ok, clean without any rat or cockroach...attached bathroom is basic, food is simple, some may dont like but it's a budget style, dont expect more unless you buy some lobster from the sea ppl and let them cook.

now, for the worst part, the water is clear but it can be clearer, those sea gypsies threw practically everything to the sea, from shitting till washing anything..wat we should do is educate them but sadly it's not being done...am afraid to even take a dip in the water in front of the chalet.. government should really do something bout it or even those chalet owners...

we charted a boat which consist of 3 kids from arung shop in semporna,no details was taken, although it should be legitimate tour operator but i doubt it as nothing was written or any information bout us, if we got lost in the sea, defnitely no1 will now bout it...and sadly, the 3 kids stole our money during our snorkeling trip, im 100% sure it was them and it's abit dumb to steal as it's only us and the kids... total of RM200 taken.. i din voice out anything considering im at the island and thinking of my own safety...so when going back to mainland, the 3 kids ask someone other fella to drive the boat, and once reached the mainland, we complain to the shop in semporna and it doesnt seems suprise..i could have walk away once reaches the mainland without paying anything but didnt do it and decided to tell the shop operator...good for him decided to cover the loses and hopefuly it will not happen anymore...i hve been going to all over asia and left the wallet in the van or restaurant or the boat and this is the first time someone stupidly stole our money....

apart from tat, the island is still fantastic...

Room Tip: apart from Uncle Chang, i would rate the next best budget accommodation to Arung...cleaner then the others
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Firstly, I would like to highlight that Arung Hayat didn't follow basic safety measurements whilst transporting their tourist to Mabul.
1. None of our identities were taken down. No information on our passport number, names. Nothing whatsoever. If our boats were to capsize or if one of the tourist were to get lost in the sea.. no one would know who they are because none of us were registered.
2. Half of the tourist on the speed boat had life jackets. Food and gasoline were brought on the boat. and the boat man was clearly smoking while manning the engines that were near the gasoline.
3. The disembarkation of tourist were from the 'teachers' jetty - which is supposed to be for teachers. AND YET, they charged their tourist the 'tourist jetty' fee which was RM2 for local tourist and RM 10 for international tourist. To a few of us, it might just be a small amount. But, allowing this to happen to 1000 tourist - Arung Hayat will be able to collect a fee intended for the utlilization of a proper tourist jetty. This is daylight robbery!!!

Your company should be probed immediately before someone looses his/her life to your poor management and governance!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Clarine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback! I’m very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and will be sure to review your comments with my staff in an effort to improve the experiences for our future customers.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was here couple of years back actually so I don't know whether this review is applicable or not.
Anyway, we only stayed for 1 night but that 1 night had been interesting.

Basic accommodation. Well at least the toilet sewage system were properly aligned.
Food was so-so..also basic. First time in my life I saw a really huge tuna with my 2 big eyes!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews