We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
477
165
52
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
165
52
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant tadao ando terrace restaurant one night inland sea shuttle bus modern art lee ufan two nights naoshima island unique experience in advance hotel guests oval room museum hotel art house once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We stayed here for one night on a recent visit to Naoshima. I really enjoyed my stay - which was at the Park section of the hotel. The room was very nice and really spacious by Japanese standards. The balcony overlooked the ocean and several of the art installations and we enjoyed relaxing there. The area around the hotel offers opportunities to walk around the property and the shuttle to various museums is wonderful. Everything is well-organized with pick-ups coordinated with ferry arrival and departure. I would really recommend staying at this hotel if you visit Naoshima. We also enjoyed the buffet breakfast that can be selected when you choose options at the time of reservation. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betteskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night in this museum/hotel in a room with a wonderful view over the bay. Great facilities including a balcony which was lovely. Welcome drink in the museum shop before Japanese dinner in the restaurant. The wonderful thing is that by the time you have dinner- you must pre book, you can see the paintings and sculptures almost alone in many cases. Everything beautifully displayed. The Japanese meal was poor for the price with very tasteless fish in particular and the Café style restaurant despite the Hockneys just wasn’t good enough. Breakfast the next day was better

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ros m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Designed by Tadao Ando on a grand scale and located on a beautiful site this thoroughly modern hotel is part of the Benesse Museum.
The Beach House room we had was very large with a splendid view of the sea.
Pleasant staff all around.
The problem lies in the Museum itself which has very little art on display and with a dysfunctional shuttle bus system that forces you to adjust your schedule to theirs.
Paradoxically there is a fair amount of art on display in the hotel and the guest rooms.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I stayed at the benesse House for three nights as part of a trip to Japan.
The hotel is superb in terms of location and architecture, with a clever and stylish use of wood, glass and concrete. Art pieces are present throughout the hotel. The hotel is nearly on the sea, with a beautiflu descending lawn between the building and the water.
Rooms are spacious and with all amenities. They are very clean and bright. They have a nice terrace and, in my case, it was facing the sea.
The restaurant is very good - both in terms of quality of dishes and availability of choices for breakfast. A drawback is the fact that one has to walk outside in a couple of moments to reach the restaurant.
The only problem of the hotel is the staff, who is not very nice or friendly. They have a rather arrogant and unpatient approach, which is unpleasant.

Room Tip: chose a room facing the sea
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We stayed in the lower end accommodation option - the Park - which was tasteful, comfortable with superb views of the waterfront and outdoor art exhibits. We didn't really spend much time in the room as there is so much to see and do on this island. From a sightseeing/cultural perspective, it is the best experience I have had in Japan. Everyone should put Naoshima to the top of their list! We opted for the Japanese restaurant for our evening meal. The food was fine - perfectly nice, but definitely nothing special. The real advantage of doing this is the opportunity to wander around the museum outside official opening hours. It's just magical. The breakfast buffet was pretty good in terms of selection and quality. The major disappointment for the hotel was our interaction with the hotel staff, in particular a front of desk gentleman called [--] san. We had hired electric bikes and for obvious reasons anticpated great difficulty getting our bags on the bikes to the ferry port for our return journey. We asked [--] san if he could arrange for our bags to be brought on the shuttle bus to meet us at the ferry. We were met with a firm "No - we cannot." We asked for an explanation and were repeatedly given the same response "No. We cannot." In the end we were so exasperated with [--] san's total inability to think outside the box and help us find a solution we left and some how (with great difficulty, a lot of time and frustration on a hot day) made our way with bikes and bags to put them in lockers at the port for the day. I would expect that at the prices charged by Benesse House and a hotel of its alleged calibre we would receive much better assistance. Such a disappointment. If this was the reaction for something relatively minor, imagine how [--] san would deal with something more complex and serious? On that basis I will not reccommend this hotel. There is nothing worse than poor service.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank faithyg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews