We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
698
33
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
33
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mariposa room costa rica delicious breakfast rental car hosts airport gorge sjo
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Having a late flight into SJO and an early flight out, we decided to spend our first and last nights at Casa Bella Rita and it couldn’t have been more perfect. Alejandra and Javier were extremely accommodating in arranging for both a rental car (which went off without a hitch) and an early morning taxi to the airport. The views, spectacular as advertised, were a wonderful way to begin and end the trip, and our hosts made that transition all the easier.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaceandenthusiasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Casa Bella Rita sits in a quiet residential neighborhood on the edge of the Virilla River canyon, with an expansive, verdant view of farmland and distant mountains. My ground-floor room (Heliconia) is cool and airy, with both fan and air conditioner, as well as a mini-fridge. The casa has a front courtyard with garden and a covered patio. The spacious common room opens onto another covered patio, with pool and terrace beyond, all with the lovely canyon view. A gate in the far corner opens into an enclosed lawn with a covered deck, cooling breezes, and butterflies like many-colored confetti.

Alejandra and Javier are welcoming and gracious hosts. Their made-to-order breakfast includes super-fresh local fruits, yogurt, and a choice of French toast, pancakes, eggs (omelette, scrambled, etc), along with the usual coffee, juice, milk, toast etc.

Three restaurants are a three-minute walk away, including an Italian one recommended by Alejandra - who lived in Italy for 10 years. Twenty minutes away in a small plaza are Fresh Market (6am to 12m) and additional restaurants. The market offers prepared salads and sandwiches, fresh meats, fruits and vegetables, wines, groceries and so on.

I know I will return to the Casa Bella Rita whenever I visit Costa Rica in the future. Muchas gracias, Javier and Alejandra, for a lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Though we had a bumpy start with car rental and health problems Alejandra and Javier helped us out from the very first moment on. We couldn't think of a more friendly, heartful or welcoming place. The B&B is clean and cosy, beautifully situated in the outskirts of San José and a short 20 min ride from the airport. We received fast and super efficient support with trips and local guides. Bottom line: we felt like at home and can't wait to return one day. Big hugs from Chris & Jasmin

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

After 24 hours of travelling from Europe we finally arrived in San José at 7.30 P.M. We decided to spend our first night not far away from the airport but still lightely outside the city. That's why we booked at "Casa bella Rita", Santa Ana. A wonderfull B&B with lovely owners. The House is amazing, very clean and nicely decorated. You have a beautifull view from the patio. We chose a perfect place to start our trip trough Costa Rica.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank AlainJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was our second time staying the night at Casa Bella Rita after Alejandra and Javier bought the B&B from Rita and Steve and we were curious how they would grow into the job.
Even though getting through customs took longer then expected our ride to the B&B was there to greet us and place our bags in a comfortable air-conditioned van. We were welcomed to the B&B by Javier and Alejandra and their new little very friendly dog and show to the Mariposa room on the second floor of the main building. (We stayed in this room the last time we visited Costa Rica). The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, There is air conditioning if needed and the windows do open to catch the breeze.The shower is fun and funky with live plants getting showered along with the humans. There is a little mini bar with a very limited selection but we usually stop at the liquor store in the airport and bring our own drinks. On the first floor there's a lovey little terrace with comfortable seating and a little pool overlooking the valley.

Breakfast is made to order and although the options are limited the food is very fresh and well prepared.

Since we usually arrive after 3pm and have been up for many hours we have an early dinner at a good Italian restaurant within walking distance. The B&B is located in a residential area and without driving or taking a taxi to a restaurant, the options are limited. There is no formal concierge service there but both Alejandra and Javier will help you find a restaurant, order a taxi and do whatever they can to make your stay with them enjoyable.

This is probably not the best place for children or for people who have trouble with stairs.
However if you want a warm and welcoming Costa Rican experience, this place is ideal. We look forward to our next opportunity to spend the night at Casa Bella Rita!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloGal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews