We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
76
22
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
22
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rick steves the cool mountain air swiss alps cow bells glass windows comfortable beds bread stayed two nights pension gimmelwald tim valley hiking hike shower cows switzerland accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I love this place. Been to Gimmelwald before but never stayed overnight. We were the only ones in the hotel, and it snowed all night. What a great creaky old piece of Gimmelwald history. Walter is fantastic, and ready to help where he can. Breakfast was modest, but the view out the windows made me forget I was even eating. Beds were soft and we curled up in our mountain nest for a great night. Never tried the showers which are 1 CHF per 5 minutes, and the heaters are on timers. Still warm and cozy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saskboler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husband and I loved our visit to Gimmelwald. We had a comfortable stay at hotel Mittaghorn. The floors are creaky and any movement will create a sound. You also have to pay for hot water. Both things just added to the charm of staying in this hotel. We loved the view from our balcony. Tim was also very helpful in helping us plan our daily activities. We also stayed for two dinner, which was worth the price.

Here's our review of hotel Mittaghorn and what we did during our stay there.
http://married2travel.com/4152/hotel-mittaghorn-review/

http://married2travel.com/2500/hiking-to-sprutz-switzerland/
http://married2travel.com/2485/hiking-from-gimmelwald-to-chilchbalm-switzerland/
http://married2travel.com/2399/hiking-around-gimmelwald-switzerland-to-stechelberg/
http://married2travel.com/2387/if-heaven-isnt-what-its-cracked-up-to-be-send-me-back-to-gimmelwald/

Room Tip: Take the paved road if you have suitcases
  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scarlet6682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The good stuff : Hotel Mittaghorn has fabulous views and great hosts who try to meet your needs.

The not so good stuff : if you are not used to staying in houses made of wood, you will the creaky noises quite disturbing. The hotel is a 10-15 mins uphill walk from the cable station which can be difficult if you are carrying heavy luggage. The breakfast is very limited. Also, you pay for taking a bath.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We loved staying at Walter's Hotel Mittaghorn! Walter is a wonderful character and Tim is one of the friendliest hosts I've ever run across. The hotel is very old and rustic, floors and doors creak, lots of wood paneling, you pay a Franc for 5 minutes of hot water in the shower across the hall. We found it fun and part of a unique experience. The breakfast is hearty and for a reasonable extra charge we enjoyed the evening meals, especially the vegetable soup! The dinning room is simple and homey and we always had delightful conversations with other guests. Tim has a vast store of photos and videos he's made from being in the area for so many years. In the morning or evening he'll show you various things to do. The views are AMAZING! The town of Gimmelwald is very small and simple. We loved that. One can eat at two other locations in town or take the cable car up to Murren where it's more touristy. Lots of beautiful hiking in the area too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priscilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at Hotel Mittaghorn for 2 nights in May. It was unbelievable. If you want a truly unique experience and want to really see the Alps, stay here. If you want nightlife, lots of ammenities, you won't find it here. But you will find unimaginable scenery, great service, and a truly great hidden gem of a place. It's like staying at a cabin as each person/group has their own bedroom in the upstairs of this house. We chose not to eat dinner with the owner and other guests (a small fee), but it made for a nice homey touch. Our room was spacious and had an out-of-this-world view of hte Alps out our window. There was a long balcony on the end of the hallway for all guests, but we never saw anyone else out there (except for the goats in the yard). The walls are thin (it's a house!) so you do hear others, but we were ok with it. You also have to pay a small fee for hot water (kinda neat to enter your coin, rush in the shower, and hurry to get done before it goes cold!).
The next town up is Murren, which was basically shut down when we went. The owner was able to look on the internet/satellite system one morning to let us know if it was good weather at the VERY top of the Alps - the Schilthorn - and it was so definitely make this trip by several cable cars up there. You get the world's best views, and you can eat the 10,000 feet breakast which is GOOD! All-u-can-eat buffet style with yummy Swiss foods (and stuff Americans are used to) plus a glass of champagne. I think it was around $25-$30 per person, but we didn't think this was bad considering the view and compared to other European cities we had been in.
Atop of the Schilthorn, we were basically one of only about 3-4 different parties at this time of day and month (we went early morning - 8amish). We basically felt like we had the fresh snow and the Alps to ourselves!
Hotel Mittaghorn was a GREAT value and a good place ot lay our heads after full days of hiking and exploring this BEAUTIFUL and almost unreal place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank z311rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews