We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
75
22
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
22
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick stevesthe cool mountain airswiss alpscow bellsglass windowscomfortable bedsbreadstayed two nightspension gimmelwaldtimvalleyhikinghikeshowercowsswitzerlandaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The good stuff : Hotel Mittaghorn has fabulous views and great hosts who try to meet your needs.

The not so good stuff : if you are not used to staying in houses made of wood, you will the creaky noises quite disturbing. The hotel is a 10-15 mins uphill walk from the cable station which can be difficult if you are carrying heavy luggage. The breakfast is very limited. Also, you pay for taking a bath.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We loved staying at Walter's Hotel Mittaghorn! Walter is a wonderful character and Tim is one of the friendliest hosts I've ever run across. The hotel is very old and rustic, floors and doors creak, lots of wood paneling, you pay a Franc for 5 minutes of hot water in the shower across the hall. We found it fun and part of a unique experience. The breakfast is hearty and for a reasonable extra charge we enjoyed the evening meals, especially the vegetable soup! The dinning room is simple and homey and we always had delightful conversations with other guests. Tim has a vast store of photos and videos he's made from being in the area for so many years. In the morning or evening he'll show you various things to do. The views are AMAZING! The town of Gimmelwald is very small and simple. We loved that. One can eat at two other locations in town or take the cable car up to Murren where it's more touristy. Lots of beautiful hiking in the area too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priscilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at Hotel Mittaghorn for 2 nights in May. It was unbelievable. If you want a truly unique experience and want to really see the Alps, stay here. If you want nightlife, lots of ammenities, you won't find it here. But you will find unimaginable scenery, great service, and a truly great hidden gem of a place. It's like staying at a cabin as each person/group has their own bedroom in the upstairs of this house. We chose not to eat dinner with the owner and other guests (a small fee), but it made for a nice homey touch. Our room was spacious and had an out-of-this-world view of hte Alps out our window. There was a long balcony on the end of the hallway for all guests, but we never saw anyone else out there (except for the goats in the yard). The walls are thin (it's a house!) so you do hear others, but we were ok with it. You also have to pay a small fee for hot water (kinda neat to enter your coin, rush in the shower, and hurry to get done before it goes cold!).
The next town up is Murren, which was basically shut down when we went. The owner was able to look on the internet/satellite system one morning to let us know if it was good weather at the VERY top of the Alps - the Schilthorn - and it was so definitely make this trip by several cable cars up there. You get the world's best views, and you can eat the 10,000 feet breakast which is GOOD! All-u-can-eat buffet style with yummy Swiss foods (and stuff Americans are used to) plus a glass of champagne. I think it was around $25-$30 per person, but we didn't think this was bad considering the view and compared to other European cities we had been in.
Atop of the Schilthorn, we were basically one of only about 3-4 different parties at this time of day and month (we went early morning - 8amish). We basically felt like we had the fresh snow and the Alps to ourselves!
Hotel Mittaghorn was a GREAT value and a good place ot lay our heads after full days of hiking and exploring this BEAUTIFUL and almost unreal place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank z311rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My husband and I followed Rick Steve's advice and planned our trip to Switzerland around Hotel Mittaghorn. We werent expecting luxury accomodations, and if you are, dont come here. It will ruin its humble atmosphere. The rooms are basic as can be, the shower primitive, and the floors creak at all hours. But when you open your window and see your view, even if its cloudy, you know the journey was worth it. I will never forget the people here or the land or the feeling that I got. We plan to go back soon, very soon. Thank you to Hotel Mittaghorn. [-]

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelIsRequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

A cozy little hotel in the tiny mtn farming village of Gimmelwald. Staff (Tim and Walter) are friendly and very helpful. Tim gave us some good tips/ideas for hikes.

Dining out is very expensive in Switzerland and the satisfying and healthy set-meal provided at the hotel is comparatively an excellent deal. We loved the group-dining experience with Tim and the other guests - sharing stories and pictures and wine. The view from the rooms is absolutely stunning and there is so much to see and do in the area (for those who don't mind breaking a sweat!).

Note: If you are "high-maintenance" OR if you are a couch-potato, both you and Gimmelwald will probably be happier if you don't visit. Walter's is a clean and warm hotel but it is a bit rough around the edges - it is 1 franc for 5 minutes of hot water for the shower; the stairs are creaky and the walls between the rooms and halls are quite thin (I slept very well with my earplugs, though!). Just have reasonable expectations and you'll be fine. Also, they get a lot of "no shows" so they are very serious when they ask to you reconfirm the day before!

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HomebaseYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews