We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor management but good staff, diving and good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The management didn't tell you anything and poor transportation arrangement. We booked a pickup "taxi" service RM 100 per car but it is not a car, only a mini van. Fine! They told you the boat schedule after arrived in their office and asked you to wait 3 hours. Okay! Then, we requested a flexible earlier and remind them in counter and office too. They said okay. However, they told you the boat schedule was changed more and more early in the return morning and told you to wait the taxi again in their office. So surprising and angry! When we tried to discuss with them and asked for the reason but the management only told you "It is my place, my company and my car". What kind of the service !!!!!!!!!!!
All electrical power supplied in all kinds of room only was from 6pm to 6am and 2pm to 4pm. (They didn't tell you during booking and check-in, only told you after stop of supply and asked)
Room tips: VIP sea view was blocked by the construction of a new diving shop

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Crystal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback! I’m very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and will be sure to review your comments with my staff in an effort to improve the experiences for our future customers.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Went for 3D2N with family for full board package. Stayed at newly constructed "VIP" room facing the sea. Decent food, clean room. Did snorkeling 4x with family members. Spotted a turtle swimming just outside accommodation. Worth the trip.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank razalip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Basic accomodation but excellent service from my agent ( kembara pulau semporna ) and also from Arong Hayat staff and kids. Worth for every single cent you paid with delicious food serve and also wonderful people in Semporna and also Mabul island. The agency really keep in touch and update us from time to time. We definately will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazlinaahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

basically you get what you paid for, the room with fan, and the mattresses is ok, clean without any rat or cockroach...attached bathroom is basic, food is simple, some may dont like but it's a budget style, dont expect more unless you buy some lobster from the sea ppl and let them cook.

now, for the worst part, the water is clear but it can be clearer, those sea gypsies threw practically everything to the sea, from shitting till washing anything..wat we should do is educate them but sadly it's not being done...am afraid to even take a dip in the water in front of the chalet.. government should really do something bout it or even those chalet owners...

we charted a boat which consist of 3 kids from arung shop in semporna,no details was taken, although it should be legitimate tour operator but i doubt it as nothing was written or any information bout us, if we got lost in the sea, defnitely no1 will now bout it...and sadly, the 3 kids stole our money during our snorkeling trip, im 100% sure it was them and it's abit dumb to steal as it's only us and the kids... total of RM200 taken.. i din voice out anything considering im at the island and thinking of my own safety...so when going back to mainland, the 3 kids ask someone other fella to drive the boat, and once reached the mainland, we complain to the shop in semporna and it doesnt seems suprise..i could have walk away once reaches the mainland without paying anything but didnt do it and decided to tell the shop operator...good for him decided to cover the loses and hopefuly it will not happen anymore...i hve been going to all over asia and left the wallet in the van or restaurant or the boat and this is the first time someone stupidly stole our money....

apart from tat, the island is still fantastic...

Room Tip: apart from Uncle Chang, i would rate the next best budget accommodation to Arung...cleaner then the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Firstly, I would like to highlight that Arung Hayat didn't follow basic safety measurements whilst transporting their tourist to Mabul.
1. None of our identities were taken down. No information on our passport number, names. Nothing whatsoever. If our boats were to capsize or if one of the tourist were to get lost in the sea.. no one would know who they are because none of us were registered.
2. Half of the tourist on the speed boat had life jackets. Food and gasoline were brought on the boat. and the boat man was clearly smoking while manning the engines that were near the gasoline.
3. The disembarkation of tourist were from the 'teachers' jetty - which is supposed to be for teachers. AND YET, they charged their tourist the 'tourist jetty' fee which was RM2 for local tourist and RM 10 for international tourist. To a few of us, it might just be a small amount. But, allowing this to happen to 1000 tourist - Arung Hayat will be able to collect a fee intended for the utlilization of a proper tourist jetty. This is daylight robbery!!!

Your company should be probed immediately before someone looses his/her life to your poor management and governance!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Clarine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

“Thank you for your honest feedback! I’m very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and will be sure to review your comments with my staff in an effort to improve the experiences for our future customers.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
26.1 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
0 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
26.2 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.4 km away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
0.1 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arung Hayat Sea Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arung Hayat Sea Adventures

Address: 245 Jalan Pinggir Bakau, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: €31 - €48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a locals with Arung Hayat Homestay!! Located just above the sea water, our guesthouse provide clean, nice and comfortable place for you to stay. The beautiful scenery of pulau mabul with its clear blue sea water will surely amaze you. Since its early years as a guesthouse, Arung Hayat has undergone major renovations and improvement. It begins with a single house with 5 rooms but as our guest increased we extended into 10 rooms but over the years our guest keep knocking at our door hence we decided to built more rooms so today we have total 31 rooms already. (Meals are served 3 times a day with unlimited hot drinks). The long houses are built on stilts overlooking the turquoise waters of the Celebes Sea with a splendid sun set view. All rooms have an en-suite bathroom with 3 types selections either fan, Air-conditioned and VIP room. Electricity runs from 6pm to 6am, like in most places on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arung Hayat Sea Adventures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing