We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
460
140
63
34
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
460
140
63
34
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well stocked mini bar steak plaice wine list by the glass crab standard room lovely meal liver large bathroom saturday evening prawns a lovely place to stay pudding well worth a visit menu pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

I visited The Crown with 4 other friends to celebrate a special birthday.
The outside seating area is fantastic and looks really pretty.
Our table was under the tipee and right next to one of the heaters, we were also provided with blankets as well.
The staff were excellent, polite and friendly.
The food was delicious and all of us had a great time. I hope to return again in the future.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LuckyF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re so glad you had a memorable birthday at The Crown! So many special occasions have been postponed over the past year, it’s exciting to be able start planning again.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

We booked for my dad’s birthday and read the reviews of late and were a little worried! We decided to go ahead with the wind and rain lashing down. I honestly cannot fault one part of our evening. Servers Alice and a tall blonde girl were incredibly efficient, we were never wanting for anything. The food was top notch. The chicken liver pate was a bit of a star on the sharing board! But all was absolutely delicious. So much choice. And the mains are served with cloches to keep it warm! If you’re worried about being warm - don’t. We were in the corner of the tipi. We all dressed sensibly and brought extra layers but were all happily sat in jeans and a jacket with some utilising the blankets provided later in the evening. If I’m doubt - book! We even got a candle in the cheeseboard!

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank swood549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The last few weeks have been challenging, especially with the inclement weather, but I’m confident that my staff have gone the extra mile to keep our customers comfortable and well fed.
Feedback has been, for the most part, so positive and encouraging, it makes all the effort totally worthwhile.
Thank you for such a glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday , excellent reviews but we were disappointed.
Strange atmosphere, busy with customers but the staff were difficult to engage with. Constantly had to wave them over to order drinks, order food etc.
We were later told that it was a restricted menu as they had a problem with the gas supply.
I don’t know if this was the reason for staff lack of enthusiasm.
The food we did have was tasty.
But we didn’t return during our holiday.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Olliesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I’m so sorry that you experienced certain issues during your visit.
Some days, events can conspire against the very best of establishments and a problem with the gas supply is a case in point. We did our utmost that day to maintain the level of service our customers have come to know and I can only apologise that we fell short of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

A tented area with heaters at the front and back of the pub , plus blankets shows the Crown has worked hard to cater for outside eating during the cold April weather.
Good food and great service.
Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

We’ve been here twice since the recent changes to COVID restrictions and have thoroughly enjoyed our lunches. On both occasions the venue has been very busy and clearly popular.

Firstly, congratulations to all involved in making the outdoor setup so welcoming and attractive. It all adds to the ambience and is much appreciated.

On both occasions our food has been superb. A properly cooked Sunday lunch was very flavoursome and so well presented. Yesterday’s lunches hit the spot too and the smaller portion available for my choice was more than ample.

The staff here are an example for other other venues to follow. Every one of them has been charming.

Not the cheapest place around but thank heavens for that; evaluating the overall cost against the sum of everything on offer (not just the food and drink) and we feel our money is well spent here.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 713jaynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews