We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Hear the Cowbells from Just Our Front!!”
Review of Hotel Mittaghorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gimmelwald
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mittaghorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Dates: July 11-12, 2015 (delayed input)

Can’t begin to describe the beauty of our stay at Hotel Mittaghorn! Magical at night hearing the beautiful cow bells in the background as they move about below our open windows. Not another sound out except the distant waterfalls. The cool mountain air was most refreshing and the outline of the Jungfrau, always there!

Two grandparents, two grandchildren (boy 12, girl 10), a sister and her Swiss husband, with 3 days hiking one of the most spectacular area of the Alps!! We all met for a couple of days at Hotel Mittaghorn, some hiking over from Grütschalp, the others up from the gondola in Gimmelwald.

From email reservations several months before, Tim took care of us with two 1st floor rooms facing the Jungfrau and Mittaghorn. At his suggestion, we skipped the initial 7:30pm dinner to hike down to Gimmelwald for fondue and Italian mushroom pasta on Pension Gimmelwald’s outside terrace where the children’s mother had celebrated her 20th birthday with fondue!! Swiss custom has it that dropping your bread into the fondue meant kissing all at your table. We all shared one large piece of very rich Swiss chocolate cake – not a morsel left.

We loved having our family together for long breakfasts and dinner at Hotel Mittaghorn. Leisurely and fun! And The hearty, tasty food!

We hiked the steep road day up to nearby Murren for the day, finding wonderful, tiny strawberries all along the way to eat. Murren was loaded with great Swiss souvenirs, and a place just to enjoy being outside – chess on the lawn, many great views and interesting shops, fountains to drink the sparkling, fresh, cool mountain water.

Day 3 we all gathered at the picnic tables out front for family photos with the huge backdrop of the valley and the Mittaghorn beyond before heading home.

We’ll be back!

Room Tip: First floor with views of Jungfrau and Mittaghorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelinmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Manager at Hotel Mittaghorn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Many thanks for the review, even if it is a little delayed!
Prospective guests should note that the Mittaghorn is B&B only for the last couple of years, and that we no longer serve dinner.
Many thanks,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016

It's not often that I would give 4 stars (aka a rating of "Very Good") to a place that has community bathrooms, but Hotel Mittaghorn is different. It is old with creaky floors and showers that are run by inserting 1 Franc for 5 minutes of hot water. It's just a rustic old building, but that's really not a bad thing all in all. Because it's a place where you can sit on your balcony (we had room 3 with a balcony and loved it) wrapped up in a thick blanket and count the stars over the Swiss Alps while hearing only the sounds of nature (and the bells on a few nearby cows). Gimmelwald is beautiful and Hotel Mittaghorn gives you a great place to stay in the town.

Breakfast was hearty bread, swiss cheese, and jam with coffee. A winner for sure. And during breakfast, Tim spent time listening to all the different guests and advising each of us on how best to plan our day according to what we wanted to do. He was great! Definitely a solid stay! Thanks, Rick Steves for recommending this place!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rach V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We really appreciated tim's advice for hikes and everything else--he is a wealth of information on local farming practices and paragliding. We enjoyed his showing videos of his paragliding adventures. The hotel is creaky and old but we liked it anyway. The village is pleasant and fun to walk through and less touristy than other nearby towns. Dinners at the pension and pizza at the hostel were delicious--great local places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fitzpat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay. The balcony rooms are fantastic, ask for room 7 or 8, which are the top rooms with balconies (under the word "HOTEL" in the photos). Who cares about the creaky floors or thin walls when you can wrap yourself in a wooly blanket and look at that VIEW? Tim is a gem. Walter a treat. Breakfast simple and good, and Tim is more than happy to entertain you with tips for your day or fascinating videos of his paragliding exploits. A five-minute cable car ride brings you to nearby Mürren if you want more variety than the 2 eateries in Gimmelwald.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are excellent, but any balcony room on the front side will give a jaw-dropping view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merritt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This place was recommended to us by the Rick Steves book. We were drawn to Uncle Rick's description of the hotel...described as bare-bones and wholly authentic. We wanted a rustic stay while in Switzerland, so this description matched what we wanted. When we arrived in Gimmelwald, we found that the Mittaghorn was exactly as described.

Hotel Mittaghorn is simply an old building with rooms and beds. There's only shared bathrooms, and there's a few rooms that have private showers, but for the most part, there's only a community shower (coin-operated, 1 franc for five minutes, but francs are complimentary!). The floors are creaky and the walls are paper-thin. Don't come here expecting five-star accommodations...this is where you come to make a life-long memory and a great story to tell people.

Our room had twin beds with pillows and a duvet. Then there was a sink, and that was all. All of this was moot, since the balcony on the room offered incredible views of the surrounding mountains. As I opened the doors to let the cool mountain air in, I noticed that everything in this place is authentic...all the way down to the led glass windows and iron window latches. It is truly a step back in time.

A very simple breakfast of bread, jam, and decent coffee is provided. There used to be a restaurant and bar here, but the owner and operator of the joint is too old to serve any more, so now the bar sits dormant, a frozen image of the past, where I bet some very good times were had.
Tim, who assists Walter in running the place, is incredibly helpful. You can tell him what you want to do and your time table, and he’ll make a custom plan for you that day…all based around the weather. It’s like having your own Gimmelwald tour planner, conveniently located in your hotel. You can tell Tim is passionate about the area…we told him what all we wanted to do and he suggested a short hike up into the mountains that was so much fun…and gorgeous. Even when a quick thunderstorm came over the mountains and drenched us, it was still completely worth it. Tim’s help really made our stay even that much more memorable.
Staying at Mittaghorn set the mood for what turned out to be an epic weekend getaway in Switzerland. Walter and Tim are genuine people who only add to the time we spent in Gimmelwald and the surrounding area. We hiked, ate, and drank all over the Swiss alps and loved every second of it, with our return back to Mittagshorn for a slumber to recharge the batteries being a rustic cap on the day. I fully intend to return to Gimmelwald and Mittagshorn…hopefully when they get some snow.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.7 km away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
284 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
14.6 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mittaghorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mittaghorn

Address: Wylern, Gimmelwald 3826, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimmelwald
Price Range: €37 - €56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing