We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Byram
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Visited the hotel on 10/8/16. First off they charged an extra $20 for a door on the bathroom. The room smelled of pine sol and seemed to have a musty odor. The bathroom was ok except for the stained bathtub. The hotel only provides a limited number of towels 2 bath towels,foot towels and hand towels. It appears that the hotel does it's own laundry as the towels smelled stale like they had been laundered with inexpensive laundry detergent. The chair in the room was stained and was in obvious need of replacement/removal from the room. The A/C if it can be referred as such never got cold and was turned to its' lowest setting. It cycled every couple of minutes. The Fan blew the majority of the night making my sleep non existent. The horrible yellow walls are another story entirely. Lastly the Manager called my room 45 minutes before checkout and asked if we would be staying another night. Luckily we did not pay for a second night. There is also no late check outs unless you're a platinum or diamond member !! I will never stay at a Comfort Inn property again. Thank you Comfort Inn for my Horrible stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay Away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGopal, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

TGopal, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Byram, responded to this review

Dear Tee J,

Thank you for taking time to provide TripAdvisor and our property feedback regarding your stay with us.

Our team is very apologetic that your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations. We would like to address your concerns to ensure that we take every step necessary to resolve any issues and show what our steps are to be the best property/team we can:

- Stained bathtubs: All guest's bathtubs are cleaned daily with safe but effective chemicals to ensure cleanliness and appearance are the best they can be.

- Laundry - It is standard for many, if not all, hotels to sanitize, wash, and clean linen onsite. We have 2 commercial washers and 2 commercial dryers. In addition, we only use detergent from approved vendors (Eco-Lab) that ensures fresh linens as well as fresh smelling linens.

- Number of towels: A standard room with 1 King Bed always has 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash cloths, and 1 bath towel. If any of our guests require additional towels, we are more than happy to provide them. Please reference our Front Desk Agents and we will assist you.

- Chair: We ensure all of our furniture is routinely sanitized and cleaned. Unfortunately, sometimes fabric furniture can develop small stains from spills, etc. We complete our due diligence in ensuring these items are clean and usable.

- A/C: Our units are also routinely checked and maintained. However, with hot temperatures, AC units can sometimes take time to cool. We have forwarded this to our maintenance department to ensure your specific room is addressed immediately.

- Wall Color: We apologize that the wall colors were not to your liking. We teamed with interior designers during the property construction to provide aesthetically pleasing rooms. We have received numerous compliments regarding the décor and scheme.

- Courtesy Call: It is standard for our property to call no earlier than 15 minutes prior to check-out to asks guests if he/she will be staying another night with us. This is done as a courtesy for the guest so the guest does not have to come to the front office (unless a different payment form is required) as well as to ensure the room will be available for the 2nd night.

- Late Check out: We offer late checkouts based on availability. It is true that Choice Privileges members (any member) has priority for late check out, but is also based on availability.

Once again, we sincerely apologize that we were not able to satisfy your lodging needs and truly hope that you give Choice Hotels another chance.


Sincerely,

Tak Gopal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We have had occasion to stay here three times in the last several months. The staff is friendly and the place is clean and comfortable but there is a very obvious odor that has become worse. It smells like mold and anyone with an allergy to mold should steer clear of this place. Everything looks clean so I wonder if the smell is coming from under the carpet or in the AC. The smell is the only thing wrong at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 39,148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGopal, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear 39148,

Thank you for taking time to provide our property feedback regarding your stay. Secondly, our team appreciates that you have been a returning patron in the past few months.

We would like to apologize for the smell that you experienced as this is not typical of our property. We ensure our carpet is steam cleaned on a quarterly/annual cycle to ensure cleanliness and health. Our housekeeping and maintenance team will take your feedback and ensure we attempt to resolve any concerns.

We hope that you consider staying with us again so our team can prove our excellent service and property.

Sincerely,

Tak Gopal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

The location was great. The service was great. At check in Justin was friendly, professional and nice. At check out the gentleman was friendly as well. The hotel very was clean. The breakfast was hot. We had a big group and the breakfast never ran out. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGopal, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear MrsTHamilton,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback for our team and property! Our team is glad your group was able to enjoy a great stay with us; your positive comments fuel our team to continuously perform to provide a "clean quiet and pleasant stay". We hope to host you and your group again soon!

Sincerely,

Tak Gopal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The wife and I had a very nice four day stay at the Byram Comfort Inn and Suites, while visiting family and friends. The staff ... some were good and helpful, and some not so much. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and we looked forward to returning to our room every evening -- it was home away from home. The complimentary breakfast was very good -- lots of choices. Easy access to Interstate 55; however, that is a double-edged sword ... (My only negative.) riff-raff find the easy access appealing as well. There were some car breakins while we we there; thankfully, our rental car was not burglarized. I would recommend more, better lit parking spaces.

Room Tip: Park your car in a well-lit space, and leave NOTHING in view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGopal, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Edward B.,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback with TripAdvisor! Our team is glad you enjoyed your stay and considered our property home away from home!

We do believe the one break-in that occurred was a complete isolated incident as this was the first ever in the property's existence. Thank you for providing this feedback to our team as we will continue to improve any areas of safety concerns as we have in the past.

Thank you again for providing feedback; we truly are glad you enjoyed your stay and looked forward to coming to your room every evening! We hope to host you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tak Gopal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Our room was quite comfortable and quiet although near the elevator (few guests). But the staff wasn't very helpful, and we had trouble understanding their mumbles. Also, our Maps app led astray looking for a restaurant--there's actually a Mexican one nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGopal, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Lad S.,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us! Our team appreciates your positive comments regarding our rooms and the comfortable atmosphere. However, we do apologize that our team did not exceed your expectations regarding customer service. If possible, please call us at 601-983-2990 to provide me with more specifics so we can ensure we address these concerns to ensure your next visit as well as others' exceeds expectations!

Sincerely,

Tak Gopal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byram hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byram
0.7 km away
WoodSpring Suites Jackson South
0.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-Byram/Jackson South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram

Address: 5760 I55 South NE Frontage Road, Byram, MS 39272 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Byram)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Byram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Byram
Price Range: €81 - €85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel in Byram, MS. With a prime location on the road to Jackson, we offer a comfortable stay at a great value. Our array of suites and rooms present you with many ways to relax. Take advantage of our packages for additional comforts. You will also get to enjoy many features that add to your relaxation. Wake up every morning with complimentary breakfast. Our Byram, MS hotel also has an exercise room, along with HBO and complimentary Wi-Fi for unwinding. However long you stay, Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram Jackson South will provide you with cozy accommodations, ample amenities, and Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Byram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing