We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
460
140
63
34
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
460
140
63
34
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well stocked mini bar steak plaice wine list by the glass crab standard room lovely meal liver large bathroom saturday evening prawns a lovely place to stay pudding well worth a visit menu pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

A tented area with heaters at the front and back of the pub , plus blankets shows the Crown has worked hard to cater for outside eating during the cold April weather.
Good food and great service.
Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

We’ve been here twice since the recent changes to COVID restrictions and have thoroughly enjoyed our lunches. On both occasions the venue has been very busy and clearly popular.

Firstly, congratulations to all involved in making the outdoor setup so welcoming and attractive. It all adds to the ambience and is much appreciated.

On both occasions our food has been superb. A properly cooked Sunday lunch was very flavoursome and so well presented. Yesterday’s lunches hit the spot too and the smaller portion available for my choice was more than ample.

The staff here are an example for other other venues to follow. Every one of them has been charming.

Not the cheapest place around but thank heavens for that; evaluating the overall cost against the sum of everything on offer (not just the food and drink) and we feel our money is well spent here.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 713jaynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We recently moved to the area and were excited to eat at our local pub, it is always busy so had high expectations. We were extremely disappointed however and will be reluctant to return. We waited a long time to be served and the food was awful- even the chips were undercooked. We felt it was extremely expensive for both food and drinks and the prices certainly do not reflect the quality of the food we experienced.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ytrwruji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your first visit to The Crown.
We were absolutely delighted to be able to re-open when so many other pubs and restaurants do not have the necessary space, resources or impetus to offer this facility. It has been an enormous undertaking to set up all our outdoor spaces and we know from the volume of bookings just how excited our customers are to be back.
Obviously the current set-up presents its own issues and I am very proud of the way that the floor and kitchen staff have risen to the challenge.
These are difficult times for the industry and we are grateful for our customers’ continued support as we head into the summer. That said, we take all feedback very seriously and would hope you all visit us - or any one of our other Chestnut properties - again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch, the sardines starter superb, roast beef excellent, great that you make your own horseradish but it needs more bite. The efforts to offer outdoor is excellent as was the weather for mid April.

Room tip: Book
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole Barrett, General Manager at The Crown, Stoke By Nayland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

So glad you enjoyed your visit and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

We visited on Friday of the first week of opening.
As all dining is outdoors all the indoor furniture has been moved outside and there is an additional tent. There doesn’t seem to be extra heaters so they are spread more thinly. Where you would always be near a heater there at now only 4 in the large marquee so a lot colder than last year.
The food was disappointing. We enjoyed our starters of Asian tiger prawns and a crab dish but the portions were small. For mains we had salmon which was a decent portion but a very oily dish. Liver and bacon which was too small a portion with no vegetables and steak which looked small. Desert was a caramel rice pudding with banana which was cold and like school dinners, a chocolate delice, small and dry and a mini desert of doughnuts with coffee which for £4 was overpriced as tiny.
This has been our favourite restaurant for a long time, we were disappointed to find portion sizes had changed last summer but now feel the standard of the food is not as good.
The service was ok, we had to queue outside for 10 minutes to be escorted to our table and waited a long time for our first drinks.
All in all a disappointing first meal out after 3 months lockdown, we are used to so much better from the Crown.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank suffolkmilly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews