We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
32
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water dispenser shaded pool selection of dvds large fridge would stay again stayed for nights nat property nusa power island bike privacy bali massage snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Gecko Bungalows is a great place to stay when you're visiting Nusa Lembongan! It's near the tip of the island's main road so it's not as crowded, which is a good thing. Everything can easily be reached by scooter which Gecko Bungalows can arrange for you.

The bungalows itself are really clean and modern and I'm guessing quite new, perhaps a few years old. The room facilities are great as it even has a water dispenser which servers hot water instantly.

The staff is friendly as well: Carla was temporarely substituting for the owners as they had to go back to Australia for some errands. She provided some good info about the island and she helped arranging the rental scooters and the snorkeling trip. Thanks again for the services!

The only downside I can think of is the airconditioning because it'll take a really long time before the room is at the desired temperature. My girlfriend and I had no trouble sleeping though as it never gets too hot.

I'd recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KennyS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Owner at Gecko Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you I happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This was a 1 night stay and I wish it was longer! There are only 5 bungalows and the place looks brand new. Josie was looking after the place for the owner and she was amazing. Great to talk to and organised the BEST massage I have had in all of Indon. If you go ask her to organise Mamek to come and massage you..right near the pool on a great massage bed. The rooms were big, spotless and the bed super comfortable. Everything here was just perfect. The pool is cool and covered which was great. We would love to come back and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Every room is great
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shelaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Owner at Gecko Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for you lovely review I'm glad you had a lovely time we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Yeah it pains me to write this review, I was really looking forward to staying here but some hard truths need to be said so people don't get the wrong idea about this place, arrive and leave sorely disappointed.

Cons:
- The property is on the far edge of the island next to almost nothing, don't be fooled by some of the hotel websites that make looks like pristine beaches and a dozen high-end hotels are nearby. There is only one big hotel at the end of the street and it's really really average.
- Yes, it's across the road and a single property under construction from the water but it's really desolate at that end of town and what's out there is very low end and sparse. You basically need scooters to ride 10-15 minutes to anywhere decent or be prepared to walk 90 minutes round trip to any of the good bars/restaurants.
- The property has zero views. It's across the road from the beach and another property is being built directly in front of it.
- The aircon kind of terrible, it really struggles during the day to keep the room cool, basically avoid being in the room between the hours of 9am and 7:00pm.
- The water provided in the room is hand made, not sure what that means but it isn't bottled water or imported from a bottling company from the mainland ... drink at your own risk.
- The bathroom is basically the same room as the bungalow, I don't know how or where I got confused thinking it had an open outdoor shower that i thought was external to the bungalow. Well it isn't, it's inside the bungalow and the ceiling space is shared.
- The walls are paper thin, so there is next to no privacy. Everyone can hear what you are saying if your voice travels even a little bit.
- Parking you bike is a nightmare, everyday you wake up someone has moved you bike. The property next door appears to be hostile and doesn't like you parking your bike in front of their property.
- Streets around the property has no lighting (dangerous, can get hit by a scooter)
There is a complete construction site going on in front of the property with debris all over the place so it's pretty dangerous for young children and it can be rather tough getting in and out on scooters because there is no paved road to the premises.
- WI-FI is hit and miss, some days it works some days it doesn't and it's generally slow. Others it would work in the morning then go to completely garbage for hours at a time. I'm only guessing but maybe it can't handle a full house of guests across the 5 bungalows.
- The fridge in the room never gets refilled, i guess if I asked it would but there is never anyone around as the place was mostly un-managed during our stay.
- The power also went out for 3-4 hours on one day, there is no back up generator.
Beach at the front is not suitable for swimming, in fact most of the island isn't.
The beach at the front is impossible to enjoy for pretty much any activity, if it's not the ton of broken coral and garbage scatter all over it, it's the sand flies that come out in force after 6:30 PM when the sun sets.
- Property has zero lighting at night, you need your phone light on to avoid walking into things.
- There is no security, we're on the property complete on our own for hours at time after 3:00pm. If something happens your on your own and need to call for help. Good luck... i could think of a 1000 reasons why you'd want even one person on the property.
- The cleaning/gardening/maintenance staff really struggle with English, i'm not judging i can't speak Indonesian and they try their best but when you have no management on-site and the power goes out and they dont understand they struggle to understand the word "Power" or "electricity" then it's a little hard to relax.
- The property was more or less unmanaged for most of our stay. There was relief staff intermittently around but they were notoriously difficult to get a hold of and getting a hold of them wasn't easy for several reasons. For instance if you don't have a phone or your phone doesn't work (bad signal coverage) or you're out of credit you're out of luck there is no other way to contact anyone without trawling the internet for email addresses and facebook pages and that's if you have internet access provide from the WI-FI which you can only get if some staff are there. After 3:00 PM you're really out of luck and will need to either ask other guests if their around or head back into town to find a phone/internet access to get a hold of someone if you can and be prepared to wait.

Pros:

- The bungalows are more or less new
- The bungalows have a bit of room (are pretty big for what they are), i never felt really cramped.
- The pool is really clean and is a decent size given the overall size of the property. It's nice but lets get seriously it's a backyard pool let's note overstate it. It's not an infinity pool on the beach with views and a bar.
- Cleaners do a good job of cleaning the rooms everyday.
- The guy who organizes the scooters and snorkeling was awesome
- There are good restaurants around the island, they are just miles from this property so without scooters you'll be walking for hours to no end.
- The locals are pretty awesome
- It's a relatively inexpensive property to stay at compared to other place
- The property has tried to make something easy for you by providing you with a list of local activities and prices with a phone number (if it works) to book.

This budget accommodation, you get a budget experience. Don't expect anything more and you'll probably enjoy the place a lot more than I did but the 5 star ratings being handed out are ridiculous. That said, some people might really like the completely un-managed experience and the adventure of not knowing if or when anyone is going to be around and just figuring it out on your own. If you're into that then again this might be your cup of tea.

Side note, for people not familiar with the island. Nusa L. Is great for like 2-3 nights tops. Unless you're a surfer or you really love snorkeling/diving and plan to get your diving ticket. Don't get me wrong the reef that you can access around the surrounding islands that you can get to with a 20 minute boat ride are amazing and are the best i've seen rivaling most popular dive spots across the world.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imaguy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Where to start...Nat and Paul have tried to think of everything when they put this place together.Its only a little group of 5 bungalows around a small shaded pool but they have really gone to town with all the little things and special touches to try and make your stay with them as comfy as possible.
Beautifully constructed bungalows with nice quality fittings,fixtures and design ideas.
Super comfy mattress and pillows with dutch wife pillow to cuddle up to(yay)
Fan and quiet AC...Good lighting!
Roman blinds,frosted windows, fly screen on the front sliding doors.
Large fridge.. a special machine that gives you filtered boiling water and cold water at the press of a button..complimentary coffee, tea and milk. Beers in the fridge just in case!
Large TV with a DVD player (selection of dvds available in your bungalow to use for free) Mossie repel plug ins and repel spray.
All the toiletries you need, towels etc,plus a hairdryer-bonus! Good shower pressure and nice (not salty like you can find in some other places) hot water.
Balcony to the front with a ceiling fan(good idea) bottle openers on the pillars(another good idea) chairs, table and drying rack.Well kept garden,beautiful large leafed palms.
Natalie did everything in her power to make our stay a memorable one,very helpful,friendly and accommodating. No breakfast but we found it nice and relaxing to be able to lie in and take the day slowly-lots of shops and restaurants nearby anyway if needed. Nat helped arrange really good bikes to rent.
Sadly, new building to the front of the property made it look a bit like a building site at the time of our visit,but work didnt start til 8/9am so it wasnt an issue for us noise-wise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 66min66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Owner at Gecko Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks guys what a lovely review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay hopefully when you come back again there will be a nice beach club in front to enjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Great location, and close to fabulous family operated restaurants. Cute little complex of just 5 bungalows around the pool, very peacefull, terrific value for money, and Natalie helped with booking boat transfers, scooters, and snorkeling tour. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Owner at Gecko Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you I'm happy you enjoyed your stay hope to see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews