We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
55
42
7
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
42
7
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tatami mats japanese style beds baths san dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We stayed at the Japanese & Western style combo room with 2 beds on tatami mats. The room looked modern (probably 5 yrs old?) and clean, and it was spacious for 2 people, especially around the bathroom & entrance area. The mattress was little hard for my liking, but I think firm mattress is standard at Japanese-owned hotels. Next time, I will probably get a less-expensive Japanese style room. Free wifi worked great in the room.

The staff was friendly and attentive. Valet parking was offered for free.

Onsen (hot spring) was OK. The spa facilities (there were 2, one on basement level and another on 1st floor) were with several types of hot baths, clean change room, lockers, towels, amenities such as shampoo, body soap, hair dryers, face lotion, but the hot sprint water wasn't particularly special comparing to other Onsen towns I've been to before (such as Ureshino).

The best part of staying at this hotel was the restaurant on 1st Floor. The dinner included in the package was delicious! I recommend everyone to buy a package with dinner at the 1st Floor restaurant and not the ones with in-room dinner service.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank spitz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 営業ディレクター at Kobaitei, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for your comment. We hope we could give you our best service next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We had chance to visit and we love the place very much. There are 2 Hot spring and one of it was very Japanese style and nice hot spring there. During the lunch time, they serve the buffet which 50 items that offer. we had enjoy it and it was super tasty! all of staff are smiling all the way. Highly recommend.

Room tip: There are many choice
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheng152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 営業ディレクター at Kobaitei, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for your comment. We hope we could give you our best service again next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kobaitei Grand Hotel on 20 and 21 November 2013 while touring northern Shikoku.

We had a room on the 8th floor with private rotenboro on the balcony, the room was very large and can accomodate up to 5 guests if futons are added. The rotenboro is quite nice my wife used it twice in the mornings. We used the basement level ofuro for bathing in the evening.

I was a little disappointed with our dinner the first night, nothing wrong but not as special as I would expect for a hotel where we paid $300 a night for two. However, the dinner meal was quite good with interesting dishes on the 2nd night.

My impression is that little English is spoken so be advised, however I suspect most areas like the front desk can "make do".

BEWARE, the Japanese style breakfast is huge, buffet style with an automatic side order of the local udon specialty. Do not plan to eat again until dinner in the evening if you finish the breakfast meal. The second day we ate breakfast in a smaller 1st floor resturant, portions on the Japanese breakfast were more reasonable and my western style breakfast was quite good.

Very nice ofuro in the basement and an outside onsen on the 1st floor but it was too cold and windy the days we were there for me to want to try it. The downstairs bath does have a sheltered rotonboro so you can take the waters outside if you want without wind chill being a factor.

Kotohira is small so you can walk to Konpira San Shrine from the hotel, however if you also plan to visit the Kabuki Theater, old (1835) and are a bit older like me I would suggest taking a taxi which goes 1/2 way up to the shrine and walking down. The hotel provides pick up and drop off service to the train station although it is in walking distance for the ambitious.

On the whole a most satisfactory if somewhat expensive stay.

Room tip: A room with a rotenboro is a little pricey, but may as well spend it now as you can not take it with you. These rooms are located on the side of the hotel facing the mountain which is a nice view. Ask for a room with or without bath on the mountain side.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 営業ディレクター at Kobaitei, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for your comment. We will review our dinner menu again and discuss with our chef ASAP. We hope we could give you our best service again next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 広報担当マネージャー at Kobaitei, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room tip: 今は、ほとんどの方がスマホを持っているのでベットの頭付近には個々にコンセントがあれば満点でした。
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 広報担当マネージャー at Kobaitei, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews