We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mountain Hostel(Gimmelwald)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pension Gimmelwald(Gimmelwald)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
72
22
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
22
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick stevescreature comfortsthe cool mountain airsome tlcswiss alpshiking trailscow bellsplace to stayglass windowsbreadbeds were comfortablepension gimmelwaldtimvalleyhikeshowercows
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

It's not often that I would give 4 stars (aka a rating of "Very Good") to a place that has community bathrooms, but Hotel Mittaghorn is different. It is old with creaky floors and showers that are run by inserting 1 Franc for 5 minutes of hot water. It's just a rustic old building, but that's really not a bad thing all in all. Because it's a place where you can sit on your balcony (we had room 3 with a balcony and loved it) wrapped up in a thick blanket and count the stars over the Swiss Alps while hearing only the sounds of nature (and the bells on a few nearby cows). Gimmelwald is beautiful and Hotel Mittaghorn gives you a great place to stay in the town.

Breakfast was hearty bread, swiss cheese, and jam with coffee. A winner for sure. And during breakfast, Tim spent time listening to all the different guests and advising each of us on how best to plan our day according to what we wanted to do. He was great! Definitely a solid stay! Thanks, Rick Steves for recommending this place!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rach V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We really appreciated tim's advice for hikes and everything else--he is a wealth of information on local farming practices and paragliding. We enjoyed his showing videos of his paragliding adventures. The hotel is creaky and old but we liked it anyway. The village is pleasant and fun to walk through and less touristy than other nearby towns. Dinners at the pension and pizza at the hostel were delicious--great local places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fitzpat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay. The balcony rooms are fantastic, ask for room 7 or 8, which are the top rooms with balconies (under the word "HOTEL" in the photos). Who cares about the creaky floors or thin walls when you can wrap yourself in a wooly blanket and look at that VIEW? Tim is a gem. Walter a treat. Breakfast simple and good, and Tim is more than happy to entertain you with tips for your day or fascinating videos of his paragliding exploits. A five-minute cable car ride brings you to nearby Mürren if you want more variety than the 2 eateries in Gimmelwald.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are excellent, but any balcony room on the front side will give a jaw-dropping view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merritt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This place was recommended to us by the Rick Steves book. We were drawn to Uncle Rick's description of the hotel...described as bare-bones and wholly authentic. We wanted a rustic stay while in Switzerland, so this description matched what we wanted. When we arrived in Gimmelwald, we found that the Mittaghorn was exactly as described.

Hotel Mittaghorn is simply an old building with rooms and beds. There's only shared bathrooms, and there's a few rooms that have private showers, but for the most part, there's only a community shower (coin-operated, 1 franc for five minutes, but francs are complimentary!). The floors are creaky and the walls are paper-thin. Don't come here expecting five-star accommodations...this is where you come to make a life-long memory and a great story to tell people.

Our room had twin beds with pillows and a duvet. Then there was a sink, and that was all. All of this was moot, since the balcony on the room offered incredible views of the surrounding mountains. As I opened the doors to let the cool mountain air in, I noticed that everything in this place is authentic...all the way down to the led glass windows and iron window latches. It is truly a step back in time.

A very simple breakfast of bread, jam, and decent coffee is provided. There used to be a restaurant and bar here, but the owner and operator of the joint is too old to serve any more, so now the bar sits dormant, a frozen image of the past, where I bet some very good times were had.
Tim, who assists Walter in running the place, is incredibly helpful. You can tell him what you want to do and your time table, and he’ll make a custom plan for you that day…all based around the weather. It’s like having your own Gimmelwald tour planner, conveniently located in your hotel. You can tell Tim is passionate about the area…we told him what all we wanted to do and he suggested a short hike up into the mountains that was so much fun…and gorgeous. Even when a quick thunderstorm came over the mountains and drenched us, it was still completely worth it. Tim’s help really made our stay even that much more memorable.
Staying at Mittaghorn set the mood for what turned out to be an epic weekend getaway in Switzerland. Walter and Tim are genuine people who only add to the time we spent in Gimmelwald and the surrounding area. We hiked, ate, and drank all over the Swiss alps and loved every second of it, with our return back to Mittagshorn for a slumber to recharge the batteries being a rustic cap on the day. I fully intend to return to Gimmelwald and Mittagshorn…hopefully when they get some snow.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

If you'd like to experience the remote serenity and breathtaking scenery of living (temporarily) in the Swiss Alps, then stay here.
This original guest house is authentic right down to the hand-carved bedroom furniture and worn-smooth stairwell railing. Located near the top of the village of Gimmelwald the views from your window are superior and you will be lulled to sleep in small but comfortable beds by the sound of waterfalls and the occasional goat or cow bell.
As if this weren't enough, in the morning you can enjoy breakfast in the dining room served by the hotel manager, Tim. The service Tim provides is as excellent as the panoramas. Hotel Mittaghorn is the perfect base for a number of spectacular hikes and Tim can give you expert advice on all of them as well as the best things to do and places to eat. Our experience here was enjoyable, wonderful, and memorable. We can't wait until we are able to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bjorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews